The Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) is the government agency responsible for driving records. They act like a state DMV (Wyoming DMV). The state makes it easy for individuals to obtain copies of their own history or employers, insurance companies, or other government entities to obtain copies for someone else. Insurance providers, often use these reports before insuring motorists or setting car insurance rates.
The state complies with strict Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws, and therefore, when purchasing a copy for someone other than themselves, requestors must have signed permission from the subject. The Wyoming DOT allows users to get copies in person or through the mail using their downloadable form.
These records contain personal information like the driver's name, social security number, driver's license number, date of birth, and a physical description. They also contain accident history, driving offenses (both criminal and civil), traffic violations, license status, license suspensions, cancellations, and revocations. They may also contain any restrictions, endorsements, and DOT correspondence.
The state offers two ways for requestors to get copies. First, they can visit any Wyoming driver examination station and purchase copies as long as they have a valid driver's license with them.
The second way to get copies is through a written request by downloading the application form and mailing it in with the fee to:
Wyoming Department of Transportation
Driver Services, Driving Records
5300 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WY 82009-3340
When ordering by mail, it can take up to 7-10 business days to process.
Anyone requesting a record for someone other than themselves must have a signed release form from the subject.
The cost for a motor vehicle record is $5. This fee is waived for all government agency and law enforcement requests.
Residents must be 16 years old or older to begin driving in the state. Anyone under the age of 18 must-have parental or guardian consent. The state uses a graduated licensing program to ease young drivers into driving.
The Intermediate License comes with some restrictions:
The following list are people who do not need to get a Wyoming driver's license:
Below is a list of people who are ineligible to get a WY driver's license:
According to the DOT, some other driving laws include:
To drive legally in Wyoming, you must have a valid driver license, instruction permit, intermediate license, or restricted license. Wyoming licenses are issued by the Driver Services Program of the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT).
A revocation cancels your driver license, and you must go through a driver investigation to be re-licensed once the revocation is over. You cannot have limited driving privileges during a revocation. Offenses that will cause a revocation are:
If you are placed under arrest for driving under the influence, a chemical test or tests to determine your BAC may result. Under the Implied Consent law, drivers are deemed to have given their consent to such tests whenever driving on a public street or highway.
The legal speed limits of the state are as follows:
Roundabouts are a safer, more cost-effective way to build some intersections. By keeping traffic moving and requiring fewer stops and starts than conventional intersections, roundabouts reduce crashes, delays, and congestion, resulting in drops in fuel consumption and emissions.
Traffic moves at slow speeds in a counterclockwise direction, and is constantly moving except when yielding to traffic in the roundabout and pedestrians in the crosswalks.
To navigate a roundabout:
Never try to pass on the right unless you are sure you can do it safely.
You may pass on the right:
Emergency vehicles may be parked in the roadway or alongside another vehicle. When driving on an interstate highway or other highway with two or more lanes, upon approaching a parked emergency vehicle whose audible or visual signals are in use, you must merge into the lane farthest from the emergency vehicle, except when otherwise directed by a police officer.
The state offers a 3-year record, 5-year record, or a 10-year record to choose from. Each is explained below:
According to the Wyoming DOT, the 3-year driving history report includes moving violations, uninsured accidents, compulsory insurance violations, administrative per se and refusals, nonresident violator compact violations, and proof of financial responsibility withdrawals.
According to the Wyoming DOT, the 5-year history includes violations for driving under the influence, reckless driving, accident judgments, vehicular homicide, leaving the scene of an injury accident, a felony which is a result of manner of driving and transporting liquor to a minor convictions and withdrawals.
The 10-year record is used mostly for CDL purposes, but employers may also request a 10-year report, and it will include all of the items in the three and five-year reports along with CDL medical information.
Criminal driving offenses in Wyoming are serious crimes that usually include losing a driver's license, payment of a large fine, and jail or prison time. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state include:
Civil driving offenses in the state are far less serious and usually only result in a small fine or a warning. Some examples of these types of infractions include:
The state keeps data on all driving incidents to improve roadway safety and create programs to serve residents. Some interesting statistics about driving and crashes within the state are as follows:
For 2020, some quick status include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Anyone with a valid, legal reason can get a copy of your driving record. They must have a signed consent form from you in many cases.
No. Wyoming is a rare state that does not use an online system for obtaining motor vehicle history reports.
When requesting a record, you will need the driver's full name, driver's license number, and date of birth. You may also need to show the attendant your identification card.
No. Unlike other states such as Maine, Tennessee, New Mexico, and Wisconsin, the state does not use a points system, but they do keep track of violations, and you will receive the same punishments if you accumulate too many that another state with a points system would issue.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.