You can easily lookup a Mississippi license plate online to find basic vehicle information like the year, make, model, and sometimes color and trim level. You can also fill out a form with the Mississippi Department of Revenue and pay a fee for motor vehicle records that contain personal driver details like social security number and driver's license number. You must follow all Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws and prove that you are eligible using one of the allowable exceptions. You must also give them your name, address, phone number, and driver's license number. In most cases, "allowable use" will pertain to government usage, law enforcement, legal issues, or insurance. You can also pay an online service for records, but again, you must comply with all DPPA laws or face serious consequences.
If you own a motor vehicle with a gross weight of 10,000 pounds or less, you may register it at the county Tax Collector's office in your county of residence.
If you fail to renew your license plates for up to 16 days after the due date, you will be charged an additional 5%. After that, every 30 days will cost you another 5%. You can only accrue a maximum of 25%; then you won't be able to register your vehicle.
You have only seven days after buying a new vehicle to get it registered in Mississippi. You have only 48 hours to transport it back home after purchase then seven days to register. New registrations cost $14, and renewals are $12.75.
When moving to Mississippi, you have 30 days to register your vehicle in the town you live in. If you fail to register it on time, you will be charged a $250 late fee.
Military personnel stationed in Mississippi do not have to register their vehicles with the state. They can keep their out-of-state plates, as long as the registration is current.
Mississippi offers its residents many options for license plates. Some of the long list includes:
The Mississippi Department of Revenue's Motor Vehicle Licensing Bureau enforces the applicable state code, Title 35 Part VII Motor Vehicles and Titles, and federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. The information request form lists 12 permissible purposes for obtaining the records of another person and includes this warning:
"You must first complete form 77-600, Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Application. Be advised that only those persons who will use the information for the permitted reasons will be able to receive such information. If you complete the form and falsely certify to the use, you will lose all privileges to receive information in the future. You could also be liable to the individual to whom the information pertains, who may bring a civil action in a United States District Court. The remedies the court may award are:
Additionally, they mention that: "We do not maintain drivers' licenses information. The Department of Public Safety has that information. Our records do not contain birthdays, social security numbers, or driver's license numbers. Therefore, we cannot locate information by these items".
It is legal to look up your own license plate or driver record in Mississippi. It is also legal to look up someone else's record as long as you fall into one of the exception categories listed on the Mississippi motor vehicle information request form per the state's DPPA laws. Each record costs $11, and you must provide proof of your eligibility to receive records. Sometimes this means a signed consent form from the driver.
When requesting records through the Mississippi Department of Revenue or Driver Service Bureau, you will need to provide information. If you are requesting records for yourself, you will need your license number, last four digits of your social security number, your full name, and date of birth. When requesting records for someone else, you will need to provide your name, address, phone number, and then name, address, VIN, tag number, title number, and county for the person.
Using the form mentioned above, you can look up a vehicle in Mississippi using the VIN. When requesting a record for yourself, you cannot look at this information up by VIN but will need your driver's license and social security number instead. There is also a national title registry you can use to look for vehicles through the VIN to find crash history reports, recalls, and other details.
It is unlawful to use a license plate lookup just to find the owner's information in Mississippi. You must have a valid, legal reason for obtaining personal information like name, address, phone number, social security number, date of birth, medical information, and other info. Instead, you can try other methods to locate the owner of a vehicle by calling the police and letting them handle it.
According to Mississippi's and the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws, there are only a few reasons you can request license plate information that contains personal details. A few of them are:
You can use one of many online portals to look up a Mississippi license plate for free. However, the search will yield you only basic vehicle information like the year, make, model, and sometimes color and trim level.