Skip to content

Idaho Vital Records

FREE SEARCH
The following is for informational purposes only

What are Idaho Vital Records?

Vital records in Idaho are records of all births, deaths, stillbirths, and marriages that occur in the state of Idaho. Access to vital records is restricted for a specified period of time to maintain confidentiality and to protect personal information, such as social security numbers and dates of birth. After 50 years, vital records in Idaho become public records. The Idaho Department of Health & Welfare Bureau of Vital Records maintains vital records for the state.

Because Idaho counties were not required to maintain records of deaths and births until 1907, those searching for genealogy and family history interest in Idaho may find older records missing or incomplete. Some counties, such as Minidoka, Kootenai, and Twin Falls, maintain local vital records offices with records reaching back longer than 1907.

You can find a complete list of Idaho counties and links to their governmental websites at The Official Website of the State of Idaho page.

 

How Can I Get a Birth Certificate in Idaho?

Idaho birth records

Birth certificates in Idaho are confidential for 100 years from birth. During that time, only immediate family members and persons having a direct and tangible interest or legal purpose in the birth record may obtain a copy of an Idaho birth certificate. Those persons may include:

  • The person named as the registrant on the birth certificate.
  • The mother, father, or legal guardian of the person named on the birth certificate.
  • A legal spouse of the registrant.
  • The registrant's grandparents, children, and grandchildren.
  • A legal representative of one of the authorized persons.
  • The surviving next-of-kin if a deceased registrant has no other surviving family member closer in relation.
  • The Idaho Attorney General, and state and federal prosecuting attorneys, upon submission of an affidavit stating the necessity of the record to further their law enforcement duties and that reasonable steps will be taken to preserve the confidentiality of the record.
  • Any person with a court order.

Idaho birth records may be obtained online through Vitalchek, or by mail. The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (DHW) Bureau of Vital Statistics no longer has a walk-in service.

To obtain a copy by mail, you will need to complete the Idaho Vital Statistics Certificate Request form, and mail it, along with a photocopy of a government-issued photo I.D., such as a driver's license or passport, and a signed check or money order, payable to Idaho Vital Records, or by credit card (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discovery) which will incur a special handling fee of $10.50, to:

Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0036

The search fee for a birth record in Idaho is $16. There is also a fee of $16 for each certified copy of a birth certificate. Rush orders require an additional fee of $10, which does not include expedited shipping. If you need your certificate express shipped, you will need to express mail your request and include a prepaid self-addressed express envelope for return delivery.

You may review the Notice of Vital Records Fees for additional information about vital records fees.

 

How Can I Get a Death Certificate in Idaho?

Idaho death records

Death records are restricted for 50 years after the date of death. After 50 years, anyone may obtain a copy of a death record. During the first 50 years, copies of Idaho death records may only be obtained by those who can show a direct and tangible interest in the decedent, including:

  • The mother, father, or grandparents of the deceased person.
  • The current husband or wife of the deceased person.
  • The child or grandchild of the deceased person.
  • A sibling of the deceased person.
  • The legal guardian of the deceased person.
  • A legal representative of the deceased person.
  • Any person who can show a tangible interest, such as inclusion in a Last Will and Testament, or an insurance policy beneficiary.
  • Any person with a court order.

Idaho death certificates may be obtained online through Vitalchek, or by mail. The Health and Welfare's Bureau of Vital Statistics no longer has a walk-in service.

To obtain a copy by mail, you will need to complete the Idaho Vital Statistics Certificate Request form, and mail it, along with a photocopy of a government-issued photo I.D., such as a driver's license or passport, and a signed check or money order, payable to Idaho Vital Records, or by credit card (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discovery) which will incur a special handling fee of $10.50, to:

Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0036

A search of the death index in Idaho is subject to a fee of $16. There is also a fee of $16 for each certified copy of a death certificate. Rush orders require an additional fee of $10, which does not include expedited shipping. If you need your certificate express shipped, you will need to express mail your request and include a prepaid self-addressed express envelope for return delivery.

You may review the Notice of Vital Records Fees for additional information about vital records fees.

 

How Can I Get a Marriage Certificate in Idaho?

Idaho marriage records

Marriage records are confidential for 50 years after the date of marriage. After 50 years, anyone may obtain a copy of an Idaho marriage record. During the first 50 years, only the married parties, their immediate family, and their authorized legal representatives may get a copy, including:

  • The bride and groom, as listed on the marriage license.
  • The mother, father, or grandparents of either married party.
  • The child or grandchild of either married party.
  • A legal representative of either married party.
  • Any person with a court order.

Idaho marriage certificates may be obtained online through Vitalchek, or by mail. The Health and Welfare's Bureau of Vital Statistics no longer has a walk-in service.

To obtain a copy by mail, you will need to complete the Idaho Vital Statistics Certificate Request form, and mail it, along with a photocopy of a government-issued photo I.D., such as a driver's license or passport, and a signed check or money order, payable to Idaho Vital Records, or by credit card (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discovery) which will incur a special handling fee of $10.50, to:

Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0036

The search fee for a marriage record in Idaho is $16. There is also a fee of $16 for each certified copy of a marriage certificate. Rush orders require an additional fee of $10, which does not include expedited shipping. If you need your certificate express shipped, you will need to express mail your request and include a prepaid self-addressed express envelope for return delivery.

You may review the Notice of Vital Records Fees for additional information about vital records fees.

 

How Can I Get a Divorce Certificate in Idaho?

Idaho divorce records

Divorce records in Idaho are confidential for the first 50 years. After 50 years, anyone may obtain a copy of a divorce record in Idaho. During the first 50 years of the divorce, only the parties, their immediate family, or a legal representative with authorization may obtain a copy. The Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Statistics maintains the records for divorces granted from May 1947 to the present day. For divorce records prior to that time, you should contact the Idaho county recorder's office where the divorce was granted.

For divorces from May 1947, a copy may be obtained online through Vitalchek, or by mail. The Health and Welfare's Bureau of Vital Statistics no longer has a walk-in service.

To obtain a copy by mail, you will need to complete the Idaho Vital Statistics Certificate Request form, and mail it, along with a photocopy of a government-issued photo I.D., such as a driver's license or passport, and a signed check or money order, payable to Idaho Vital Records, or by credit card (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discovery) which will incur a special handling fee of $10.50, to:

Idaho Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0036

The search fee for a divorce record in Idaho is $16. There is also a fee of $16 for each certified copy of a divorce certificate. Rush orders require an additional fee of $10, which does not include expedited shipping. If you need your certificate express shipped, you will need to express mail your request and include a prepaid self-addressed express envelope for return delivery. You may call for a status update on your request at phone number 208-334-5980.

You may review the Notice of Vital Records Fees for additional information about vital records fees.

Helpful State Resources