Skip to content

Connecticut Vital Records

FREE SEARCH
The following is for informational purposes only

What are Connecticut Vital Records?

Vital records in Connecticut are the official records of all births, deaths, adoptions, and marriages in the State of Connecticut. The Connecticut Department of Public Health's State Vital Records Office is the statewide registry for all vital records occurring in Connecticut from July 1, 1897, to the present. Connecticut has 169 towns, and each one operates its own vital records office maintaining vital records in the town where the vital event occurred. Connecticut vital records dated prior to July 1, 1897, are maintained only at the town where the event occurred.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Birth Certificate in Connecticut?

Connecticut birth records

Anyone may obtain a copy of a birth record that is older than 100 years. For copies of birth certificates less than 100 years, only the following persons may obtain a copy:

  • The registrant, if at least 18 years of age, an emancipated minor, or a certified homeless youth.
  • The parent, legal guardian, grandparent, spouse, adult child, or adult grandchild of the registrant.
  • An attorney at law representing the registrant or an eligible relative, an agent of an approved state or federal agency, a member of a Connecticut genealogical society, or the conservator of the registrant.

You will need to submit an application for a certified Connecticut birth certificate. To request a birth certificate for someone other than yourself or your child, you must have proof verifying your relationship with the registrant, such as a copy of your own birth certificate proving the relationship.

To obtain a certified copy of a birth certificate in Connecticut, you may make an in-person request at the town vital statistics office where the birth occurred or the State Vital Records office at 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT. You may also order online through Vitalchek, or complete the state application and mail requests to the state, or you may complete a town application and mail requests to the town clerk's office.

The state application requires a fee of $30 per copy and should be mailed to:

State of Connecticut Department of Public Health
Vital Records Section, Customer Services
410 Capitol Avenue, MS #11VRS
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308

The only payment accepted with this mail-in application is postal money orders payable to Treasurer, State of CT. For expedited services, additional fees may apply.

The town application requires a fee of $15 and should be mailed to the city or town maintaining the certificate.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Death Certificate in Connecticut?

Connecticut death records

Anyone 18 years of age or older may purchase a certified copy of a Connecticut death certificate. However, a copy of the death certificate that includes the decedent's social security number may only be obtained by the decedent's spouse or next of kin listed on the death certificate.

If you are not listed on the death certificate and need a copy with the decedent's social security number, you will need to provide proof of identity and proof of the relationship that allows you to obtain the death certificate with the social security number.

Under state law, the spouse, child, or parent of a deceased veteran may obtain one free certified copy of the decedent's death certificate if the person presents a copy of a valid government-issued photo I.D. and proof of their relationship to the deceased.

Funeral directors may receive one free copy of the death certificate on behalf of the deceased veteran's family at the time of death.

You will need to submit an application to the town where the death occurred or submit an application to the State of Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH) for the death record. You may also make an in-person request at the vital records department where the death occurred or by visiting the State Vital Records office at 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT.

The cost for a death certificate from either the State of Connecticut or the Town is $20 and is payable by postal money order.

To obtain a copy of the death certificate from the State, mail your completed application along with the postal money order made payable to "Treasurer, State of CT", and mail to:

Connecticut Department of Public Health
Vital Records Section
Customer Service, MS # 11 VRS
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308

For expedited service, additional fees may apply.

For copies of death certificates that occurred less than 4 months prior to the request, you should make your request to the vital records office in the town where the death occurred.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Connecticut Marriage Certificate?

Connecticut marriage records

Anyone may obtain a copy of a marriage or divorce record in Connecticut, as long as they are at least 18 years old. The request should be submitted to either:

  • The town where the marriage occurred.
  • The town where either of the parties resided at the time of the marriage.
  • The State Vital Records Office.

While anyone 18 years of age or older may obtain a copy of the marriage certificate, the social security numbers of the parties are not available on the copy, except to the married parties.

You may obtain a copy of a marriage record online through Vitalcheck, or you may complete a state application or a town application. You may also make your request in person at the vital records office where the marriage occurred, or at the State Vital Records office at 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT.

You should mail your state application, along with your postal money order in the amount of $20, payable to "Treasurer, State of CT" to:

Connecticut Department of Public Health
Vital Records Section
Customer Services, MS #11 VRS
P. O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308

For copies of marriage certificates for a marriage that occurred less than 4 months prior to the request, you should submit a town application request form to the Vital Records office of the town where the marriage occurred, along with a postal money order for $20, made payable to the city or town.

A marriage license must be obtained from the vital records office of the Connecticut town in which you plan to be married. The cost of the marriage license is $50. Once the marriage has taken place, the marriage license must be filed at the vital records office where the marriage occurred, and once filed, it is known as the marriage certificate.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Divorce Record in Connecticut?

Connecticut divorce records

The Connecticut registrar of vital statistics does not maintain divorce decrees or records. For copies of a Connecticut divorce decree, you must contact the Connecticut Superior Court where the divorce or dissolution was granted.

Connecticut divorce records are public records that may be viewed by anyone. However, only the following persons may obtain a copy of a Connecticut divorce record:

  • The divorced parties.
  • The children of the divorced parties who are named in the divorce documents.
  • The parents and/or legal guardians of the divorced parties.
  • A legal representative of the divorced parties.

When making a request for a Connecticut divorce record, you will need:

  • A valid government-issued photo ID, such as a driver's license.
  • The names of both divorced parties, including the maiden name.
  • The date of the divorce.
  • The location of the divorce.
  • A postal money order payable to the Superior Court Clerk's office in the amount of $25.

You may make a request for a Connecticut divorce decree in person or by mail at the Superior Court where the divorce judgment was filed.

Helpful State Resources