Vermont Public Driving Records
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (Vermont DMV) is the state agency in charge of driver records. They issue them to government agencies, insurance companies, employers, and others in need of the information. For example, insurance providers often use these records before setting car insurance rates, and employers use them for background checks.
The state issues many different kinds of reports based on the driver, their accident history, crash reports, vehicle information, and previous license activity. In addition, they allow individuals to get a copy of their own and others to get copies as long as they follow strict Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws.
The records contain personal details such as the driver's name, address, date of birth, social security number, driver's license number, and physical description. Other information in these reports includes crash history, vehicle information, auto registration details, license status, revocations, suspensions, and cancellations. They may also have auto insurance and criminal driving convictions.
How to Request a Copy of Your Vermont Driving History
Individuals can request records by downloading the proper form #VG-116 and bringing it along with the fee to the Montpelier office. Requestors must schedule an appointment. They do not accept walk-ins.
Companies, employers, and insurance companies must fill out a bulk request form #VG-118 and set up a subscriber agreement with the NIC Vermont.
Motor Vehicle Records Cost
The state of Vermont offers various driving and driver-related records. Each comes with a specific fee that the user must pay when purchasing. The list of record fees is as follows:
- Certified copy 3-year operating record - $14.00
- Certified copy complete operating record - $20.00
- Certified copy driver's license application - $8.00
- Certified copy individual crash report - $12.00
- Certified copy mail receipt - $8.00
- Certified copy of registration application - $8.00
- Certified copy police crash report - $18.00
- Certified copy proof of mailing - $8.00
- Certified copy reinstatement notice - $8.00
- Certified copy suspension notice - $8.00
- Insurance information on crash - $8.00
- List of title records (initial computer programming) - $100/hour; $500 minimum
- List of title records (sent by electronic media) - $119.00
- Listing of driver's licenses (1-4) - $8.00
- Listing of registrations (1-4) - $8.00
- Lists of registered dealers (per page) - $8.00
- Periodic inspection sticker record - $8.00
- Records not otherwise specified (per page) - $8.00
- Statistics and research (per hour) - $42.00
Driving Laws in the State
Anyone 15 years or older can apply for their Learner's Permit to begin driving. The state uses a graduated license program to allow drivers to drive legally.
Someone using a Learner's Permit must be accompanied by:
- A licensed and unimpaired parent or guardian
- A licensed or certified and unimpaired driver education instructor
- A licensed and unimpaired individual who is at least 25 years of age
The driver must maintain a "clean" driving record for the previous two (2) years. Someone must possess a Learner's Permit for at least one (1) year before they can apply for their Junior Driver's License. Before applying for their Junior Driver's License, the driver must complete 40 hours of practice driving, with ten of them nighttime driving. They must be accompanied by one of the individuals above while practicing.
The Junior Driver's License also comes with some strict restrictions. When someone turns 18, they can apply for their full, unrestricted license. Some infractions that will revoke either a Learner's Permit or Junior Driver's License are:
- Carrying passengers for hire: 90-day recall
- Driving for employer/employment: 90-day recall
- Recommendation from a Diversion/Reparative Board: 30-day recall
- Points accumulation (for a single 3-point speeding violation or a 6-point total): 90-day recall
- Passenger age violation: 90-day recall
- Passenger restrictions: 90-day recall
Some other laws, according to the Vermont DMV, are:
- The operator of a motor vehicle involved in a crash whereby a person is injured or whereby there is total damage to all property to the extent of $3,000.00 or more shall make a written report concerning the crash to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles on forms furnished by the Commissioner. The written report shall be mailed to the Commissioner within 72 hours after the crash. The Commissioner may require further facts concerning the crash to be provided upon forms furnished by him or her
- As used in this section, the word "crash" refers only to incidents and events in which the motor vehicle involved comes into physical contact with a person, object, or another motor vehicle. It shall not include such contact where a vehicle involved is being used by a law enforcement officer as a barrier to prevent passage of a vehicle being operated by a suspected violator of the law. In such cases, the law enforcement officer shall not be required to make a personally written report of the incident
- The owner and the operator of a motor vehicle covered by one or more policies of liability insurance shall notify any person injured by the motor vehicle, or the owner of any property damaged thereby, of the name and address of all liability insurance companies which may cover the incident, and the numbers of the policies. The notification shall be made to the injured person, or the owner of the damaged property, or both, not more than five days after the injury or damage. The information shall be given to the injured person and the owner of the damaged property at the last known address of each
- In Vermont, it is illegal for a vehicle to be operated if it isn't covered by a minimum amount of liability insurance. The minimum amount of liability insurance required is set by Statute, 23 V.S.A. § 800
- State law requires drivers approaching a stationary law enforcement vehicle, ambulance, fire fighting vehicle, a vehicle used in rescue operations, or a towing and repair vehicle displaying signal lamps, and traveling in the same direction, to reduce speed and, if safe to do so, vacate the lane closest to the stationary vehicles
- No person shall operate a motor vehicle, other than a type I school bus, in this state upon a public highway unless every occupant under age 16 is properly restrained in a federally approved child passenger restraining system as defined in 49 C.F.R. § 571.213 (1993) or a federally-approved safety belt, as follows:
- All children under the age of one, and all children weighing less than 20 pounds, regardless of age, shall be restrained in a rear-facing position, properly secured in a federally-approved child passenger restraining system, which shall not be installed in front of an active airbag
- A child weighing more than 20 pounds, and who is one year of age or older and under the age of eight years, shall be restrained in a child passenger restraining system (This means convertible, combination, and booster child safety seats); and
- A child eight through 15 years of age shall be restrained in a safety belt system or a child passenger restraining system
Different Types of Driving Reports in the State
The state of Vermont has various Vermont driver records. The most commonly ordered and useful types are as follows:
Certified Copy 3-Year Operating Record
The record is a popular record containing personal information along with accident history, driving offenses, failed court appearances, license suspensions, revocations, and driving restrictions, along with other information. This report will only cover the last three years.
Certified Complete Operating Record
The certified complete operating record is a complete driving history that contains all the same information as the 3-year record but will cover all the time between the driver's first license up to their current one.
Criminal Driving Offenses
Criminal driving offenses are serious crimes that usually result in the driver spending time in jail or prison, paying a hefty fine, and losing their driving privileges. Sometimes the court will order them to take a defensive driving course also. Some examples of criminal driving offenses are:
- Reckless driving
- Hit and run
- Evading an officer
- Driving without a valid license
- Failure to obey an officer
- Vehicular manslaughter
Civil Driving Offenses
Civil driving offenses are minor traffic violations that usually end up with just a fine. Some examples of these are:
- Parking illegally
- Failure to yield
- Broken taillight
- Not stopping at a red light or stop sign
State Department of Motor Vehicles Driving Records Statistics
The state of Vermont tracks all driving data to create programs that improve roadway and highway safety. Some interesting facts based on the state's findings are:
- Impaired driving was a contributing factor in 44.26% of all fatalities in 2020
- Speed was a contributing factor in 21.31% of all fatalities in 2020
- Older drivers was a contributing factor in 24.59% of all fatalities in 2020
- Improper/NoBeltUse - 57% of the decedents in fatal crashes in 2020 were not properly restrained
- The State of Vermont has reduced Serious Injury crashes by 12.16% and will meet this performance target
- The State of Vermont's five-year unrestrained passenger vehicle occupant fatalities in 2020 increased by 9.01% to 24.2
- Vermont will not achieve its goal to decrease alcohol-impaired driving fatalities by 12.5% from the 2013-2017 five-year average of 16 people to 14 people through December 31, 2020. The projected five-year average through December 31, 2020, is 16.4, which is an increase
- Vermont did not meet its goal to maintain speed-related fatalities at the five-year average of 23.8 from 2013-2017 through December 31, 2020. The projected five-year moving average in 2020 is 25.8, which is an 8.4% increase
- Vermont did not achieve its goal to decrease drivers age 20 or younger involved in fatal crashes by 33.3% from the five-year average of 6 in 2013-2017 to a five-year average of 4.0 by December 31, 2020. The five-year average in 2020 is 5.2, a decrease of 18.75%. Though we did not achieve the goal, the State of Vermont is encouraged to see these results
- Vermont achieved its goal to reduce the number of pedestrian fatalities by 7.14% from the five-year average of 5.6 in 2013-2017 to 5.20 through December 31, 2020. As of December 2020, the five-year moving average is 5.2 for a reduction of 7.14%. There must have been an adjustment in the data, as the HSP reported that 5.6 was the 2017 moving average and this new data set is reporting 5.4 for that same time period
Driver License Record Search Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Q1: Who Can Get a Copy of Your Vermont Driving Record?
Vermont closely follows strict DPPA laws, so only someone with a valid legal interest can get a copy. That may include insurance companies, researchers, employers, private investigators, government agencies, and law enforcement, along with others who follow the laws and get your consent.
Q2: Can I Use the Online System to Get Driving Records?
No. The state does not have an online system to request or view driver records.
Q3: What Information Do I Need to Get a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)?
When requesting a copy of your driving record, you will need your name, VIN, make, model, and license plate for your vehicle. Additionally, you will need your driver's license number, social security number, date of birth, license expiration date, and the timeframe of the report requested.
Q4: Does the State Use a Points System?
Yes, the state does use a point system, and if you accumulate 10 points over a two-year period, your license will be suspended.
Q5: How Do I Get My License Back After it is Suspended
According to the VDMV, "Reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense. Contact us for your specific requirements.
Common requirements may include:
- Submit an SR-22 (proof of insurance)
- Retake and pass the driving skills and knowledge tests
- Satisfy any court requirements
- Pay reinstatement fee(s)
- Obtain medical clearance
- Complete alcohol courses as ordered by the courts
Helpful State Driving Record Links
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.