Skip to content

What Does A Gun Background Check Consist Of?

Posted on by Ben Hartwig in LawApril 06, 2020

When someone purchases a gun through a licensed gun dealer, a background check is required to keep the public safe. Only qualified individuals can buy firearms. Gun laws vary from state to state. Some states prohibit the sale of guns through private sales or gun shows without a background check. There are also federal laws that govern the sale, possession, and transfer of firearms and ammunition.

The History of Firearm Background Checks

After the assassination of President John F. Kennedy, Congress passed The Gun Control Act of 1968. This law prohibits specific individuals from purchasing guns. Anyone with a federal criminal history, mental illness, substance abuse problem, or people who are convicted of domestic abuse are ineligible to purchase firearms.

In 1993, Press Secretary, Jim Brady was shot during an assassination attempt on Ronald Reagan. As a result, Congress passed the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act. The Brady Law requires all Federal Firearms Licensees (FFL) to run a full background check on anyone purchasing a firearm. The federal government set up a centralized database system called the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) to handle all background checks. NICS contains information on everyone’s criminal history, medical background including mental health issues, and other information like restraining orders for domestic violence.

From 1994 until 2015, more than three million people were denied the right to purchase firearms due to background checks. Sixty-one percent was based on the fact that the person was a convicted felon.

How Does It Work ?

When someone visits an FFL to purchase a gun, they must fill out form 4473 called a Firearms Transaction Record. The salesperson will enter your information into NICS from the form and await the results. The process is typically swift and takes less than a few minutes to be approved or denied.

If anything in your file causes concern, the FBI can make you wait for three days while they investigate further. During that time, you will not be able to purchase any firearms. If the FBI fails to approve or deny you after three days, you can buy a gun.

What Is Checked During Gun Purchase?

During a federally mandated gun background check, the following items will be checked and may cause delays in approval:

  • If someone is convicted of a crime and was sentenced to more than one year in prison.
  • If someone is currently a fugitive from the law.
  • If they are known to use illegal drugs or controlled substances illegally.
  • If they have been indicted for a crime that carries a sentence of more than one year in prison.
  • Whether or not the person is an illegal alien or a U.S. citizen.
  • If they are here in the U.S. with an expired Visa.
  • A court has determined that the person is mentally incompetent.
  • Has renounced their U.S. citizenship.
  • Has ever been charged with or convicted of domestic violence.
  • Someone who currently has a protective order against them due to domestic violence.
  • If they have been dishonorably discharged from any of the U.S. Armed Forces.

Any one of those items flags the FBI that further investigation is necessary. The FBI then has three days to approve or deny the application.

United States Gun Background Check Laws

Strict Gun Law States

In private gun sales, typically, you do not have to undergo a background check. However, some state laws require them even for private sales. Those states are:

Strict Gun Law States
  • California.
  • Colorado.
  • Connecticut.
  • Delaware.
  • Nevada.
  • New Jersey.
  • New Mexico.
  • New York.
  • Oregon.
  • Rhode Island.
  • Vermont.
  • Washington.
  • District of Columbia.

Some states gun law allows gun permit holders to buy guns without having to undergo a background check through NICS. The federal government decides which permits qualify as an exemption. Those states and permits include:

  • Alaska (concealed weapons permits marked NICS-Exempt).
  • Arizona(concealed weapons permits).
  • Arkansas (concealed weapons permits issued on or after 4/1/99).
  • California (“entertainment firearms permits” only).
  • Georgia(concealed weapons permits).
  • Hawaii(permits to acquire and licenses to carry).
  • Idaho (concealed weapons permits).
  • Iowa (permits to acquire a handgun and concealed weapons permits).
  • Kansas (concealed weapons permits issued on or after 7/1/10).
  • Kentucky (concealed weapons permits issued on or after 7/12/06).
  • Louisiana (concealed handgun permits issued on or after 3/9/15).
  • Michigan (licenses to purchase a pistol).
  • Mississippi (concealed weapons permits, but not security guard permits).
  • Montana (concealed weapons permits).
  • Nebraska(handgun purchase certificates and concealed handgun permits).
  • Nevada (concealed weapons permits issued on or after 7/1/11).
  • North Carolina (permits to purchase a handgun and concealed handgun permits).
  • North Dakota(concealed weapons permits issued on or after 12/1/99).
  • Ohio(concealed weapons permits issued on or after 3/23/15).
  • South Carolina (concealed weapons permits).
  • South Dakota(gold card and enhanced permits issued on or after 1/1/17).
  • Texas(concealed weapons permits).
  • Utah (concealed weapons permits).
  • West Virginia (concealed handgun license issued on or after 6/4/14).
  • Wyoming (concealed weapons permits).

What are Red Flag Laws?

Red Flag laws, also called Extreme Risk Protection Orders are laws in certain states that allow law enforcement, loved ones, medical personnel, lawyers, teachers, and mental health practitioners to remove firearms from people who are deemed dangerous to themselves or others. Seventeen U.S. states have Red Flag laws.

About the Author

Related Articles

News Article

Cop Cam: How Do Police Dash Cams work?

We live in the age of video, and law enforcement has not escaped this trap. In the wake of speculation su... Read More

News Article

What is the Difference Between Jail and Prison?

Do you know the difference between jail and prison? For most people, these terms are interchangeable and... Read More

News Article

U.S. Gun Policy

Gun Control in the United States: an Overview The United States has two types of gun laws. Some are fede... Read More

News Article

In-Depth Look at Top Reasons for Arrests in the U.S.

Due to the diverse cultures that exist in the different regions of the United States, it can often be cha... Read More

Uncover Hidden Information About Anyone: