Skip to content

South Carolina Vital Records

FREE SEARCH
The following is for informational purposes only

What are South Carolina Vital Records?

Vital records are records of births, deaths, fetal deaths, marriages, divorces, and adoptions. The South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) Division of Vital Records is responsible for maintaining these records.

The division provides for the correction and certification of vital records, which are used for various purposes such as identification, social security, and immigration. As stated by law, only certain individuals can receive certified copies of these records.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Birth Certificate in South Carolina?

South Carolina birth records

The South Carolina Vital Records Office issues certified copies of birth certificates for events in the state since 1915. To obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate, you must submit a request to the division with the required information and fees.

You may request a certified copy of a birth certificate if you are:

  • The person named on the certificate, given you're at least 18 years old.
  • The parents of the person named on the certificate.
  • The legal guardians of the person named on the certificate.
  • A legal representative of the person or parents named on the certificate.

Immediate family members may obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate if the registrant is deceased.

Upon request, you will be asked to provide information including:

  • The full name of the registrant.
  • The date of birth.
  • The county of birth.
  • The full name of the parents.
  • The father's full name and the mother's maiden name.
  • Your signature, together with your current mailing address.
  • Your relationship to the person on the certificate.
  • Your area code and daytime telephone number.

To request online, you can choose either VitalChek or GoCertificates.

Fees for VitalChek orders are $17.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for every additional copy of the same record ordered simultaneously. An additional $8.75 will be charged for the processing fee. They accept major credit cards, including Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover.

Fees for GoCertificates orders are $17 for the first copy and $3.00 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. An additional $8.70 will be charged for the processing fee.

Upon request, you will be asked to submit a copy of an acceptable form of identification.

To request by phone, you can contact VitalChek at 1-877-284-1008.

Fees for phone orders are $17.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. An additional $10.50 will be charged for the processing fee.

To request in-person, you can visit your local DHEC county health department.

Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Telephone: (803) 898-3630
Address: 2600 Bull St., Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for in-person orders are $12.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. No processing fee will be charged. You will be asked to provide an acceptable form of identification, including:

  • A valid government-issued ID.
  • An employer-issued photo ID.
  • A school photo ID.

You can also request a certified copy of a birth certificate from all Regional Vital Records Offices.

To request by mail, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a birth certificate and send it to:

DHEC Vital Records
2600 Bull St.
Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for mail orders are $12.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. You will be asked to provide a photocopy of an acceptable form of identification.

Note: Be sure to provide proper identification as incomplete or improper identification will result in the denial of your request.

To request by drop-off, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a birth certificate and submit it to:

DHEC State Vital Records Office, Columbia
Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Telephone: (803) 898-3630
Address: 2600 Bull St., Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for drop-off orders are $12.00 for the search fee, which includes one certified copy of the record, and $3.00 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. They accept exact cash, a money order, or a cashier's check made payable to S.C. DHEC.

You will be asked to provide a photocopy of an acceptable form of identification.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Death Certificate in South Carolina?

South Carolina death records

In order to obtain a certified copy of a death certificate in South Carolina, you must be an immediate family member of the deceased or have legal proof that you are entitled to the record.

Other interested parties may request copies of death certificates if they provide the following information:

  • The full name of the deceased.
  • The date of death.
  • The county in which the death occurred.
  • Your relationship to the deceased.
  • Your daytime telephone number.
  • A copy of your valid photo identification.
  • Proof of your entitlement to the record if you are not an immediate family member.

To request online, you can choose either VitalChek or GoCertificates.

VitalChek charges a $17.00 non-refundable search fee which includes one certified copy of the record, and $3 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. An additional $8.75 will be charged for the processing fee. They accept major credit cards, including Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover.

GoCertificates charges a $17 non-refundable search fee for the first certified copy of the death certificate and $3 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. An additional $8.75 will be charged for the processing fee.

Upon request, you will be asked to submit a copy of an acceptable form of identification.

To request by phone, you can contact VitalChek at 1-877-284-1008.

Fees for phone orders are $17.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. An additional $10.50 will be charged for the processing fee.

To request in-person, you can visit your local DHEC county health department.

Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Telephone: (803) 898-3630
Address: 2600 Bull St., Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for in-person orders are a $17 non-refundable search fee for the first certified copy of the death certificate and $3 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. No processing fee will be charged. You will be asked to provide an acceptable form of identification, including:

  • A valid government-issued ID.
  • An employer-issued photo ID.
  • A school photo ID.

You can also request a certified copy of a death certificate from all Regional Vital Records Offices.

To request by mail, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a death certificate and send it to:

DHEC Vital Records
2600 Bull St.
Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for mail orders are $12.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. You will be asked to provide a photocopy of an acceptable form of identification. The average processing time is two to four weeks.

Note: Make sure to provide proper identification as incomplete or improper identification will result in the denial of your request.

To request by drop-off, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a death certificate and submit it to:

DHEC State Vital Records Office, Columbia
Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Telephone: (803) 898-3630
Address: 2600 Bull St., Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for drop-off orders are $12.00 for the search fee, which includes one certified copy of the record, and $3.00 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. They accept exact cash, a money order, or a cashier's check made payable to S.C. DHEC. The average processing time is two days.

You will be asked to provide a photocopy of an acceptable form of identification.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Marriage Certificate in South Carolina?

South Carolina marriage records

The state of South Carolina has records of all marriages between July 1950 and December 2020. For marriages before this time, you must contact the probate court where the marriage license was originally issued.

Only the following individuals can obtain a certified copy of a marriage certificate in South Carolina:

  • One of the married parties (bride or groom).
  • The married party's adult child(ren).
  • A present or former spouse of either married party.
  • The married party's legal representative.

To request online, you can visit VitalChek online. The average processing time for online orders is five to seven days.

Fees for online orders are $17.00 for the standard searching fee and a $10.50 additional charge to pay for VitalChek services. It is recommended to choose UPS rather than regular U.S. mail.

If you don't have access to a computer, you can call VitalChek at 1-877-284-1008.

Note: Only the person named on the marriage certificate, their adult child, or a present or former spouse of the person named on the certificate can request a copy through VitalChek.

To request in-person, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a marriage certificate and submit it to:

DHEC State Vital Records Office, Columbia
Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Telephone: (803) 898-3630
Address: 2600 Bull St., Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for in-person orders are a $12 non-refundable standard search fee and $3 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. No processing fee will be charged. You will be asked to provide an acceptable form of identification including:

  • A valid government-issued ID.
  • An employer-issued photo ID.
  • A school photo ID.

To request by mail, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a marriage certificate and send it to:

DHEC Vital Records
2600 Bull St.
Columbia, SC 29201

Important: Mail requests are only accepted at the state office of Richland County.

Fees for by mail orders are a $12 non-refundable standard search fee and $3 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. You will be asked to provide a photocopy of an acceptable form of identification.

Note: Make sure to provide proper identification as incomplete or improper identification will result in the denial of your request.

To request by drop-off, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a marriage certificate and submit it to:

DHEC State Vital Records Office, Columbia
Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Telephone: (803) 898-3630
Address: 2600 Bull St., Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for drop-off orders are a $12 non-refundable standard search fee which includes one certified copy of the marriage certificate, and $3 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. They accept exact cash, a money order, or a cashier's check made payable to S.C. DHEC. The average processing time is two days.

You will be asked to provide a photocopy of an acceptable form of identification.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Divorce Record in South Carolina?

South Carolina divorce records

Certified copies of divorce certificates are available from DHEC for divorces that were decreed in South Carolina between July 1962 and December 2019.

Only the following individuals can obtain a certified copy of a divorce record in South Carolina:

  • Any of the divorced parties named on the certificate.
  • Adult child(ren)of the divorced parties
  • The present or former spouse of either of the divorced parties.
  • A legal representative of the divorced parties.

To request online, you can visit VitalChek online. The average processing time for online orders is five to seven days.

Fees for online orders are $17.00 for the standard search fee and a $10.50 additional charge to pay for VitalChek services. It is recommended to choose UPS rather than the regular U.S. mail.

If you don't have access to a computer, you can call VitalChek at 1-877-284-1008.

Note: Only the person named on the divorce record, their adult child(ren), or a present or former spouse of the person named on the certificate can request a copy through VitalChek.

To request in-person, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a divorce record and submit it to:

DHEC State Vital Records Office, Columbia
Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Telephone: (803) 898-3630
Address: 2600 Bull St., Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for in-person orders are a $12 non-refundable standard search fee and $3 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. No processing fee will be charged. You will be asked to provide an acceptable form of identification including:

  • A valid government-issued ID.
  • An employer-issued photo ID.
  • A school photo ID.

To request by mail, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a divorce record and send it to:

DHEC Vital Records
2600 Bull St.
Columbia, SC 29201

Important: Mail requests are only accepted at the state office of Richland County.

Fees for by mail orders are a $12 non-refundable standard search fee and $3 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. You will be asked to provide a photocopy of an acceptable form of identification.

Note: Make sure to provide proper identification as incomplete or improper identification will result in the denial of your request.

To request by drop-off, you must complete the application form for a certified copy of a divorce report and submit it to:

DHEC State Vital Records Office, Columbia
Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Telephone: (803) 898-3630
Address: 2600 Bull St., Columbia, SC 29201

Fees for drop-off orders are a $12 non-refundable standard search fee which includes one certified copy of the divorce report, and $3 for every additional copy of the same record ordered at the same time. They accept exact cash, a money order, or a cashier's check made payable to S.C. DHEC. The average processing time is two days.

You will be asked to provide a photocopy of an acceptable form of identification.

Helpful State Resources