Skip to content

Nevada Vital Records

FREE SEARCH
The following is for informational purposes only

What are Nevada Vital Records?

Nevada vital records are the official records of births, deaths, marriages, and divorces in Nevada. They have been maintained by the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services since July 1, 1911.

The purpose of vital records is to document important life events and preserve them for future generations. Certified copies of Nevada vital records can be used for various purposes, including establishing identity, legitimizing children, and obtaining passports.

For events before 1911, records are generally kept in the county recorder's office where the action took place.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Birth Certificate in Nevada?

Nevada birth records

The fastest way to obtain a Nevada birth record is by ordering online via Vitalchek.com. You can call VitalChek at 877-456-5410. The cost of using Vitalchek records is $37.50 plus an additional shipping and handling fee.

You can also advance an appointment at Carson City Office. You can email the office at the Customer Service Desk for an advance appointment.

The office prioritizes advance appointments, so expect a longer wait time if you do not have an appointment. For the safety of walk-ins, only one family will be allowed in the vital records lobby at a time. Make sure to limit the number of people accompanying you.

Only the following people are authorized to receive a copy of a birth certificate in Nevada:

  • The person named on the birth certificate.
  • Their parent(s).
  • Their spouse.
  • Their child(ren).
  • Their legal guardian(s).
  • A legal representative of any of the above with written authorization.

For Genealogical Searches: Appointments are necessary for all requests. Each name searched costs $10, and the allotted time per request is 30 minutes.

Amendments and Corrections: You can drop all orders and correction documents at the exterior drop-box.

To Request By Mail: Submit an application for a birth record in Nevada and the required identification and payment to the Nevada Vital Records office. The office accepts checks, money orders, cashier's checks, and credit cards. The cost for certified copies of the Nevada birth certificate is $25.

Important: Do not send cash via mail.

4150 Technology Way Ste 104
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 684-4242
Fax: (775) 684-4156

Declarations of Paternity: For declarations of paternity, it is recommended to have an appointment. Declarations of paternity must be signed in the Carson City or Southern Nevada Health District offices.

When requesting a copy of NV birth records in person, you must provide:

  • The full name of the person on the certificate.
  • The date of birth.
  • The place of birth.
  • The father's full name (if listed on the certificate).
  • The mother's full name (if listed on the certificate).
  • Your relationship to the person on the certificate.
  • Your driver's license number or state ID number.
  • A photocopy of your driver's license or state ID.

The Office of Vital Records is open from Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5 pm, excluding state holidays.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Nevada Death Certificate?

Nevada death records

The Office of Vital Records requires proof of relationship for the State Registrar to be confident that applicants for Nevada death records have a real and physical connection to the recorded event according to Nevada law.
The fastest way to get a death certificate is to order it online. You can call Vitalchekat 877-456-5410. The cost of using VitalChek is $37.50 plus an additional shipping and handling fee.

You can also mail in your request with the required identification and payment. The office accepts checks, money orders, cashier's checks, and credit cards (do not send cash via mail).

4150 Technology Way Ste 104
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 684-4242
Fax: (775) 684-4156

The cost for a certified copy of death records in Nevada is $25 eachif the death occurred in the following counties:

  • Carson.
  • Clark.
  • Douglas.
  • Lyon.
  • Mineral.
  • Washoe.

For deaths that occurred in any other Nevada County, the cost is $22 per copy.

Advance appointments are prioritized, so you may have to wait longer if you do not have an appointment.

The following people are authorized to receive a copy of a Nevada death certificate:

  • The person named on the death certificate.
  • Their parent(s).
  • Their spouse.
  • Their child(ren).
  • Their legal guardian(s).
  • A representative of any of the above with written authorization.

For Genealogical Searches: Appointments are necessary for all requests. Each name searched costs $10, and the allotted time per request is 30 minutes.

When requesting a copy of NV death records in person, you must provide:

  • The full name of the person on the certificate.
  • The date of birth.
  • The place of birth.
  • The father's full name (if listed on the certificate).
  • The mother's full name (if listed on the certificate).
  • Your relationship to the person on the certificate.
  • Your driver's license number or state ID number.

The Office of Vital Records is open from Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5 pm, excluding state holidays.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Nevada Marriage Certificate?

Nevada marriage records

The county level is where Nevada marriage records are kept. For certified copies of marriage records in Nevada, please contact the county where the ceremony took place.

Please see the Office of Vital Records' forms page for a list of county offices.

The Office of Vital Records can search and provide a list of marriages that took place in Nevada occurring from 1968 until September 2005 and from 2015 to the present.

To request Nevada marriage records, you must provide:

  • The full name of both parties at the time of marriage.
  • The approximate date of the marriage.
  • The city or country where the marriage occurred.
  • The type of certificate you are requesting (original, certified copy, or abstract).
  • Your relationship to the person on the certificate.
  • Your driver's license number or state ID number.

Only the following people are authorized to receive copies of NV marriage records:

  • The person named on the certificate.
  • Their parent(s).
  • Their spouse.
  • Their child(ren).
  • Their legal guardian.
  • A legal representative of any of the above with written authorization.
  • The attorneys of both parties.

The verification fee for each search is $10. Requests are processed in the order they are received.

Important: The record verification does not include a certified copy of the document.

You can download this Marriage and Divorce Records Search Request Form and mail it in with your payment.

You may contact The Office of Vital Records at:

4150 Technology Way Ste 104
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 684-4242
Fax: (775) 684-4156

The Office of Vital Records is open from Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5 pm, excluding state holidays.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Divorce Certificate?

Nevada divorce records

To request a copy of a Nevada divorce certificate, you will need to contact the county in which the divorce decree was filed.

Marriage and Divorce County Contact List

List of Cities in Nevada by County

You can download this Marriage and Divorce Records Search Request Form and mail it in with your payment.

Nevada divorce records are not available to the public. The Office of Vital Records can search and provide a list of marriages and divorces that took place in Nevada occurring from 1968 until September 2005 and from 2015 to the present.

When requesting a copy of a Nevada divorce certificate in person, you must provide:

  • The full name of both parties at the time of marriage.
  • The approximate date of the marriage.
  • The city or country where the marriage occurred.
  • The type of certificate you are requesting (original, certified copy, or abstract).
  • Your relationship to the person on the certificate.
  • Your driver's license number or state ID number.

Only the following people are authorized to receive a copy of a Nevada divorce certificate:

  • The person named on the certificate.
  • Their parent(s).
  • Their spouse.
  • Their child(ren).
  • Their legal guardian(s).
  • A legal representative of any of the above with written authorization.
  • The attorneys of both parties.

The verification fee for each NV divorce records search is $10. Requests are processed in the order they are received.

Important: The record verification does not include a certified copy of the document.

You can contact The Office of Vital Records at:

4150 Technology Way Ste 104
Carson City, NV 89706
Phone: (775) 684-4242
Fax: (775) 684-4156

The Office of Vital Records is open from Monday through Friday from 8 am to 5 pm, excluding state holidays.

Helpful State Resources