You can use various online search tools to look up Nebraska license plates for free. However, the only information you will find there is the vehicle's make, model, and year, and sometimes color or trim level will also be available. There are paid services you can use to get more information (such as ID number, name, address, phone, etc.), but you must comply with strict Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. The state of Nebraska has an online portal where you can apply, pay a $3/per record fee, and obtain records that way. They only allow record requests for specific reasons, and you must supply your name, address, and phone number. If you do not fall into one of the allowable categories, your request may be denied.
Nebraska requires all vehicle owners to have two reflectorized license plates on their car or truck. One must be on the front and one on the rear. Only specific types of vehicles are allowed one plate (such as motorcycles, buses, and dealer vehicles).
When purchasing a new vehicle, you must register it within 30 days at the County Treasurer's Office in your town. You must also pay the sales tax at the time of registering. Nebraska registers vehicles on a staggered, monthly basis, and it depends on the month of purchase.
You may renew your Nebraska vehicle registration in person or online through the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles portal. All you need to renew is your existing registration and Proof of Financial Responsibility (Insurance). If you register online, your new license plates and validation tabs will be sent to you through the mail.
Nebraska offers its residents standard plates, which most drivers will use. Then they offer a bunch of specialty plates covering a few different categories, such as:
Nebraska also has special plates for boats, repossessed vehicles, handicapped plates, and others.
Nebraska allows the release of information available on any record under the jurisdiction of the Department of Motor Vehicles following both the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (18 USC §§2721-2725) and by the Nebraska Uniform Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Act (§60-2901 through §60-2912), enacted to implement the federal DPPA.
The state of Nebraska openly discloses that they are unable to supply personal information to the general public under these laws unless the individual or business falls into one of the exception categories.
As defined by Nebraska's DPPA laws, personal information that identifies someone includes:
Additionally, personal/sensitive information is subject to even stricter laws. Those items include:
"Individual's Photograph, may be released to:
Federal, State, or Local Law Enforcement Agencies.
Social Security Number, may be released to:
Medical or Disability Information cannot be provided to any requestor".
Yes, it is legal to look up a license plate number in Nebraska as long as you follow the DPPA laws. Nebraska is very strict when it comes to releasing certain details like social security numbers, photographs, and medical information. You may, however, look up the vehicle's information (make, model, year), which is publicly available and not subject to DPPA laws.
When looking up records, you will need to supply your name, address, and phone number. If requesting from a business, you will need to supply the business name and address also. To request the records, you must have the person's name, date of birth, and driver's license number also. You must supply a valid reason for looking up records and, in many cases, signed consent from the driver.
The form provided by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles does not allow license plate lookups through the VIN. It is more driver-related than the vehicle. You can, however, use third-party resources to look up license plates using a VIN. However, you must follow all DPPA laws in how you use the information.
It is not legal to just look up a license plate number to find out who owns the vehicle unless you fall into one of the allowable categories such as insurance, private investigation, law enforcement, or government agency. If you need to locate the owner of a license plate in Nebraska, the best option is to contact the police and ask them to look it up for you.
Per Nebraska's N.R.S. §60-2901 to §60-2912, the Uniform Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Act, only the following are valid, legal reasons for obtaining someone's driving record:
Nebraska does not allow access to motor vehicle records for sales and marketing.
Anyone can use an online service to look up Nebraska license plates for free. However, the only information you will find there is the vehicle's make, model and year. Sometimes the color or trim level will also be available.