Skip to content
Notice is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), and does not assemble or evaluate information for the purpose of supplying consumer reports.

You understand that by clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy and agree not to use information provided by for any purpose under the FCRA, including to make determinations regarding an individual's eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or for tenant screening.

You understand that license plate and VIN searches are only available for a purpose authorized by the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA). The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes.

This website contains information collected from public and private resources. cannot confirm that information provided below is accurate or complete. Please use information provided by responsibly.

You understand that by clicking "I Agree," will conduct only a preliminary people search of the information you provide and that a search of any records will only be conducted and made available after you register for an account or purchase a report.

Wyoming Vital Records

Start Your Free Search
The following is for informational purposes only

What are Wyoming Vital Records?

The Wyoming Department of Health states that a vital record includes certified copies of birth records, death records, stillbirths, marriage records, and divorce records. Records kept with the county's registrar where the event happened are filed in the Wyoming state archives.


How Can I Get a Copy of a Wyoming Birth Certificate?

Wyoming birth records are not public records in Wyoming. Only restricted persons may apply for a copy of a birth certificate: either if you want one for yourself or if you're the parent, legal guardian, legal representative, or you have a court order.

Birth certificates may be obtained by:

  • Registrants over the age of 18.
  • Either parent if named on the birth certificate.
  • A lawyer representing the registrant or their parent.
  • A legal guardian with court-ordered guardianship papers.

To get a copy of a birth certificate, you must fill out the application and send it by mail to your birth state's vital records office. You will also need to provide proof of identity.

All those born in Wyoming that need to request a certified copy of a birth certificate will need to include a completed application form along with a clear photocopy of one of the forms of photo ID listed below:

  • State of Wyoming Driver's License.
  • State of Wyoming ID.
  • Driver's license from another U.S. state.
  • U.S. passport.

Once you have completed your application documents, you will need to mail them to:

Vital Statistics Services
2300 Capitol Avenue,
Hathaway Building
Cheyenne, WY 82002

Processing a certified copy of a birth certificate in Wyoming is $25. Additional copies will cost $20.


How Can I Obtain a Copy of a Death Certificate in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, certified death records are only available to the deceased person's immediate family members according to their family tree and other authorized legal representatives. However, after 50 years, the record becomes public information, and interested parties may obtain the document without any constraints.

How Do I Obtain Death Records in Wyoming?

You can initiate a death record search using a person's full name in Wyoming by contacting the state's vital records office. You can download the death records request form to search for a death certificate. The application must be completed and enclosed with a copy of a government-issued certified ID document and a check or money order of $20. Requests are made to:

Vital Statistics Services
2300 Capitol Avenue
Hathaway Building
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7591

Death certificates may be obtained by:

  • Next of kin, including a spouse, child, or parent.
  • Lawyers representing any immediate family member.
  • With correct documentation, banks, executors of estates, insurance companies, or anyone requiring a certificate to pay the decedent's policy or death benefit.
  • Applicants need to submit proof of the matter and relation along with the application.

Required information:

  • Full name on the death record.
  • Date of the death.
  • City or county where the passing happened.
  • Relationship to the deceased person.
  • The purpose for which a copy is needed.
  • Signature of the person making the request.
  • Mailing address where the death record should be sent.
  • Identification: requests must include a certified photocopy of the driver's license, state ID card, or passport of the individual requesting the certificate.

Important Notes:

  • The fee for copies of death certificates is $25 for the first copy and $20 each for additional copies.
  • If the death date is unknown, there is a search fee of $35 for every five years searched, which includes either a certified copy or verification of the record. If a death record is not found, they will return the fee.
  • Death records have been filed since July 1909. Death records that date more than 50 years should be obtained from Wyoming State Archives.

How Can I Get a Copy of a Wyoming Marriage Certificate?

Wyoming marriage records are official documents that establish the legal standings of marital unions contracted in the state of Wyoming. The state issues marriage licenses and marriage certificates. The Wyoming Department of Health government agency has maintained marriage records since May 1941. Certain marriage records are also available from the office of the Wyoming county clerks.

Applicants can request copies of their marriage certificates by calling or sending a mail-in appeal to any of the following offices:

  • Vital Statistics Division of the Wyoming Department of Health.
  • County Clerk office in which the marriage license was issued.

To submit a Wyoming marriage certificate request in person, you can visit the state office with the full names and surnames of both spouses, the date the marriage took place, and the city or county of the wedding.

You will also need an enlarged photocopy of a government-issued photo ID for identification. To speed up processing, provide this information by completing the certified copy of the Wyoming vital record application. Present the form along with appropriate documents and fees to the office located at:

Wyoming Department of Health
Vital Statistics Services
2301 central Ave
Hathaway, Building
Cheyenne, WY82002

The Wyoming Vital Statistics Office charges $20 for each copy of the marriage certificate. You can settle this fee using a check or money order made payable to "Vital Records Services."

Applicants can also submit a marriage certificate application by mail. You can start by downloading and printing an Application for a Certified Copy of Wyoming Vital Record. Then complete the yellow-marked sections of this form and then send it along with correct fees, documents, and a self-addressed prepaid envelope to:

Vital Statistics Services
2300 Capitol Ave, WYO
Hathaway Building
Cheyenne, WY 82002

The same fee applies to both in-person and mail-in request options. Fees are payable by check or money order when submitting mail requests.

Requesting marriage certificates via Wyoming county clerks' offices are similar to that of the state office. However, all county clerks in the state charge $5 for each certified copy of marriage certificates and $1 for an uncertified/plain copy. Visit or mail the county clerk's office where the marriage license was issued to submit a request. Make sure to provide the appropriate documents and charges.

Most clerks do provide marriage certificate application forms on their websites. You can find the appropriate website and navigate to the marriage license and certificate page to download the documents. Print and fill out the form and submit it in person or mail it to the particular clerk's office.


How Can I Get a Copy of a Divorce Certificate in Wyoming?

Divorce records since May 1941 are on file with the Vital Statistics Services at the Wyoming Department of Health. Vital Statistics Services issues certified copies of divorce records to families only.

Requests for certified copies of divorce records must be made by mail only. No recommendations are handled by phone, email, in person, or online. After 50 years, Wyoming divorce records enter the public domain and can be obtained from the Wyoming State Archives.

Wyoming divorce records are also available from the county clerk's office or the District Court, where the divorce was granted.

You can fax the Vital Records Office at (307) 777-2483, or you can call them and place an order for a certified copy of the divorce records at (307) 777-7591. You can also visit the offices and put in a request at Wyoming Vital Statistics Services

Divorce records may be obtained by:

  • Either of the parties
  • Lawyers acting on behalf of either party

Helpful State Resources