The public can perform a free Mississippi license plate lookup online easily. But, you won't see much information (only the year, make, and model of the vehicle). However, you can also purchase reports with a non-personal driving history, which will give you more details, such as speeding tickets and other violations. If you qualify under the state and federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws, you can request records that do contain personal information like the person's name, address, date of birth, sex, height, weight, eye color, driver license number, social security number, photograph, telephone number, and medical or disability information including restrictions. These reports cost money, and when requesting them, you must supply your name, business name and type, address, and phone number.
Regardless of whether you buy a new or used vehicle in Missouri, you must register and title it within 30 days after purchase. When registering, you will need a title, proof of ownership, proof of insurance, a tax form showing you don't owe any property taxes, a passed inspection report, odometer reading, and emissions statement. Military personnel are afforded special dispensation from these rules.
After initially registering your vehicle, you can renew your automobile registration online every year. If you require a copy of your title, you can get one for a $14.50 fee.
Registration fees are based on "taxable horsepower" of the vehicle, and you can register your car or truck for one or two years—the fees for one year range from $18.25-$51.25.
Other than motorcycles and antique vehicles, most cars and trucks in Missouri must have two license plates (one in the front and one in the rear).
The state of Missouri offers its residents a couple of different types of standard license plates, which are dark blue, white, and some have a burgundy color as well. Their bicentennial license plate has the burgundy color across the top. They also offer some specialty plates in the following categories:
A small sampling of the dozens of license plates available that support organizations, foundations, or causes are:
Missouri follows the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) and lists thirteen allowable persons and circumstances for requesting driver records and personal information. Most of the purposes are for government, law enforcement, investigations, insurance, and personal use. The penalties for the misuse of personal driver details contained in motor vehicle records are severe and can be costly.
Additionally, they note that:
"Your photograph, social security number, and medical or disability information may only be obtained for use by:
Yes, it is entirely legal to look up non-personal driver records for various purposes. You have the right in Missouri to review someone's public records, including crash reports, vehicle violations, DUIs, traffic tickets, and more. You can even lookup the year, model, and make of their car. However, if you want personal details like name, address, phone, social security number, driver's license number, birth date, and things like that, you must follow the strict DPPA laws.
When requesting information, you first need to fall into one of the thirteen allowable purpose categories. Then you must supply your full name, agency, address, and phone number. You also need the person's name, date of birth, driver's license or social security number, mailing address, and phone number. You have to select the types of records you want and pay the appropriate fee ($2.82 per record). The Request From Driver License Record Holder form must be notarized.
The current Missouri system does not allow individuals or businesses to lookup license plate or vehicle owner information using the VIN. However, following strict DPPA laws, you can use an online portal to look up the data. You can also consult the national title registry and look up a vehicle using the VIN for crash history and recalls on it.
It is not permissible in Missouri to simply look up a license plate to contact the owner of the car or truck unless you have a valid reason. Instead, you must use other channels like local law enforcement or town registry offices to help you locate someone. In many cases, they can look up the owner, but they may not be able to release that information to you.
Missouri very closely follows the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA). It allows only thirteen situations where you can legally purchase a motor vehicle report, based on license plate information that contains personal details of the driver. A few of those permissible situations/uses are:
Anyone can look up a Missouri license plate for free online, but you won't see much information (only the year, make, and model of the vehicle).