By uploading a photograph and selecting to conduct a face search, you understand that the photograph you uploaded will be collected and stored by InfoTracer and/or it’s processor(s) for the purpose of determining the identity within the photograph and to compare with facial images available from public sources and other resources. The photograph will not be disclosed by InfoTracer without your consent unless the disclosure if required by law or by a valid legal subpoena. The photograph will be permanently deleted from InfoTracer’s systems within a reasonable time after your search, not to exceed three years from the date of your search. A copy of InfoTracer’s Biometric Information and Security Policy for the use of photographs is included in our Privacy Notice.
InfoTracer.com is not a "consumer reporting agency" and does not supply "consumer reports" as those terms are defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA"). By clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and acknowledge and agree not to use any information gathered through InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including, but not limited to, evaluating eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or tenancy.
You acknowledge that you have the legal authority to provide this photograph for the above defined purpose and that your search does not violate our Terms of Service and Privacy Notice, or any applicable laws. Further, you consent to InfoTracer’s collection, use, and storage of the photograph for the above defined purpose.
InfoTracer.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), and does not assemble or evaluate information for the purpose of supplying consumer reports.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and agree not to use information provided by InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including to make determinations regarding an individual's eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or for tenant screening.
You understand that license plate and VIN searches are only available for a purpose authorized by the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA). The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes.
This website contains information collected from public and private resources. InfoTracer.com cannot confirm that information provided below is accurate or complete. Please use information provided by InfoTracer.com responsibly.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree," Infotracer.com will conduct only a preliminary people search of the information you provide and that a search of any records will only be conducted and made available after you register for an account or purchase a report.
The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (DOT) is the government agency responsible for driver records. This agency acts as a Pennsylvania DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) in other states. They issue records upon request for employers, government agencies, and individuals.
The state offers five types of driving records. The basic information report does not include the driver's history. The state also offers a 3-year and 10-year report which does offer driving history. A full history is also available, along with a certified copy which must be obtained in person or by mail. Car insurance companies may use these reports to set insurance rates or decide whether or not to insure commercial drivers.
These records do contain personal driver information, and therefore, requestors must comply with all Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. Some of the personal information may include the driver's name, full address, social security number, date of birth, physical description, and if they hold a CDL, medical information. The other data includes accident history, license status, license points, traffic violations, driving convictions, license suspensions, revocations, and cancellations.
The Penn DOT has an online services portal where individuals can get a copy of their own report. However, anyone needing a copy for someone else must get it either in person or through the mail.
The state has a downloadable form that can be filled out and sent in with payment (in the form of check or money order) to:
Bureau of Driver Licensing Driver Record Services
P.O. Box 68695
Harrisburg, PA 17106-8695
The state offers five main records to choose from. Each one carries with it a separate fee. The list of fees is as follows:
When obtaining records in person, the requestor may pay in cash, check, or money order. When paying online, they can use a credit card or debit card.
A resident must be 16 years or older to apply for their learner's permit. Then, after taking driver's education and taking a road and written test, they can earn their full driving license.
Some driving laws in the state from the DOT include:
"School zone signals are flashing yellow signals placed on the school zone speed limit signs. You must travel no faster than 15 mph when the yellow signals are flashing or during the time periods indicated on the sign. Exceeding the speed limit in a school zone will result in three (3) points on your driving record, and you will also be fined."
"A FOUR-WAY STOPsign means there are four stop signs at this intersection. Traffic from all four directions must stop. The first vehicle to reach the intersection should move forward first. If two vehicles reach the intersection at the same time, the driver on the left yields to the driver on the right. If facing one another, both can proceed with caution, watching for possible turns. "
"Turn on your headlights when traveling through a work zone, no matter what time of day. This is the law for allposted work zones, not just for active ones. Using your headlights makes your vehicle more visible to other traffic as well as to highway workers. If you are pulled over by police for a traffic violation in a work zone and your vehicle's headlights are not turned on, you will be fined an additional $25."
The state uses a point system for driving violations, and if someone earns 6, they are given a warning and must take a written test. After that, if they reach 6 more, they will lose their license and suffer further punishments.
Some examples of point violations are:
The state offers five main types of driving records, each for a fee. Each is listed below with the specifics of what it contains.
According to the Pennsylvania DOT, this record contains only the driver's name, address, driver number, date of birth, and class of license.
The 3-year record contains the driver's name, address, driver number, date of birth, class, license status, as well as Departmental actions and violations for the past 3 years from the date request is processed.
The 10-year record contains the driver's name, address, driver number, date of birth, class, license status, and Departmental actions and violations for the past 10 years from the date request is processed. A 10-year record is for employment purposes only. This report is for employment purposes only.
The full driving history includes the driver's name, address, driver number, date of birth, class, license status, Departmental actions, and violations for the completehistory of the driver on file in Pennsylvania.
The certified record includes the driver's name, address, driver number, date of birth, class, license status, as well as Departmental actions and violations for complete history of the driver on file in Pennsylvania certified by the Department.
Criminal driving offenses in the state are quite serious and may include a license suspension, steep fines, some time in jail or prison, and a safety exam. Some examples of serious criminal driving offenses include:
Civil driving offenses are much less severe and usually end up with only a warning or a small fine. Some examples of civil driving offenses include:
Some interesting driver statistics from the Pennsylvania DOT are:
The top ten reasons for crashes within the state are:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Only people with a valid, legal reason and your consent can get a copy of your driving record. Those who do must have your name, social security number, driver's license number and license plate. An example might be insurance companies.
Yes. However, only individuals can get a copy of their 3-year and 10-year reports online. Any other reports must be obtained in person or through the mail.
According to the Penn DOT, you will need your name, date of birth, driver's license number, and the last four digits of your social security number to get a copy of your record.
Yes. The state keeps track of all driving violations, and after a driver earns 6 points, they will get a warning letter and must take a written driving safety exam. If they earn another 6 points, they will have to attend a hearing, lose their license for 15 days, and take another exam. Any additional points may result in a loss of license for 30 days or more.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.