Search Oregon Public Driving Records

Start your FREE Scan

Oregon Public Driving Records

The Oregon Department of Transportation Driver and Motor Vehicle (DMV) Services Division is the government agency responsible for driving records and other reports. They supply them to individuals and organizations as long as they comply with Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws and ORS 802.175 - 802.191.

The state offers six main types of driver records to choose from. One is a three-year (certified) report not to be used for employment. Another is a CDL report. They also offer a complete driving history report for employment and a three-year employment record. Requestors can also order a court printed copy of all driving offenses processed through the legal system.

These reports do contain personally identifiable information (PII) such as name, address, social security number, Oregon driver's license number, license expiration date, telephone number, and a physical description. CDL records also contain medical history. Depending on the report ordered, they may show traffic accidents, driving convictions, major traffic offenses, traffic violations, driver license status, alcohol rehab entries, license suspensions, cancellations, and revocations.

How to Request a Copy of Your OR Driving History

The state offers a few different ways to get copies of someone's driving history report. However, all requestors must comply with strict DPPA laws when requesting record information.

They allow people to order them through the mail, online, through the DMV office headquarters, or in person at a driver and motor vehicle field office. A requestor can have the DMV fax or mail the information to an address that is not the subject's if they wish, but it must be noted on the form. Requestors must use Form 735-6691 when ordering copies.

When ordering, the requestor must have the person's name, date of birth, license plate number, driver's license number, and VIN, plus contact details.

Insurers may use these records when making decisions about vehicle owners.

Motor Vehicle Records Cost

The state offers various types of reports going back 3-5 years or a complete report with all dates. Each report has different information on it and a unique associated fee. The fees are as follows:

  • 3-Year Non-Employment Driving Record (Certified) - $1.50
  • Open-Ended Non-Employment Driving Record (Certified) - $1.50
  • 3-Year Employment Driving Record (Certified) - $2
  • Certified Court Print - $3
  • Certified Court Print with CDL Medical Certification - $3
  • Suspension Package (all copies of court docs) - $11.50

When ordering online, the requestor can pay with a credit card or debit card.

When ordering through the mail or in person, the requestor must pay with either a check or money order. When paying by check or money order, it must be made out to the Oregon DMV.

Driving Laws in the State

The state takes driving safety seriously, and they keep track of all driver offenses. Some examples of driving laws in the state from their driving manual include:

"You must obey all official signs, signals, and markings unless you see a police officer or road worker redirecting traffic."

Stop Sign - This sign means you must come to a complete stop. Yield to other vehicles and stop and stay stopped for pedestrians crossing in marked or unmarked crosswalks. When it is safe, you may enter the intersection.

Yield Sign - This sign means you should reduce speed and yield right of way. If needed, stop the same as you would for a stop sign.

Do Not Enter Sign - This sign warns you not to enter a road or freeway. You will see this sign if you are going the wrong way.

Red Light Laws - You are allowed to make the following turns on red after coming to a complete stop unless a sign or police officer states otherwise.

  • When entering a two-way road, you may turn right
  • When entering a one-way road, you may turn right or left in the direction of the one-way road

Green Light Law - A green signal means all movements—straight ahead, left or right turns—are permitted, unless prohibited by a sign. Left turns must first yield to pedestrians and oncoming traffic. Right turns must first yield to pedestrians.

Some other laws include:

  • Drive on the right side of the road except when:
    • Passing another vehicle going in the same direction as you.
    • Driving to the left of center to pass an obstruction.
    • A road is marked for one-way traffic.
    • A road has three marked lanes, and the center lane is a passing lane.
    • Directed by emergency personnel or other persons directing traffic.
  • When a road has no center line and traffic moves in opposite directions, drivers must give at least half the road to oncoming traffic.
  • If you must drive to the left of the center line to go around a road hazard or for any other reason, you must yield to oncoming traffic.
  • There will be times when you need to yield so another vehicle can proceed.
  • Yielding means you must slow down or stop to allow another vehicle or pedestrian to continue safely.
  • Stop before you enter or cross a road from an alley, driveway, or parking lot not controlled by signs or signals. Yield to approaching vehicles and pedestrians.
  • Change lanes only when you can do so safely. Avoid frequent lane changes.

Speed Limits

In addition to the basic rule, Oregon has maximum speed limits. A speed limit is the maximum speed considered safe for the area under ideal driving conditions.

The following speed limits are set in law for the specified areas, whether posted or not. They apply unless a different speed is posted or an established city ordinance specifies otherwise.

15 MILES PER HOUR

  • When driving in alleys
  • Narrow residential areas

20 MILES PER HOUR

  • In any business district
  • Within a school speed zone

25 MILES PER HOUR

  • In residential districts
  • In public parks
  • On ocean shores, if vehicles are permitted

55 MILES PER HOUR

On all roads and highways, not meeting any other definition unless otherwise posted.

INTERSTATE SPEED LIMITS

Speed limits will vary on interstate highways.

The state does not use a point system for violations, but they do keep track of moving violations, and if the driver accumulates five convictions in 2 years, the driver will lose their license.

Different Types of Driving Reports in the State

The state has various records with specific information on them. Some may be used for background checks by employers, others by insurance companies to set insurance rates and determine whether or not to insure motorists. The six most common records are:

3-Year Non-Employment Record

This report will go back only three years, and according to the Oregon DMV show:

  • Oregon accidents
  • Diversion agreements
  • Convictions not in the employment driving record

Open-Ended Non-Employment Record

This report will show everything on the three-year record, but it will go back as far as when the driver first got their license.

3-Year Employment Driving Record

This certified record includes personal and commercial records and, according to the state, will show:

  • Convictions
  • Accidents
  • CDL entries

Certified Court Print

This record comes from court records and will show:

  • For Ten Years:
    • Convictions for major traffic offenses
    • Commercial driver license entries
    • Diversion agreements
    • Alcohol rehab entries

           

  • For Five Years:
    • Convictions for minor offenses
    • Accidents
    • Suspensions
    • Cancellations
    • Revocations

Certified Court Print with CDL Medical Certification

This has the same information as a certified court print but also has CDL medical qualifications.

Suspension Package

The package includes certified copies of suspension documents on a court proceeding, including a certified court print.

Criminal Driving Offenses

Criminal driving offenses in the state are very serious, and the driver will face harsh penalties like jail time, steep fines, the suspension of their license, and sometimes even court-ordered programs. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:

  • Reckless driving is a serious crime and may be deemed a Class A misdemeanor which could result in a year in jail, a $6,250 fine, and a period of supervised probation
  • Hit and run
  • Vehicular manslaughter
  • DWI/DUI
  • Evading an officer
  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Racing
  • Excessive speeding

Civil Driving Offenses

Civil driving offenses are far less serious and usually result in just a warning or fine. Some examples of these types of offenses in the state are:

  • Parking in a no-parking zone
  • Illegal U-turn
  • Running a red light
  • Driving through a stop sign without stopping
  • Driving without insurance
  • Unregistered vehicle
  • Expired plates
  • Broke taillight

State Department of Motor Vehicles Driving Records Statistics

The state government keeps track of all driver-related information to formulate statistics and improve roadway and highway safety through programs and changes. Some interesting driving statistics in the state from the Oregon government include:

Today in the state, there are:

  • About 4.1 million registered vehicles. Of those, about 3.2 million are passenger vehicles
  • Nearly 3.1 million licensed drivers

DMV provides direct services to customers by:

  • Serving over 13,000 customers every day through 60 local offices around the state
  • Answering about 1.7 million customer phone calls per year
  • Responding to more than 3 million record requests per year from businesses and the general public
  • Fulfilling more than 60 million record requests by law enforcement per year

Some driver-related facts from the state include:

Each year, the Driver and Motor Vehicle Department:

  • Monitors the driving privileges of about 3.1 million drivers
  • Issues nearly 200,000 new drivers' licenses and renews more than 350,000
  • Files nearly 100,000 accident reports
  • Verifies vehicle insurance information by random sampling vehicle owners
  • Reviews driver medical conditions and oversees re-testing on more than 4,000 drivers in our Medically At-Risk Driver Program
  • Suspends driving privileges nearly 450,000 times (some drivers receive multiple suspensions)
  • Enters more than 400,000 driver convictions to driving records
  • Conducts more than 300,000 knowledge and 70,000 skills tests

Each year the Driver and Motor Vehicle Department:

  • Registers about 1.8 million vehicles
  • Issues about 850,000 titles
  • Issues nearly 400,000 plates for vehicles. There are nearly 50 different types of vehicle plate designs, in addition to specialty or custom license plates
  • Regulates more than 3,000 motor vehicle-related businesses, including vehicle dealers, commercial driver training schools, commercial and non-commercial driver testing businesses, vehicle appraisers, vehicle dismantlers, and others
  • Sanctions offenders and conducts formal administrative hearings

Driver License Record Search Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.

Who Can Get a Copy of Your Driving Record?

Only you can get a copy of your own driving record unless someone else has your permission. The record they request will be mailed to your address unless you specify otherwise.

Can I Use the Online Systems to Get Records?

Yes. The state allows individuals to use the online record services system to order your own record. However, anyone entering a record inquiry for someone else must get it in person, by mail, or fax.

What Information Do I Need to Get a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)?

When ordering a copy of someone's motor vehicle history, you will need some driver license information such as their name, address, driver's license number, VIN, plate number, and social security number.

Does the State Use a Points System?

No. The state does not use a point system like other states. However, they keep a close eye on criminal offenses, and if you earn five convictions in two years, you will lose your license.

Helpful State Driving Record Links

Below are some helpful state driving record links.

Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.