The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) is the government agency in charge of driving records. This agency issues them upon request in accordance with Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. Individuals and companies can request a driver history for someone as long as they have the subject's consent. The BMV acts like an Ohio DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) in other states.
The state offers two different versions to choose from. The first is a certified 3-year report that shows the current issue date of the Ohio driver's license, the license status, accident history, driving offenses, moving violations, traffic violations, and any revocations and suspensions. Along with the driver's record, these reports also show personal information such as the driver's name, address, social security number, date of birth, and physical description. CDL records may contain medical information as well. The second type is an unofficial 2-year record showing the same data but for a shorter period. The state also has another kind of report that shows driver license history (all licenses, types, and issue dates).
Ohio allows individuals and companies to get copies using its online portal. They also allow someone to pick these records up in person at any deputy registrar licensing agency, and they could also get them through the mail. Insurance companies may use these reports to set insurance rates and make decisions about insuring motorists.
The state has two main types of driving history records and allows people to request them by using the online portal, mail, or in person.
They have an online portal where requestors can get a copy of the 2-year unofficial report or the 3-year certified copy. After filling out the required information and paying the fee, they can then print a copy instantly.
A user can also print out the driving records request form (BMV 1173) and mail it in with payment to receive a report.
Another way to get records is to visit any deputy registrar licensing agency and get them in person.
The cost for a BVM records in the state of Ohio is $5. Payment can be made by credit or debit card if ordered online and by check or money order if paid in person. By mail, the state allows requestors to pay by check or money order.
Teens age 15 and a half can visit a driver exam station to take the driving and vision tests to get their probationary driver's license. At that time, the driver must show proof of:
Before getting their probationary license, the driver must also complete driver education and log 50 hours of supervised driving with a parent or guardian. Ten of those hours must be at night. The license must be held for at least six months before applying for a full, unrestricted license.
The Ohio BMV has put together a driving manual to help new drivers learn the rules of the road. A sampling of laws from that manual include:
Drive on the right half of the roadway except:
When a road has been divided into four or more marked lanes, or where traffic within municipalities is lawfully moving in two or more continuous lines in the same direction, the following rules apply:
Upon the approach of an emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights and an audible signal, the driver must immediately drive to a position parallel to the right edge or curb of the road or highway and stop. Driver must be careful not to block intersections. All vehicles must remain in this position until the emergency vehicle has passed or when directed otherwise by a law enforcement officer.
In Ohio, it is legal to turn right after stopping at a red traffic signal, but only when:
A driver must stop:
A driver must yield the right of way:
The state has various types of driving and motor vehicle records, but the three main ones are a three-year, two-year, and complete driving history. They also offer employers CDL reports for CDL drivers and driver license history report.
The three-year driving record abstract report will show the driver's most recent license issuance along with all moving violation convictions, accident involvement reports, and other actions that result in license suspensions, revocations, or other disqualifications.
This record is not to be used for official purposes but includes all moving violation convictions, accident involvement reports, and other actions that result in license suspensions, revocations, or other disqualifications for the last two years.
This record is a complete record going back to the first license the driver received and covers all moving violation convictions, accident involvement reports, and other actions that result in license suspensions, revocations, or other disqualifications which are maintained in the Ohio BMV database.
Criminal driving offenses are serious issues that usually net the offender some time in jail or prison, the loss of their driver's license, along with steep fines and other court-ordered punishment. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
Commercial drivers may face harsher penalties including having to take a defensive driving course.
Civil driving offenses usually result in just a warning or a fine. Some examples of civil driving offenses include:
The state of Ohio takes driver safety very seriously and therefore tracks all data so they can implement new safety programs and rules.
Some statistics for 2019 from the Ohio State Highway Patrol include:
The top reasons for accidents were:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Only people who can prove a legal reason and comply with DPPA laws may have a copy of your Ohio driving report. You can always get a copy of your own driving record.
Yes. The web portal was designed to allow Ohio drivers to view their driving record online at any time.
When requesting a driving record, you will need your name, date of birth, driver's license number, social security number, license plate number, and VIN, or this information for the subject of the report, if you are not ordering your own.
Yes. The state of Ohio uses a point system to keep track of minor driving violations and more serious ones. If you accumulate 12 points in two years, you may lose your license.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.