Skip to content

Arkansas Vital Records

FREE SEARCH
The following is for informational purposes only

What are Arkansas Vital Records?

Arkansas's vital records are the official records of all births, deaths, marriages, and divorces in the state of Arkansas. The Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, maintains all Arkansas vital records. Like most of the state's government agencies, the vital records office is located in Little Rock, Pulaski County, Arkansas.

 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Birth Certificate in Arkansas?

Arkansas birth records

Births certificates in Arkansas are confidential by state law, and access to them is limited to close family members and certain others, including the following persons:

  • The person named on the birth certificate, if at least 16 years old.
  • The parents or legal guardians of the person named on the birth certificate.
  • The maternal grandparents of the person named on the birth certificate.
  • A child of the person named on the birth certificate.
  • A grandchild of the person named on the birth certificate.
  • A legal representative of eligible persons.
  • Other persons authorized by a court order.

To obtain a copy of an Arkansas birth certificate, you should contact the Arkansas Department of Health Vital Records office, and make your request one of the following ways:

  • Online – you can order a copy of a birth certificate online through the Arkansas Department of Health Online Services site. You will be charged $12 for the first copy and $10 for any additional copies ordered at the same time, as well as a $5 standard process fee and $1.85 for identity verification. The Arkansas vital records online department accepts debit or credit cards, including Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. Your request usually takes 7 to 14 business days to process, plus additional shipping time.
  • By mail – you may order a certified copy of an Arkansas birth certificate by mailing in a completed application along with a check or money order payable to the Arkansas Department of Health, Division of vital records, and a copy of acceptable photo id, including a valid driver's license. (The application may also be obtained from a local Arkansas health unit.)

Mail to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Vital Records, Slot 44
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205

Please allow 10 to 14 business days to process your application, in addition to mailing time.

For genealogy or family history uses, this office requests that you order these records by mail or online.

  • Walk-in – walk-in service is available at the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of vital records, located at 4815 W. Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205, which is located across the street from War Memorial Stadium. This office is open Monday through Friday (except state holidays) from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For eligible customers arriving before 4:00 p.m., same-day service is usually available with acceptable identification. Payment options for walk-in service are cash, credit or debit cards, check, and money orders payable to the Arkansas Department of Health.
  • By telephone – eligible customers may order a copy of an Arkansas birth record from the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of vital records by calling (866) 209-9482. Payment may be made by credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover).
 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Death Certificate in Arkansas?

Arkansas death records

In Arkansas, death records are restricted by state law.

Only the following people can obtain an Arkansas death certificate:

  • The mother of the decedent.
  • The father of the decedent, if named on the decedent's birth certificate.
  • A child of the decedent.
  • The spouse of the decedent.
  • A grandchild of the decedent.
  • The grandparents of the decedent.
  • An informant listed on the death certificate.
  • The funeral home handling the body of the decedent.
  • A beneficiary of the decedent, with proper documentation.

To obtain a copy of an Arkansas death record, you should contact the Arkansas Department of Health, vital records section and make your request one of the following ways:

  • Online – you can order a copy of a death certificate online through the Arkansas Department of Health Online Services site. You will be charged $10 for the first copy and $8 for any additional copies ordered at the same time, as well as a $5 standard process fee and $1.85 for identity verification. The office accepts debit or credit cards, including Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. Your request usually takes 7 to 14 business days to process, plus additional shipping time.
  • By mail – you may order a certified copy of an Arkansas death certificate by mailing in a completed application along with a check or money order payable to the Arkansas Department of Health and a copy of an acceptable photo ID, including a valid driver's license. (The application may also be obtained from a local Arkansas health unit.)

Mail to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Vital Records, Slot 44
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205

Please allow 10 to 14 business days to process your application, in addition to mailing time.

For genealogy or family history uses, this office requests that you order these records by mail or online.

  • Walk-in – walk-in service is available at the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of vital records, located at 4815 W. Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205, which is located across the street from War Memorial Stadium. This office is open Monday through Friday (except state holidays) from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For eligible customers arriving before 4:00 p.m., same-day service is usually available with acceptable identification. Payment options for walk-in service are cash, credit or debit cards, check, and money orders payable to the Arkansas Department of Health.
  • By telephone – eligible customers may order a copy of an Arkansas death record from the Arkansas Department of Health, vital records office by calling (866) 209-9482. Payment may be made by credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover).
 

How Can I Get a Copy of a Marriage Certificate in Arkansas?

Arkansas marriage records

By state law, only the following people may obtain a copy of an Arkansas marriage record:

  • The married parties.
  • The mother and father of the married parties.
  • The children of the married parties.
  • The grandchildren of the married parties.
  • The grandparents of the married parties.

To obtain a copy of an Arkansas marriage license, you should contact the county clerk's office where the marriage license is filed, or the Arkansas Department of Health, vital records section and make your request one of the following ways:

  • Online – you can order a copy of a marriage certificate online through the Arkansas Department of Health Online Services site. You will be charged $10, as well as a $5 standard process fee and $1.85 for identity verification. The office accepts debit or credit cards, including Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. Your request usually takes 7 to 14 business days to process, plus additional shipping time.
  • By mail – you may order a certified copy of an Arkansas marriage record by mailing in a completed application along with a check or money order payable to the Arkansas Department of Health and a copy of an acceptable photo ID, including a valid driver's license. (The application may also be obtained from a local Arkansas health unit.)

Mail to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Vital Records, Slot 44
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205

Please allow 10 to 14 business days to process your application, in addition to mailing time.

For genealogy or family history uses, this office requests that you order these records by mail or online.

  • Walk-in – walk-in service is available at the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of vital records, located at 4815 W. Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205, which is located across the street from War Memorial Stadium. This office is open Monday through Friday (except state holidays) from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For eligible customers arriving before 4:00 p.m., with acceptable identification, same-day service is usually available. Payment options for walk-in service are cash, credit or debit cards, check, and money orders payable to the Arkansas Department of Health.
  • By telephone – eligible customers may order a copy of an Arkansas marriage record from the Arkansas Department of Health, vital records office by calling (866) 209-9482. Payment may be made by credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover).
 

How Can I Get a Copy of an Arkansas Divorce Record?

Arkansas divorce records

By state law, only the following people may obtain a copy of an Arkansas divorce certificate:

  • The parties to the divorce.
  • The mother and father of the divorced parties.
  • The children of the divorced parties.
  • The attorneys of the divorced parties.
  • Any person mentioned in the divorce decree.
  • A spouse of either of the divorced parties.

To obtain a copy of an Arkansas divorce record, you should contact the county clerk's office where the divorce was granted, or the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, and make your request one of the following ways:

  • Online – you can order a copy of a divorce decree online through the Arkansas Department of Health Online Services site. You will be charged $10, as well as a $5 standard process fee and $1.85 for identity verification. The office accepts debit or credit cards, including Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. Your request usually takes 7 to 14 business days to process, plus additional shipping time.
  • By mail – you may order a certified copy of an Arkansas divorce decree by mailing in a completed application along with a check or money order payable to the Arkansas Department of Health and a copy of an acceptable photo ID, including a valid driver's license. (The application may also be obtained from a local Arkansas health unit.)

Mail to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Vital Records, Slot 44
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205

Please allow 10 to 14 business days to process your application, in addition to mailing time.

For genealogy or family history uses, this office requests that you order these records by mail or online.

  • Walk-in – walk-in service is available at the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of vital records, located at 4815 W. Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205, which is located across the street from War Memorial Stadium. This office is open Monday through Friday (except state holidays) from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. For eligible customers arriving before 4:00 p.m., with acceptable identification, same-day service is usually possible. Payment options for walk-in service are cash, credit or debit cards, check, and money orders payable to the Arkansas Department of Health.
  • By telephone – eligible customers may order a copy of an Arkansas divorce record from the Arkansas Department of Health, vital records office by calling (866) 209-9482. Payment may be made by credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover).

Helpful State Resources