Virginia Public Driving Records
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (Virginia DMV) is the government agency responsible for driving records. They follow strict Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws when issuing copies of someone's driver record.
The state offers a few different types of records covering different time periods for specific purposes, such as insurance reports that insurance providers may use for insurance purposes. They also have a report for employers who are performing background checks.
These reports contain personally identifiable information (PII) such as the driver's full name, driver's license number, social security number, physical description, and date of birth. They also contain non-personal information such as accident history, driving convictions, traffic violations, license status, revocations, license suspensions, and cancellations. They will also show license points.
How to Request a Copy of Your Virginia Driving History
The Virginia DMV offers individuals and companies a few different ways to get copies of driver records. First, they can use the online system (DMV Now) to purchase copies.
Using the downloadable form CRD-93, a user can request records through the mail by submitting a written request and fee to:
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Attention: Vehicle (Driver) Records Work Center
P. O. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269
One other way to get records is to visit a Customer Service Center (DMV office) in person and make the request.
Motor Vehicle Records Cost
The state offers various reports, but the majority of them cost $9 per copy. The price list is as follows:
- Driving Record - $9.00
- Vehicle Record - $9.00
- Police Crash Report - $8.00
- Decedent Photo - $9.00
- Driver/Vehicle Application - $9.00
- Supporting Documents (per page) - $3.00
- Motor Carrier Overweight Citation Record - $8.00
- Travel Emergency Photo Verification - $9.00
- Record Certification Fee (additional) - $5.00
When ordering by mail or in person, the requestor can pay by check or money order. When ordering online, they can pay with a credit card or debit card.
Driving Laws in the State
A resident of VA must be 15 & 1/2 before they can apply for their learner's permit to begin driving. Drivers just starting out are subject to restrictions which include:
Possessing a learner's permit allows you to operate a motor vehicle when a licensed driver at least 21 years of age is seated beside you. The driver accompanying you may be 18 years of age if he or she is your legal guardian, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, step-brother, or step-sister. This person must hold a valid driver's license, be legally permitted to drive, and be alert and able to assist you.
Once a driver turns 18, they are allowed to apply for their full unrestricted driver's license. However, they must hold the learner's permit for nine months before applying.
Other restrictions include:
If you are under age 18, Virginia law prohibits you from driving midnight to 4 A.M. except when driving:
- To or from a place of business where you are employed;
- To or from an activity that is supervised by an adult and is sponsored by a school or by a civic, religious, or public organization;
- With a licensed spouse age 18 or older, parent or other adult acting in loco parentis who is occupying the front passenger seat,
- In case of an emergency, including responding to emergency calls as a volunteer firefighter or rescue squad personnel
If you are under age 18, you may carry only one passenger under age 21, unless accompanied by a licensed parent, or other adult acting in place of a parent, in the front passenger seat. However, after you have held your license for one year, you may carry up to three passengers under age 21 in the following situations:
- Travel to and from a school-sponsored activity;
- A licensed driver 21 or older is in the front passenger seat; or
- In case of an emergency
Learner's permit holders may not carry more than one passenger under age 18. (Passenger restrictions do not apply to family members) Violations of either the curfew or passenger restrictions can result in the suspension of your driver's license.
Virginia's cellular telephone law prohibits the use of cell phones while driving, regardless of whether such device is or is not hand-held. You can only use a cell phone or any other telecommunications device for a driver emergency, and the vehicle must be lawfully parked or stopped.
The state also uses a point system for traffic violations. Some six-point violations include:
- Reckless driving - speeding in excess of 85 mph (11 years)
- Reckless driving - speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit (11 years)
- Reckless driving - racing (11 years)
- Reckless driving - passing or overtaking an emergency vehicle (11 years)
- Reckless driving - passing a school bus (11 years)
- Reckless driving - passing on the crest of a hill (11 years)
- Reckless driving - passing at a railroad crossing (11 years)
- Reckless driving - passing two vehicles abreast (11 years)
- Reckless driving - driving two vehicles abreast (11 years)
- Reckless driving - driving too fast for conditions (11 years)
- Reckless driving - failing to give a proper signal (11 years)
- Reckless driving - faulty brakes/improper control (11 years)
- Reckless driving - on parking lots, etc. (11 years)
- Reckless driving - with an obstructed view (11 years)
- Reckless driving - generally (11 years)
- Speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit (5 years)
- Driving while intoxicated (11 years)
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (11 years)
- Driving under the influence of drugs (11 years)
- Driving after illegally consuming alcohol (persons under age 21) (3 years)
- Driving while intoxicated - maiming (11 years)
- Involuntary manslaughter/alcohol (11 years)
- Refusing blood/breath test (11 years)
- Driving while your license is suspended or revoked for driving while intoxicated (11 years)
- Driving while your license is revoked for driving while intoxicated - maiming (11 years)
- Driving while your license is revoked for driving while intoxicated - involuntary manslaughter (11 years)
- Manslaughter (11 years)
- Involuntary manslaughter (11 years)
- Involuntary manslaughter/aggravated (11 years)
Some four-point violations include:
- Reckless driving - failure to stop before entering a highway (11 years)
- Speeding (5 years)
- Speeding 10-14 mph above the posted speed limit (5 years)
- Speeding 15-19 mph above the posted speed limit (5 years)
- Speeding 10-19 mph above the posted speed limit (5 years)
- Passing when unsafe (3 years)
- Passing to the left of approaching vehicle (3 years)
- Failure to drive to the right and stop for police/fire/emergency vehicle (3 years)
- Failure to stop for pedestrian (3 years)
- Failure to stop and yield right-of-way (3 years)
- Failure to yield right-of-way (3 years)
- Failure to yield when turning left (3 years)
- Failure to yield to funeral procession (3 years)
- Failure to drive on right half of highway or street (3 years)
- Failure to keep to the right when crossing an intersection (3 years)
- Driving to the left of rotary traffic island (3 years)
- Following too closely (3 years)
- Failure to signal before moving from curb (3 years)
- Improper signal (3 years)
- Failure to obey railroad crossing signal (3 years)
- Failure to stop at railroad grade crossing (3 years)
- Failure to keep to the right at a railroad crossing (3 years)
- Failure to stop passenger-carrying vehicle at railroad grade crossing (3 years)
- Railroad crossing/stopping (3 years)
- Improper operation of crawler-type tractor over railroad crossing (3 years)
- Operating a motor vehicle while suspended/revoked/restricted with a blood alcohol content of .02% or more (11 years)
- Failure to stop at the scene of a crash, unattended property, damage in excess of $500 (11 years)
- Passing stopped school bus (non-reckless) (3 years)
- Failure to stop at the scene of a crash, property damage (3 years)
- Emergency vehicle violation - property damage (5 years)
- Emergency vehicle violation - injury (5 years)
- Aggressive driving (5 years)
- Failure to obey traffic signal (3 years)
- Failure to obey lane directional signal (3 years)
- Failure to obey highway lane markings (3 years)
- Improper backing, stopping, or turning (3 years)
- Driving the wrong way on a one-way highway or street (3 years)
- Impeding/disrupting funeral procession (3 years)
- Disregarding police officer's signal to stop (3 years)
- Disregarding crossing guard/officer's signal (3 years)
- Vulnerable Road User (5 years)
Some three-point violations include:
- Speeding 1-9 mph above the posted speed limit (5 years)
- Impeding traffic, slow speed (5 years)
- Improper passing (3 years)
- Improper passing on the right (3 years)
- Improper driving (3 years)
- Improper stopping on highway (3 years)
- Changing course after signaling (3 years)
- Coasting with gears in neutral (3 years)
- Failure to give way in favor of overtaking vehicle (3 years)
- Failure to give way when abreast of another car (3 years)
- Driving through safety zone (3 years)
- Driving over fire hose (3 years)
- Unauthorized use of crossover on controlled highway (3 years)
- Driving/riding on sidewalk (3 years)
- Improper turn (3 years)
- Improper U-turn (3 years)
- Violation of right turn on red (3 years)
- Violation of left turn on red (3 years)
- Failure to obey highway sign (3 years)
- Evading traffic control device (3 years)
- Driving without lights/excessive lights (3 years)
- Failure to dim headlights (3 years)
- Parking without proper lights displayed (3 years)
- Inadequate hazard lights (3 years)
- No Virginia driver's license (3 years)
- No Virginia license plate (3 years)
- Failure to obtain a driver's license (3 years)
- No driver's license - vehicle/motorcycle (3 years)
- Failure to have license revalidated (3 years)
- Learner's permit violation (3 years)
- Permitting unlicensed person to drive (3 years)
- Driving in violation of restricted license (restrictions related to physical limitation, such as mechanical control device) (3 years)
Different Types of Driving Reports in the State
The state of Virginia offers a few different types of records to choose from. All types are certified copies. They are as follows:
Driver Record (personal use)
The report covers 11 years of driving history and is issued to individuals for personal use.
Driver Record (employment/school/military use)
This driving record is for employment, school use, the military, and other government agencies, and it covers seven years of driving history. It does require a consent form from the driver.
Contains up to 7 years of driving history; only requested and issued to Transportation Network Companies (TNC) for the purpose of employment.
Insurance companies use this report, and it goes back only five years.
Driver Habitual Offender Restoration (license reinstatement)
Used to petition the court for restoration of someone's driver's license, up to an 11-year record.
Criminal Driving Offenses
Criminal driving offenses are very serious matters and usually end up with the driver losing their license, paying huge fines, and spending some time in either jail or prison. Sometimes drivers are ordered to take a defensive driving course. Some examples of these types of crimes are:
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Reckless driving
- Driving without a license or one that has been suspended
- Passing a school bus
- Passing a railroad crossing
- Driving without insurance
Commercial drivers may face harsher penalties.
Civil Driving Offenses
Civil driving offenses are far less severe and usually result in just a fine. Some examples of these types of offenses are:
- Broken taillight
- Running a red light
- Failure to yield
- Unregistered vehicle
State Department of Motor Vehicles Driving Records Statistics
The state DMV keeps track of all crash data to help improve driver safety. Some interesting statistics from that department include:
- For 2020, there were 105,600 crashes
- Of those crashes, only 847 were fatal
- There were 52,668 injuries in 2020
- Virginia has a 1.14 driving death rate
- There are 8,333,323 vehicles registered in the state
- There are 5,971,170 licensed drivers in the state
- Roughly 74,476 miles are driven in the state every year
Driver License Record Search Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Who Can Get a Copy of Your DMV Driving Record?
Only someone with a valid legal request can get a copy of your driving record. The state honors strict DPPA laws. Usually, those approved are employers, transportation companies, and car insurance providers.
Can I Use the Online System to Get Driving Records?
Yes. The state has an online system that requestors can easily use to get records. They can also get them via mail or in person.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)?
When requesting a copy of your own record, you will need your name, address, social security number, driver's license number, date of birth, and for some types of reports, your vehicle information, such as license plate number or VIN.
Does the State Use a Points System?
Yes. The state uses a demerit point system to keep track of all driving violations in the state. The state also awards drivers, safe points for good driving.
Helpful State Driving Record Links
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.