The Utah Department of Public Safety - Driver License Division is the government agency responsible for maintaining and issuing driver license records to authorized individuals. The office acts like a DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). They offer them to the individual driver, government agencies, and also companies. Insurance companies use these reports when setting insurance rates. In addition, employers may use them for background checks.
The state offers only two types of driving records. The first is a regular driver history for the subject. These are most often ordered by the individual for personal use. Requestors can get them in certified or non-certified format. The other report is a CDL driver history, and these are most often used by companies during a background check or employers when hiring new drivers.
The records from Utah contain personal information. Therefore, all requestors must comply with strict Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. The data will be the driver's name, address, social security number, date of birth, and a physical description (eye/hair color, weight, and height). The other information on the report will be accident history, driving convictions, traffic violations, license status, license suspensions, cancellations, and revocations. CDL records will also contain medical data.
The state offers three ways to get a copy of a driving history record. They strongly encourage requestors to use the online system, allowing someone to get a copy of their own, or re-download it later. They also have an area for employers, insurance companies, and other entities to sign up for an account and get frequent reports.
They also allow people to request records using a variety of different request forms. The completed form, along with payment of the fee, must be returned to:
Department of Public Safety
Driver License Division
P.O. Box 144501
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4501
The requestor can fill out a particular form to get a certified driving record. However, those records take about two weeks to arrive.
The other way to receive records is in person at a Department of Public Safety - Driver License Division office.
The cost for a driving record is $8, regardless of how the requestor orders it. Both certified and non-certified records cost the same amount. When ordering in person, the requestor can pay in cash or by check. When ordering through the mail, they can pay with a check or money order, and when ordering online, they can use a credit card or debit card.
Some driving laws in the state of Utah consist of:
The minimum driving age in Utah is 16 years old. All drivers must have a valid license. Visitors from other states or countries may drive in Utah as long as they have a current driver license and are at least 16 years old.
On most highways, the speed limit is 65 or 70 miles per hour, particularly in urban areas along the Wasatch Front and eastbound to Park City. Speed limits increase to75 or 80 miles per hour on interstate highways and 65 miles per hour on some state highways. These increased speeds are only allowed where they are clearly posted. Transition zones from one speed limit to another are indicated with pavement markings and additional signs. Watch for decreased speed limits on state highways that pass through towns.
Right turns are allowed on a red light after the vehicle has come to a complete stop, except where signs prohibit.
Prohibition on using a handheld wireless communication device while operating a moving motor vehicle — Exceptions — Penalties.
You can talk on your phone while driving, but you are prohibited from manipulating your device while driving, meaning you cannot dial a phone number while driving.
If a person has moved to Utah for the purpose of establishing residency or has been employed in Utah for over 60 days on a permanent assignment or has lived in the state for 60 days or more, then you need to get a Utah driver license.
Utah law requires you to register your vehicle in Utah within 60 days if you:
A full and complete stop is required at all stop signs.
Children ages 8 and younger, unless over 57 inches tall, must be properly restrained in an approved child safety seat. Youths ages 8 through 18 must be restrained in a car seat or seat belt. For a person age 19 or older, not wearing a safety belt is a primary offense. This law applies to all seating positions that are equipped with seat belts.
Helmet use is mandatory for motorcyclists and motorcycle passengers under the age of 18.
The state uses a points system to keep track of moving violations. Some examples of point citations are:
The state offers only two types of driver records. The first is for regular drivers, and the second is for commercial drivers. Both versions can be purchased in either certified or non-certified versions.
The regular record contains all records of conviction for moving violations and suspensions within the past three (3) years AND all alcohol/drug‐related violations, suspensions, and revocations within the past ten (10) years.
The commercial driver record contains ALLrecords of conviction for moving violations, including pleas in abeyance, suspensions, revocations, disqualifications, licenses, and out‐of‐state accidents. (Driver must hold a current CDL license to obtain a CDL‐MVR.)
In Utah, criminal driving offenses are serious crimes with harsh penalties such as the loss of a driver's license, jail or prison sentence, and huge fines. Some judges order offenders to take a defensive driving course. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state include:
Civil driving offenses are far less serious, usually resulting in only a warning or a traffic ticket (fine). Some examples of these infractions are:
The state keeps track of all driving data and uses it to improve roadways safety. Some interesting statistics from the Utah Department of Health include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Anyone with your written authorization (notarized) can get a copy of your driving record. However, they must comply with all DPPA laws when purchasing the information.
Yes. The state strongly encourages using the online system over getting records through the mail or in person. Certified copies take longer to get.
When requesting a copy for yourself, you need your name, date of birth, and driver's license number. When ordering for another person, you must also have their notarized signature and consent.
Yes, the state uses a strict points system for violations. Two of the stipulations of this law are:
"A driver under 21 years of age, who accumulates 70 or more points in three (3) years, may be suspended or denied for one (1) month to a year, depending upon the severity of the record."
"A driver 21 years of age or older, who accumulates 200 or more points in three (3) years, may be suspended for three (3) months to a year, depending upon the severity of the record."
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.