Whenever a software company releases a new version, there are some fun new features, enhancements to the way we work and play, and other changes. However, there may also be new ways to secure your privacy and keep your device safe. Recently, Apple released the latest version of iOS, which is 14. Let’s review the privacy and security settings to ensure your device is as safe as possible from prying eyes.

Apple has always been a staunch supporter of privacy. That message oozes out of every commercial, every billboard, and magazine ad. It’s clear, they want you to know your stuff is private, and they get it. The good news is they build into every device some tools to keep your data confidential. The bad news is not everyone knows that or how to turn on certain settings to secure their devices.
With every new iteration of their impressive software, they include additional ways to keep hackers out and secure your private and sensitive communications.
We all get those spam calls meant to scare us into providing credit card details over the phone or believe that we owe the IRS some fictitious tax bill and the police are on the way to arrest us right now if we don’t pay up. Luckily, in iOS, there is a way to stop those calls from even ringing.
There is a setting in the phone area where your iPhone will only ring if the caller is in your contacts list. To turn it on, go to Settings, tap Phone, then toggle the switch labeled “Silence Unknown Callers.” However, you may need to check voicemail because if someone calls that you were expecting but are not yet in your caller list, it will go directly to voicemail.
Many apps want to track your location, and really how many of them actually need that information to do their job? Some are just being nosey. You can control each and every app installed and set when you want to allow them access to your location. The choices are “Never,” “Ask Next Time,” “While Using the App,” and “While Using the App or Widget.” You can access these settings by going to Settings, tap the app, tap “Location,” and choose which option you want for each.
As additional location protection, you can now strip location metadata from your photos. If you post photos online with your GPS info embedded, someone could get ahold of your home address without you knowing it. When you choose an image from Photos to share, tap the “Options” button and switch “Location” to off.

Instead of choosing Google or Facebook to sign in new accounts, choose Apple. Unlike both Facebook and Google, who have been cited for numerous privacy violations, Apple actually cares about keeping your anonymity. Choose the new “Sign on with Apple” whenever it is offered as you set up new accounts or log into existing ones. This option also comes with a fake email, so your real email address remains hidden and safe.
If you try to set up new passwords that are considered “weak” and hackable, iOS 14 will alert you that the password is too weak and prompt you to create a new one. The password generator creates very long, strong passwords you can use. A password vault is also a helpful way to store all your passwords in one safe location.
One of the great things about the Apple ecosystem is the ability to quickly and easily share contacts and other information. However, in the past, when you shared a contact, your notes (about the contact) would go along with it. Now, those notes are stripped from the contact share, and your privacy remains intact.
Some apps like Facebook ask for permission to access Bluetooth, and they use it for tracking your online activities to target you for ads. We know, nasty. So you can now control what apps have access to Bluetooth and provide it to only those that actually need it. To turn on/off Bluetooth for apps, simply go into Settings, then tap the app you want to change, and toggle the Bluetooth button on or off depending on whether or not you wish to allow it to access this feature.
Along with these important ones above, a few other tips include: