Skip to content

Maine Vital Records

FREE SEARCH
The following is for informational purposes only

What are Maine Vital Records?

Vital records in Maine are the official records of all births, deaths, fetal deaths, marriages, domestic partnerships, and divorces in the state of Maine. The Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Vital Records maintains all vital records from January 1, 1892, to the present. Vital records that occurred before 1892 may be available from the municipaloffices, district, or town clerk's office where the event occurred or from the Maine State Archives.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Birth Certificate in Maine?

Maine birth records

Maine birth records are not open to the public for the first 75 years. For a birth record less than 75 years old, only the following persons may obtain a copy:

  • The person named as the registrant.
  • The registrant's spouse or registered domestic partner.
  • The parent(s) of the registrant.
  • Any descendant of the registrant.
  • The legal custodian, guardian, or authorized agent of the registrant.
  • Genealogists who have been issued a valid researcher permit by the Maine Center for Disease Control, Data, Research, and Vital Statistics (however, they may only obtain a non-certified copy).

To request a copy of a Maine birth certificate, you should complete the Maine Application for a Search and Certified Copy of a Vital Record. There is a $15 fee for the first certified copy ($10 fee for a non-certified copy), plus a $6 fee for each copy of the same record. Fees paid by check or money order should be payable to "Treasurer – State of Maine."
You will need to provide the following information on the application:

  • The full name of the child as listed on the record of birth.
  • The date of birth of the child.
  • The place of birth of the child.
  • The parents' full names.

You will also need to provide a copy of your government-issued photo ID (such as a valid driver's license) and proof of your relationship with the registrant of the record.

You can obtain a Maine birth record online, by phone, mail, or in person. To get a Maine birth record online or by phone, you should visit VitalChek or call 1-877-523-2659. VitalChek charges additional fees for online and phone orders and accepts all major credit and debit cards, including Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover.

You may also mail in your request for a Maine birth record along with your payment by check or money order (payable to Treasurer – State of Maine), a copy of your photo ID, and a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

Maine Vital Records
11 State House Station
220 Capitol Street
Augusta, ME 04333-0011

You may also obtain a copy of a Maine birth certificate in person at the above address. The office is open Monday through Friday (except for holidays) from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Death Certificate in Maine?

Maine death records

Under Maine law, death records are not open to the public for the first 25 years. For a Maine death record less than 25 years old, only those with a legitimate interest, including the following persons may obtain a copy:

  • The decedent's spouse or registered domestic partner.
  • The parent(s) of the decedent.
  • Any descendant of the decedent (with proof of lineage).
  • The legal custodian, guardian, or authorized agent of the decedent.
  • Genealogical research - anyone who has been issued a valid researcher permit by the Maine Center for Disease Control, Data, Research, and Vital Statistics (however, they may only obtain a non-certified copy).

To request a copy of a Maine death certificate, you should complete the request form, the Maine Application for a Search and Certified Copy of a Vital Record. There is a $15 fee for the first copy ($10 fee for a non-certified copy), plus a $6 fee for each additional copy of the same record. Fees paid by check or money order should be made payable to "Treasurer – State of Maine."
You will need to provide the following information on the application:

  • The full name of the decedent.
  • The date of death.
  • The municipality where the death occurred.

You will also need to provide a copy of your government-issued photo ID (such as a valid driver's license) and proof of your relationship with the decedent.

You can obtain a Maine death record online, by phone, mail, or in person. To get a Maine death record online or by phone, you should visit VitalChek or call 1-877-523-2659. VitalChek charges additional fees for online and phone orders and accepts all major credit and debit cards, including Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover.

You may also mail in your request for a Maine death record along with your payment by check or money order (payable to Treasurer – State of Maine), a copy of your photo ID, and a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

Maine Vital Records
11 State House Station
220 Capitol Street
Augusta, ME 04333-0011

You may also obtain a copy of a Maine death certificate in person from the vital records office at the above address. The office is open Monday through Friday (except for holidays) from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Maine Marriage Certificate?

Maine marriage records

Maine marriage records are not open to the public for the first 50 years. For a marriage record less than 50 years old, only the following persons may obtain a copy:

  • The married parties as listed on the marriage license.
  • The parents of either of the married parties.
  • Any descendant of the married parties.
  • A legal representative of either party.
  • Genealogists who the Maine Center for Disease Control has issued a valid researcher permit, Data, Research and Vital Statistics (however, they may only obtain a non-certified copy).

To request a copy of a Maine marriage certificate, you should complete the Maine Application for a Search and Certified Copy of a Vital Record. There is a $15 fee for the first certified copy ($10 fee for a non-certified copy), plus a $6 fee for each copy of the same record. Fees paid by check or money order should be payable to "Treasurer – State of Maine."
You will need to provide the following information on the application:

  • The full name of both parties before each party's first marriage.
  • The date of marriage.
  • The name of the city or town where the marriage occurred.

You will also need to provide a copy of your government-issued photo ID (such as a valid driver's license) and proof of your relationship with the parties of the record.

You can obtain a Maine marriage record online, by phone, mail, or in person. To get a Maine marriage record online or by phone, you should visit VitalChek or call 1-877-523-2659. VitalChek charges additional fees for online and phone orders and accepts all major credit and debit cards, including Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover.

You may also mail in your request for a Maine marriage record along with your payment by check or money order (payable to Treasurer – State of Maine), a copy of your photo ID, and a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

Maine Vital Records
11 State House Station
220 Capitol Street
Augusta, ME 04333-0011

You may also obtain a copy of a Maine marriage certificate in person at the above address. The office is open Monday through Friday (except for holidays) from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Divorce Record in Maine?

Maine divorce records

Maine divorce records are not open to the public for the first 50 years. For a divorce record less than 50 years old, only the following persons may obtain a copy:

  • The divorced parties.
  • The attorneys of divorced parties.
  • Any descendant of the divorced parties.
  • A legal representative of a divorced party.
  • Genealogists who the Maine Center for Disease Control has issued a valid researcher permit, Data, Research and Vital Statistics (however, they may only obtain a non-certified copy).

To request a copy of a Maine divorce certificate, you should complete the Maine Application for a Search and Certified Copy of a Vital Record. There is a $15 fee for the first certified copy ($10 fee for a non-certified copy), plus a $6 fee for each copy of the same record. Fees paid by check or money order should be payable to "Treasurer – State of Maine".

You will need to provide the following information on the application:

  • The full name of the divorced parties as listed at the time of the divorce.
  • The date the divorce was granted.
  • The name of the city or town where the divorce was granted.

You will also need to provide a copy of your government-issued photo ID (such as a valid driver's license) and proof of your relationship with the parties of the record.

You can obtain a Maine divorce record online, by phone, mail, or in person. To obtain a Maine divorce certificate online or by phone, you should visit VitalChek or call 1-877-523-2659. VitalChek charges additional fees for online and phone orders and accepts all major credit and debit cards, including Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover.

You may also mail in your request for a Maine divorce record along with your payment by check or money order (payable to Treasurer – State of Maine), a copy of your photo ID, and a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

Maine Vital Records
11 State House Station
220 Capitol Street
Augusta, ME 04333-0011

You may also obtain a copy of a Maine divorce certificate in person at the above address. The office is open Monday through Friday (except for holidays) from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Helpful State Resources