Wisconsin Public Driving Records
The State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WDOT) is the government agency responsible for driving records. The agency issues copies to individuals, employers, government agencies, and others in need of the information. However, the state strictly honors Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) eligibility laws. Auto insurance companies use these reports when insuring motorists and setting insurance rates.
Wisconsin allows people to obtain copies through their online portal and through the mail using the downloadable form. Someone can also visit a Wisconsin DMV office to obtain certified copies. The state offers two types of records. One is non-certified and is an abstract that summarized driver data. The other is a complete, certified copy that has all the pertinent details.
The records do contain personal information such as driver name, address, social security number, date of birth, and driver's license number. They also include criminal driving offenses, traffic violations, moving violations, accidents, license status, CDL medical information, driver license points, license suspensions, cancellations, and revocations.
How to Request a Copy of Your Wisconsin Driving History
The state of Wisconsin allows someone to get a copy of their own record easily using the online portal. When ordering online, the requestor must pay with a credit card or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express), and they can then print a copy immediately. The system automatically emails the requestor their report.
Another way to get copies is through the mail using the downloadable form and sending it in with payment to:
Driver Records, WisDOT
PO Box 7995,
Madison, WI 53707-7995
The final way to get copies is by visiting any Wisconsin DMV office and ordering them in person. When doing so, the requestor can pay with cash, check, or money order.
Motor Vehicle Records Cost
The cost for using the online system is $5 for each record. When ordering a non-certified record in person or by mail, the fee is $7. The cost for a full history report (certified) is $12. When paying by credit card, the purchaser will also pay a "convenience fee."
Government agencies only pay $2 per record.
Driving Laws in the State
A resident who is 15 and 1/2 can apply for a learner's permit to begin learning to drive. To apply, someone must:
- Be at least 15 years, six months of age
- Pass the knowledge and highway signs tests and vision screening
Someone under the age of 18 must complete driver education and 30 hours of supervised driving before applying for and getting their "Probationary License."
The requirements for a probationary license are:
Additionally, a probationary driver must agree to:
- Must maintain absolute sobriety while driving
- Must wear your seat belt
During the first nine months of using a probationary license, the driver must adhere to the following restrictions:
- You can drive alone, but you are limited to only one passenger other than your immediate family or a qualified adult
- No driving between midnight to 5 a.m., unless traveling between home and school or work
- The restrictions above can be extended if you get a traffic ticket, your probationary license is suspended or revoked, or you are in violation of the above restrictions
Some other driving laws from the WDOT include:
- Anyone who operates a motor vehicle or motor-driven cycle on public roadways in Wisconsin is required to have a valid driver license.
- No person may operate a motor vehicle in Wisconsin unless the owner or operator of the vehicle has liability insurance in effect for the vehicle being operated.
- One must present proof of insurance (such as a valid insurance card) when requested by a law enforcement officer.
- The liability insurance must be issued by an insurer authorized to conduct motor vehicle liability business in Wisconsin if the vehicle is registered in Wisconsin. A driver of a vehicle registered in another state may provide proof from an insurance company in the state where the vehicle is registered.
- Insurance coverage and limitations are the responsibility of the driver and owner of the vehicle if the proof of insurance does not list the driver or the specific vehicle being operated.
- Law enforcement may request proof of insurance at any traffic stop or crash. Failure to have insurance could result in up to a $500 fine. Failure to have proof of insurance when requested could result in a $10 fine. Any person who fraudulently represents that they carry the required liability insurance or provides fraudulent documents as proof could face fines of up to $5,000. You may not be stopped by law enforcement solely for purposes of determining proof of insurance.
The state has a point system for driving offenses. The DOT explains it as:
- Your driver record has zero points until you are convicted of violating certain traffic laws. Upon conviction, you are given demerit points which become part of your driving record. Probationary license holders and those who do not have any type of license (no matter what age), including those who hold only an ID card, will have their points doubled on their second and subsequent convictions.
- If you get 6 demerit points within any 12-month period, you will receive a warning letter. The letter will tell you how you can reduce your points by 3 by completing an approved traffic safety course. If you get 12 or more demerit points within any 12-month period, your driving privilege will be suspended or revoked.
The state will revoke someone's license for the following infractions:
- A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Refusing to be tested for alcohol or other drugs if you are asked to do so by a police officer
- Leaving the scene of a crash in which you are involved without identifying yourself
- Failing to notify law enforcement of a reportable crash in which you are involved
- Giving false information when you apply for a driver license
- Failing to settle a financial judgment made against you for damages resulting from a motor vehicle crash
- Attempting to change the information on your driver license
- Failing to appear for a re-examination when requested to do so by the DMV
- Using a motor vehicle to commit a felony or causing the death of someone in a motor vehicle crash
- Having too many points on your driving record
- Letting someone else use your driver license
- Using someone else's driver license
Different Types of Driving Reports in the State
The state offers only two types of reports. One is an abstract that is non-certified. The other is a certified full history copy.
Non-Certified Record Abstract
This record summarizes the driver's record and all accidents, traffic violations, tickets, license status, license revocations, suspensions, and points. This report also includes personal information such as the driver's name, date of birth, social security number, and driver's license number.
Certified Copy (full history)
This record is a full history of the driver's record, including all licenses and accidents, traffic violations, tickets, license status, license revocations, suspensions, and points. This report also includes personal information such as the driver's name, date of birth, social security number, and driver's license number.
Criminal Driving Offenses
In Wisconsin, criminal driving offenses are serious offenses that carry a punishment of huge fines, jail time, and the loss of a license. Some examples of these crimes include:
- Reckless driving – The first offense comes with a $25-$250 fine. A second offense will result in a $50-$500 fine plus a year in prison. If anyone is hurt, the fine jumps to $300 - $2,000 and 30 days in prison. If someone is killed, the fine could be up to $10,000, and the offender will spend 3.5 years in prison
- Excessive speeding
- Road rage or aggressive driving
- Driving without a valid license
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Evading an officer
- Passing a school bus
Commercial drivers may face even harsher penalties.
Civil Driving Offenses
Civil driving offenses are minor infractions that usually end up with just a ticket. Some examples of these crimes are:
- Running a red light
- Parking in a no-parking zone
- Not stopping at a stop sign
- Failure to yield
- Illegal vehicle modifications
State Department of Motor Vehicles Driving Records Statistics
The state of Wisconsin keeps track of all driving data and car accidents to improve roadway safety and create programs that help the entire region. Some interesting statistics from their findings include:
- The state averages 521 fatal crashes per year
- The state sees around 30,000 injury crashes every year
- The number of annual property damage crashes averages 105,431
- The fatality rate is 0.88%
- The number of persons killed each year is 573
- 41,669 people are injured every year in vehicle accidents, 758 alcohol-related crashes per year, and 160 alcohol-related fatalities
- Alcohol-related injures total 3,064 per year
- 1,359 drug-related accidents are logged every year
- Impaired driving accounts for roughly 6,500 accidents every year
- The highest number of crashes (19,681) are caused by speed
- Wisconsin sees 17,232 hit and run accidents per year
Driver License Record Search Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Who Can Get a Copy of Your Wisconsin Driving Record?
Only someone with a valid, legal reason like an attorney, insurance company, government agency, law enforcement, or employer may get a copy of your driver record.
Can I Get a Copy of My Driving Record Online?
Yes. The state encourages individuals to use the online tool to get a copy of their own report.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)?
When ordering a copy of your own record, you must have your full name, the last four digits of your social security number, and your date of birth. If you order by mail or in person, you may need a copy of your driver's license.
Does the State Use a Points System?
Yes. They have a strict points policy, and when you accumulate 12 points (within a 12-month period), your license is automatically suspended.
How Do I Get My License Back After a Suspension?
According to the WDOT:
A revoked license can be reinstated after:
- The period of revocation is over, and
- You file proof of financial responsibility with the Division of Motor Vehicles, and Note: Proof must be filed for 3 years from the date you are eligible to reinstate
- You present proof of identity (a skills test may be required if you have been suspended or revoked for 8 years or more), and
- You pay a reinstatement fee
Helpful State Driving Record Links
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.