Skip to content

South Dakota Vital Records

FREE SEARCH
The following is for informational purposes only

What are South Dakota Vital Records?

Vital records in South Dakota are the official records that document an important event in a person's life. These events include births, deaths, marriage, and divorces. South Dakota began recording vital records in 1905.

The office within the Division of Administration maintains birth, death, marriage, and divorce records for the state of South Dakota.

Note: The Vital Records office will not be open for walk-in customers until further notice.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Birth Certificate in South Dakota?

South Dakota birth records

The South Dakota Department of Health issues standard certified copies of birth certificates for events in South Dakota from 1905 to the present. For births older than 100 years, you can visit South Dakota's searchable database.

As stated by law, birth records in South Dakota are not open for public inspection. Only the following individuals are allowed to receive certified copies of birth certificates in South Dakota:

  • The person named on the certificate.
  • Their parents.
  • Their spouse.
  • Their children.
  • Their legal guardians.
  • The authorized agent of the registrant.

To request online, you can go to VitalChek. They charge $21.00 for each standard copy of a birth certificate. An additional $5 for expedited service and $17.50 for UPS next-day delivery fee will be charged.

VitalChek accepts all major credit cards and debit cards, including American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa.

If you don't have access to a computer, you can also request a copy by phone. You can contact VitalChek at 1-605-773-4961.

To request by mail, you should complete an application form for a copy of a birth certificate and send it to:

South Dakota Department of Health
207 E. Missouri Suite 1-A
Pierre, SD 57501

You should submit a complete application form signed in front of a notary. Or you can include a copy of your photo ID and the fee ($15). All checks and money orders should be payable to the SD Department of Health.

You can also order a certified copy of a birth certificate from the county register of deeds office where the birth took place.

To order in person at the state office or any register of deeds office, you will be asked for a complete and signed application form as well as provide the appropriate fee and the required proof of identity.

Payments such as cash, check, money order, and debit or credit cards are all accepted. A $2.50 surcharge will be charged for all credit and debit card payments.

The accepted forms of identification for all transactions are:

  • A photocopy of driver's license.
  • A photocopy of a state ID card.
  • A photocopy of tribal ID.
  • A photocopy of passport or Visa.
  • A photocopy of military ID.

If you do not have any of the above forms of identification, you will need to provide two documents with your name and date of birth. These documents include:

  • Social security card.
  • Utility bill with your current address.
  • Bank statement with your current address.
  • Car registration or title with your current address.
 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Death Certificate in South Dakota?

South Dakota death records

The South Dakota Department of Health issues standard certified copies of death certificates for events in South Dakota from 1905 to the present.

A same-day issuance is available for all death records before 1960 at the county where the event occurred.

As stated by the law, death records in South Dakota are not open for public inspection. The following individuals are allowed to receive certified copies of death certificates in South Dakota:

  • The parents of the decedent.
  • The spouse of the decedent.
  • The legal guardians of the decedent.
  • The executor of the estate.
  • An agent appointed by the court.
  • The authorized agent of the deceased.

To request online, you can go to VitalChek. They charge $21.00 for each standard copy of a death certificate. An additional $5 for expedited service and $17.50 for UPS next-day delivery fee will be charged.

VitalChek accepts all major credit cards and debit cards, including American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa.

If you don't have access to a computer, you can also request a copy by phone. You can contact VitalChek at 1-605-773-4961.

To request by mail, you should complete an application form for a copy of a death certificate and send it to:

South Dakota Department of Health
207 E. Missouri Suite 1-A
Pierre, SD 57501

A complete application, signed in front of a notary or together with a clear copy of a photo ID included. The fee of $15.00 should be sent with your request. All checks and money orders should be payable to the SD Department of Health.

You can also order a certified copy of a death certificate from the county register of deeds office where the death took place.

To order in person at the state office or any register of deeds office, you will be asked for a complete and signed application form together with the appropriate fee and the required proof of identity.

Payments such as cash, check, money order, and debit or credit cards are all accepted. A $2.50 surcharge will be charged for all credit and debit card payments.

The accepted forms of identification for all transactions are:

  • A photocopy of driver's license.
  • A photocopy of a state ID card.
  • A photocopy of tribal ID.
  • A photocopy of passport or Visa.
  • A photocopy of military ID.

If you do not have any of the above forms of identification, you will need to provide two documents that have your name and date of birth. These documents include:

  • Social security card.
  • Utility bill with your current address.
  • Bank statement with your current address.
  • Car registration or title with your current address.

For any questions or concerns, you can contact the South Dakota Department of Health at 1-605-773-4961.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Marriage Certificate in South Dakota?

South Dakota marriage records

The South Dakota Department of Health issues standard certified copies of marriage certificates for events that occurred in South Dakota from 1905 to the present.

A same-day issuance is available for all marriage records before 1950 at the county where the event occurred.

As stated by the law, marriage records in South Dakota are not open for public inspection. The following individuals are allowed to receive certified copies of marriage certificates in South Dakota:

  • The bride or groom.
  • The parents of the bride or groom.
  • The legal guardians of the bride or groom.
  • An agent appointed by the court.
  • A legal representative of the bride or groom.

To request online, you can go to VitalChek. They charge $21.00 for each standard copy of a marriage certificate. An additional $5 for expedited service and $17.50 for UPS next-day delivery fee will be charged.

VitalChek accepts all major credit cards and debit cards, including American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa.

If you don't have access to a computer, you can also request a copy by phone. You can contact VitalChek at 1-605-773-4961.

To request by mail, you should complete an application for certified copies of South Dakota marriage certificates and send it to:

South Dakota Department of Health
207 E. Missouri Suite 1-A
Pierre, SD 57501

You should submit a complete application form signed in front of a notary. Or you can include a copy of your photo ID and appropriate fee ($15). All checks and money orders should be payable to the SD Department of Health.

You can also order a certified copy of a marriage certificate from the county register of deeds office where the marriage took place.

To order in person at the state office or any register of deeds office, you will be asked for a complete and signed application form together with the appropriate fee and the required proof of identity.

Payments such as cash, check, money order, and debit or credit cards are all accepted. A $2.50 surcharge will be charged for all credit and debit card payments.

The accepted forms of identification for all transactions are:

  • A photocopy of driver's license.
  • A photocopy of a state ID card.
  • A photocopy of tribal ID.
  • A photocopy of passport or Visa.
  • A photocopy of military ID.

If you do not have any of the above forms of identification, you will need to provide two documents with your name and date of birth. These documents include:

  • Social security card.
  • Utility bill with your current address.
  • Bank statement with your current address.
  • Car registration or title with your current address.

For any questions or concerns, you can contact the South Dakota Department of Health at 1-605-773-4961.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Divorce Record in South Dakota?

South Dakota divorce records

The South Dakota Department of Health issues standard certified copies of divorce records for events that occurred in South Dakota from 1905 to the present.

Divorce records in South Dakota are not available for public view. Only the following individuals are allowed to receive copies of divorce records in South Dakota:

  • The bride or groom.
  • The parents of the bride or groom.
  • The guardian of the bride or groom.
  • An agent appointed by the court.
  • A legal representative of the bride or groom.

To request online, you can go to VitalChek. They charge $21.00 for each standard copy of divorce records plus an additional $5 for expedited service and $17.50 for UPS next-day delivery fee.

VitalChek accepts all major credit cards and debit cards, including American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa.

If you don't have access to a computer, you can also request a copy by phone. You can contact VitalChek at 1-605-773-4961.

To request by mail, you should complete an application form for copies of South Dakota divorce records and send it to:

South Dakota Department of Health
207 E. Missouri Suite 1-A
Pierre, SD 57501

You should submit a completed application form signed in front of a notary. You can also include a copy of your photo ID and the fee ($15). All checks and money orders should be payable to the SD Department of Health.

If you would like to order a copy of divorce records in person at the state office, you will be asked for a complete and signed application form together with the appropriate fee and the required proof of identity.

Payments such as cash, check, money order, and debit or credit cards are all accepted. A $2.50 surcharge will be charged for all credit and debit card payments.

The accepted forms of identification for all transactions are:

  • A photocopy of driver's license.
  • A photocopy of a state ID card.
  • A photocopy of tribal ID.
  • A photocopy of passport or Visa.
  • A photocopy of military ID.

If you do not have any of the above forms of identification, you will need to provide two documents with your name and date of birth. These documents include:

  • Social security card.
  • Utility bill with your current address.
  • Bank statement with your current address.
  • Car registration or title with your current address.

For any questions or concerns, you can contact the South Dakota Department of Health at 1-605-773-4961.

Helpful State Resources