Using a simple Kansas license plate lookup, anyone can obtain vehicle information like make, model, year, and sometimes trim level and other mechanical details.
Information about the owner is protected by strict DPPA laws that govern who can access it and how it may be used. The state of Kansas has set up a portal for people to use to search Kansas license plate records, but you have to apply, get approved, and then sign in to use the system. With access, you can get more information such as vehicle owner's name, address, phone number, driving record including crashes and offenses, sometimes email, medical information, and more. The service costs $125 per year, and you must supply your own personal details when applying. Be careful how you use that information, though, or you could be subject to fines and jail.
In Kansas, drivers need only one plate on the rear of their vehicle. It is illegal to attach another plate to the front except in certain circumstances (antique cars, tractors, and some trucks). The single license plate must be securely fastened and visible at all times. Nothing can be put over the plate or obstruct the letters and numbers.
You have 60 days from the time you purchase a vehicle to get it registered with the county treasurer's office. When registering a new vehicle or renewing an existing one, you must provide proof of insurance. Your insurance company must participate in the Kansas Division of Vehicles if you plan on renewing online. They can provide electronic proof of insurance.
Kansas has set up a website called iKan, where you can renew your license, renew your vehicle registration, order vital records, and pay the government. They make it easy to access and even have a mobile app for iOS and Android.
Along with the state's standard license plate, Kansas offers its residents dozens of personalized and specialty license plates to choose from. Along with military, disabled, and university plates, Kansas also has plates that honor specific organizations, foundations, and causes. Some of them are:
They also have an online tool you can use to check to see if your personalized message is available before ordering.
Kansas follows the federal Drivers' Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA) (18 U.S.C. § 2721), by restricting access of personal information contained in vehicle records to one of the exceptions listed in the Act. Accordingly, Kansas law (K.S.A. 45-220(c)(2)), prohibits any list of names and addresses derived from public records to be sold, given or received for the purpose of selling or offering for sale any property or service".
The Kansas Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Record website contains a confidentiality agreement which expressly states, "[i]t is unlawful for personal information to be used for any purpose not permitted under the DPPA". Any violation of the use and access of personal information from motor vehicle records may result in fines of $2,500 per incident, "punitive damages, reasonable attorney fees, other litigation costs, and other preliminary and equitable relief as the court determines to be appropriate".
It is legal to lookup license plates in Kansas, provided you do so with the utmost care, and follow all the DPPA rules and regulations. You must have a valid purpose that falls within the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act list of exceptions. If you use the information for anything unlawful, you may face very serious consequences, including criminal charges.
To sign up to use the Kansas motor vehicle records information portal, you will need basic information like your name, address, email address, company data, and a signature. You must also sign a waiver proving your purpose for needing the records. When searching for records, you only need the license plate number. You may also search using the VIN.
If you are an authorized member, you can use the Kansas motor vehicle information system to search for a Kansas license plate. However, if you are not, then you can use some other public records database, or the national title registry search where you will find a full vehicle history report, car crash details, and also open recalls on the vehicle.
Along with their online system, Kansas does have a special form called "Request for Access to Vehicle Records," that you can use to get information on the owner a vehicle. It's only $10, but you must claim a permissible use for wanting that information. If you do not fall into any of the categories, they have a miscellaneous category, and approval will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.
Much like the federal DPPA, Kansas considers the use of motor vehicle records carefully. They only allow certain people/companies to access them. Some examples are:
Anyone can look up Kansas license plate information for free online at various locations. However, you won't see much, only make, model, year, and sometimes trim level or color of the vehicle.