North Dakota Public Driving Records
The North Dakota Department of Transportation (ND DOT) is the government agency in charge of all driver record services. It acts like a North Dakota DMV. They provide copies of licenses, registrations, and driving history reports. They also govern the issuance of CDL licenses and all accompanying documentation.
The state offers individuals and companies a couple of different ways to get reports, either online or through the mail using the downloadable form. They provide a limited driver record abstract through the online system and a complete record through the mail. When ordering a copy for someone other than themselves, the requestor must have written consent from the subject and comply with all Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws.
These records contain personally identifiable information (PII) such as full name, address, date of birth, social security number, driver's license number, a physical description, and if CDL also medical information. The reports will also contain accident history, traffic violations, moving violations, both civil and criminal driving offenses, driver's license status, revocations, suspensions, and driving points.
How to Request a State Driving History Report
The North Dakota DOT allows requestors to obtain copies of records using the online portal set up expressly for this purpose. The system only returns limited driver abstracts, though not a complete record. When using the system, the requestor will need the driver's name, date of birth, and driver ID, and after paying the fee with a credit or debit card, they can print the page. Once the application is closed, the user cannot reprint.
Requestors can also use the form (SFN 51386) to order a complete driving history through the mail. Along with the completed application, the user must mail payment to Driver License Division, 608 E. Blvd Ave, Bismarck ND 58505-0750.
Motor Vehicle Records Cost
The cost for driving records in North Dakota is $3 each. Users of the online system can only order a limited number, but they can purchase as many as they like through the mail.
Driving Laws in the State
A person must be 15 years old to apply for a restricted driving license. When they turn 16, they can apply for their regular driver's license without any restrictions. Anyone under the age of 18 must have parental or guardian consent when applying.
Some driver license requirements according to the ND DOT are:
- A ND Drivers License Site must be visited to obtain a North Dakota operator's license
- An appointment is needed for all services.
- Address changes should be reported to the Drivers License Division
- Commercial license holders must obtain a duplicate license if there is a change of address
- You may renew your driver's license 10 months prior to its expiration date without losing any of the time remaining on your current license
- You must retest if your license is expired more than one year
- * Any person other than a nonresident student, a tourist, or a nonresident member of the Armed Forces
- who has lived in this state 90 consecutive days shall be deemed a resident of North Dakota for the purpose of driver licensing
- You may use your non-commercial license from another state for a period of 60 days after you become a resident of North Dakota
- You may use your commercial license from another state for a period of 30 days after you become a resident of North Dakota
- Proof of North Dakota resident address may be required
- A North Dakota licensed driver who is a member of the Armed Forces and stationed out of state,
- may continue to use their non-commercial North Dakota driver license until 30 days after separation without renewing,
- provided the license is accompanied by military identification and has not been suspended, revoked, or canceled
- It is advised that you contact our office every four years to ensure your record remains on file with us. This extension does not apply to North Dakota military dependents
- Upon return to state, the North Dakota license, Military ID Card, and proof of duty station must be presented to obtain a new license
- Acceptable forms of proof of duty station are discharge orders (presented within 30 days of separation), leave papers, leave and earnings statement, PCS orders, or a letter from the duty station
The state does use a demerit points system for keeping track of all moving and criminal driving violations. Some examples of point offense are:
- 11 - 15 mph over limit - 1
- 16 - 20 mph over limit - 3
- 21 - 25 mph over limit - 5
- 26 - 35 mph over limit - 9
- 36 - 45 mph over limit - 12
- 46 mph plus over limit - 15
- Operator/Responsible party failing to provide child restraint device. - 1
- Failing to display license plates - 1
- Unlawful parking in specified prohibited places - 1
- Leaving motor vehicle improperly unattended on an open highway - 1
- Opening or leaving motor vehicle doors open when unsafe to do so - 1
- Failing to dim headlamps - 1
- Violating hazardous material regulations - 2
- Knowingly operating an unsafe vehicle - 2
- Permitting unauthorized minor or person to drive - 2
- Unlawful stopping, standing, or parking on an open highway - 2
- Causing accident w/emergency vehicle - 2
- Knowingly driving with defective, non-existent, or unlawful equipment - 2
- Knowingly driving with defective brakes - 2
- Disregarding lawful command of police officer - 2
- Overtaking where prohibited or unlawful - 2
- Driving on wrong side of road - 2
- Failing to yield right-of-way - 2
- Failing to use care required - 2
- Disobeying traffic control signals - 2
- Failing to yield-right-of-way to funeral procession - 2
- Knowingly driving illegally modified vehicle - 2
- Open container (Driver) - 2
- Exhibition driving - 3
- Violating corrective lens restriction - 3
- Failing to stop at RR crossing - 3
- Violating or exceeding restriction contained in a restricted certificate or license or Instructional Permit - 4
- Clinging to other vehicle while riding a motorcycle - 4
- Operating a motor vehicle without a license - 4
- Overtaking a school bus - 6
- Failing to give immediate notice of accident - 6
- Careless driving (Basic Rule) - 6
- No liability insurance - 6, 12, or 14
- Reckless driving - 8
- Racing in a motor vehicle - 10
- Aggravated reckless driving - 12
- Leaving the scene of accident involving property damage - 14
- Leaving the scene of accident involving injury or death - 18
- Fleeing from law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle - 24
If the driver earns too many points in a small amount of time, they may lose their driver's license.
Different Types of Driving Reports in the State
The state offers residents two types of reports. The only available online is a limited abstract, and the other is a complete driving history.
Limited Driver Abstract (available online)
The limited driver abstract is used most often by individuals and employers doing background checks. It contains driver information like name, address, date of birth, social security number, driver's license number, driver license status and class, accident history, driving violations, and other information. Car insurance companies may use these reports to set insurance rates or decide whether or not to insure a motorist.
Complete Driving History (available through the mail only)
The complete driving history report is only available through the mail. It will have everything on it that the limited abstract will, but it will be a complete report going back to the first license the driver ever held. It may also include CDL and medical information.
Criminal Driving Offenses
North Dakota takes a hard line against criminal driving offenses and rewards them with harsh penalties such as huge fines, jail or prison time, the loss of a driver's license, license points, and sometimes other court-ordered punishments like mandatory completion of a defensive driving course. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
- DUI/DWI/OUI - a first offense will result in 2 days in jail, a 91-day license suspension, and a $500 fine. A second offense will be 10 days in jail, a $1,500 fine, a one-year suspension of a driver's license, along with a year of court-ordered rehab or participation in a 24/7 substance abuse program. Any further offenses will result in even harsher penalties
- Reckless driving - 30 days in jail and $1,500 fine
- Evading an officer
- Fleeing the scene of an accident
- Overtaking a school bus
- Driving without a license or one that has been suspended
- Driving without insurance
- Careless driving
- Failure to notify police of an accident
- Excessive speeding
Insurance providers may review criminal driving offenses before deciding to insure drivers. Commercial drivers may face even harsher penalties.
Civil Driving Offenses
Civil driving offenses are far less serious, often resulting in a warning or a small fine. Some examples of civil driving offenses in the state are:
- Parking in a no-parking zone
- Running a red light
- Failure to yield or stop at a stop sign
- Not wearing a seat belt
- Driving without a license plate
- Unregistered vehicle
- Not dimming headlights
State Department of Motor Vehicles Driving Records Statistics
The state takes roadway safety very seriously and logs each incident to better plan programs and implement safety measures to keep residents safe. Some interesting crash statistics for North Dakota are:
- In North Dakota in 2019, preventable human behavior, including not wearing a seat belt, alcohol and speed and / or aggressive driving contributed significantly to motor vehicle fatalities
- Of the 100 fatalities in 2019, about 46% were not wearing their seat belt (excludes those where seat belts do not apply including pedestrians, bicycles, motorcycles, and off-highway vehicles), 42% were alcohol-related (includes both toxicology confirmed and officer suspected alcohol involvement), and 24% involved speed and/or aggressive driving
- There are more than 14,000 vehicle crashes in North Dakota each year, resulting in fatalities, injuries, and property damage
- The highest number of fatalities over this 10-year period occurred in 2012 (170), followed by a steady decrease in fatalities through 2016. In 2017, there was a 2.7% increase in fatalities; however, from 2018 to 2019, fatalities decreased by 4.8%
- However, with the exception of 2019, 2018, and 2016, North Dakota's fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles traveled (VMT) is consistently higher than the national rate. VMT is a measure of crash exposure – the more vehicle miles driven, the greater the exposure to the risk of a crash
Driver License Record Search Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Who Can Get a Copy of Your North Dakota Driver Record?
Anyone who can show a valid, legal reason and who has your signed consent can get a copy of your driving history. North Dakota follows all federal and state DPPA rules.
Can I Use the Online Systems to Make a Driver History Request?
Yes. The online system will allow you to get a copy of your own "limited abstract" report or someone else to get a copy of yours (as long as they have your consent and information). You can use the mail to get a complete driving history report.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)?
When ordering a copy of your own or someone else's report, you will need the following information:
- Subject's name
- Subject's address
- Driver's license number
- Date of birth
You must also pay the $3 fee with a check or money order.
Does the State Use a Points System?
Yes. The state uses an aggressive point system, and the more severe the violation, the more points you will earn. If you accumulate too many in 12 months or commit a serious offense, you may lose your license for a few months, a year, or longer.
Helpful State Driving Record Links
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.