North Carolina Public Driving Records
The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NC DMV) is the government agency in charge of driver records. They supply them to individuals and companies who request the information.
The North Carolina DMV requires compliance with all Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. Therefore, anyone requesting a record for someone other than themself, must have a valid reason for doing so and consent from the subject of the report.
Official driving records contain personally identifiable information (PII) such as the driver's name, social security number, address, date of birth, driver's license number, a physical description, and if they hold a CDL (commercial driver's license) medical information. Some other information contained in the reports will be accident history, criminal driving offenses, traffic violations, parking tickets, license status, license class, endorsements, restrictions, suspensions, and revocations.
How to Request a State Driving History Report
The state has a few different ways to get a copy of someone's driving report. People can use the online portal to get a copy as long as they have the following information on the license holder:
- First and last name
- Date of birth
- North Carolina driver's license or ID card number with expiration date
- Social Security number, Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, or U.S. Visa number
Requestors in need of certified records must order them through the mail; they cannot get them using the online services. When ordering through the mail, it could take up to 10 days for processing. The requestor must pay by either check or money order made payable to NCDMV.
Individuals and companies can also get copies by visiting the DMV headquarters located at:
4121 New Bern Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27616
When ordering copies for someone else, the requestor must have the subject sign a Release Consent form.
Motor Vehicle Records Cost
The NC DMV has a few different options when ordering copies of a driver history report. The first is simply an address history which costs $14.
An official certified copy used by government agencies and for background checks costs $15. It must be ordered by mail and may take up to 14 business days. If the requestor visits in person, they can get one instantly.
A complete extra copy is for individuals for personal use, and that costs $10.75. Again, users can request these online using the system.
Employers and insurance companies use a limited extract copy to set insurance rates and decide whether or not to insure a motorist. These cost $10.75 and cannot be purchased online; the requestor must visit in person or order through the mail.
Driving Laws in the State
A young person 15 years or older can apply for their NC limited learner's permit to begin driving. They must pass driver education and a written test first. After that, they can drive with the following restrictions:
- Have the permit in his or her possession
- Have no other person in the front seat
- For the first six months, drive only between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.— (after the first six months, may drive anytime with supervision)
- Have all persons in a vehicle use seatbelts or child safety restraints
- Have a supervising driver in the front seat (parent, guardian or person who signs an application for permit)
Between the ages of 16-18, a resident can apply for a limited
Provisional license with the following restrictions:
- Must have the license in the driver's possession
- May drive without a supervising driver when driving to and from work
- May drive without a supervising driver when driving to and from an activity of a volunteer fire department, rescue squad, or emergency medical services, if the driver is a member
- May drive without a supervising driver for any other purpose from 5:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. only
- Must drive at any other time with a supervising driver where the supervising driver is seated beside the license holder but need not be the only other front seat passenger
- Must have all persons in-vehicle use seatbelts or child safety restraints
After driving with a provisional license for six months, the driver can apply for their full provisional license.
The North Carolina Department of Transportation has a list of driving laws that all motorists must abide by to drive legally on the state road and highways. They include:
- Parking on highways - Parking on highways is prohibited
- Headlights - Motorists must use headlights from sunset to sunrise; when light conditions restrict visibility to 400 feet or less; or when using windshield wipers during inclement weather
- Right turns on red - Right turns at a red light are permitted after a complete stop unless otherwise posted. Left turns on red are not permitted
- Traffic accidents - Crashes involving death, personal injury, or property damage of $1,000 or more must be reported to the nearest law enforcement officer or agency. Failure to report could result in prosecution and/or driver license suspension
- Fender Bender Law - Motorists must move their vehicle to the shoulder of the road following minor, non-injury wrecks to help keep traffic moving and reduce the likelihood of secondary wrecks. Failure to do so could result in a $110 fine and court costs
- Move Over Law - Motorists must move over one lane, or slow down if shifting lanes isn't possible when passing law enforcement and emergency vehicles with flashing lights, as well as wreckers and incident management assistance patrol vehicles that are stopped on a highway shoulder. Failure to do so could result in a $250 fine
- Quick Clearance Law - If a law enforcement officer and an NCDOT representative concur, a parked, standing, or disabled vehicle can be moved off the roadway by any means necessary if it poses a safety concern
- Littering - Disposing of litter on public or private property, except by an individual who owns the property, is illegal. Violators could face a fine of up to $200 and community service. Related: Litter Prevention & Management, Swat-a-Litterbug
- Cellphone use - Drivers under 18 are prohibited from using a mobile phone or technology associated with a mobile phone while driving except in emergencies or when talking to a parent or spouse. Violators pay a $25 fine but receive no driver license points, insurance surcharge, or court costs
- Texting - Drivers are prohibited from reading or writing text messages or emails while the vehicle is moving. Violators are subject to a $100 fine and court costs
- Helmet law - Helmets meeting federal standards are required when riding a motorcycle or moped. Children under 16 must wear a helmet while riding a bicycle
- Related: Motorcycle Helmet Requirements
- Seat belts and safety seats - All occupants of a vehicle must wear a seat belt. Front-seat passengers who violate the law are fined $25. Back-seat passengers are fined $10
- Children under age 8 who weigh less than 80 pounds must be secured in a safety seat while riding in a vehicle. Older children must transition to booster seats before graduating to an adult safety belt
- Drivers who fail to secure children properly face $125 in fines and court costs, as well as a two-point penalty on their driving record
- Related: BuckleUpNC.org, Child Passenger Safety, SafeCar.gov
- Driving while impaired - Drivers with a blood alcohol concentration at or greater than 0.08 percent are charged with driving while impaired. The minimum punishment is a fine of up to $200 and a possible term of imprisonment ranging from 24 hours to 30 days. The maximum punishment is a fine of up to $4,000 and a possible term of imprisonment ranging from 30 days to two years
- License suspension - Drivers convicted of driving while impaired will have their licenses suspended by the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles for at least one year. Individuals with a prior DWI conviction may be subject to punishment as a felon, and their vehicles may be seized and sold
- Related: DWI License Suspensions & Revocations
Different Types of Driving Reports in the State
The state offers four different types of driver reports. Each has a specific purpose, and requesters can only order some of them in person or through the mail. The four reports are address history, certified true copy, complete extract copy, and a limited extract copy.
This report is a complete list of all home addresses on file for the driver direct from the NCDMV.
Certified True Copy
The courts and government agencies use the certified driving record for all official purposes. This report can be ordered in person or through the mail but will take 14 days by mail.
Complete Extract Copy
The complete extract copy is used for personal purposes by the driver and may also be used by employers and insurance companies. Requestors can get a copy of this type online, through the mail, and in person.
Limited Extract Copy
The limited extract copy is a three-year history used for personal use by the individual and may also be used by employers and insurance companies. These cannot be purchased online.
Criminal Driving Offenses
Criminal driving offenses in the state are serious crimes punishable by the loss of a driver's license, hefty fines, jail time, and sometimes other court-ordered programs. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
Reckless driving is one of the most serious offenses and may include:
- Speeding at 25 mph or more over the posted speed limit
- Swerving in and out of lanes
- Failing to stop at a stop sign
- Running a red light
- Illegal passing
The penalty for reckless driving includes a $1,000 fine and 60 days in jail.
Others serious driving crimes include:
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Evading an officer
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Driving without a license
These types of offenses may result in a driver's license cancellation.
Civil Driving Offenses
Civil driving offenses are much less severe and result in a warning or a fine (ticket), which must be paid. Some examples of civil driving offenses include:
- Parking in a no-parking zone
- Running a red light or stop sign
- Failure to yield
- Driving without a valid registration
- Expired safety inspection
State Department of Motor Vehicles Driving Records Statistics
The state of North Carolina takes highway safety very seriously. Therefore, they keep track of all statistics to help create safety programs to improve safety and save lives.
Some interesting facts for 2019 from the NC DOT include:
- 1,470 persons killed, a 1.9% increase from 2018
- 125,232 persons injured, a 0.2% decrease from 2018
- 285,074 traffic crashes reported, a 1.2% increase from 2018
- Out-of-state drivers were involved in 6.8% of all reported crashes
- Out-of-state drivers accounted for 6.6% of all drivers killed
- 72.7% of all crashes occurred between 7:00 a.m. and 6:59 p.m
- 14.02 persons were killed for every 100,000 people
- 25.6% of all fatalities were related to speeding
Driver License Record Search Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Who Can Get a Copy of Your Driving Record?
The state takes DPPA laws very seriously. Therefore, anyone wishing to get a copy of someone else's must comply by showing a valid, legal reason for needing the information and providing a signed consent form from the subject.
Can I Use the Online Systems to Make a Driver History Request?
Yes. Most of the reports available can be obtained online for individuals. Some may need to be procured through the mail or in person at the DMV.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)?
When requesting a copy, you will need your:
- First and last name
- Date of birth
- North Carolina driver's license or ID card number
- Social Security number, Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, or U.S. Visa number
Does the State Use a Points System?
Yes. According to the state DMV:
- An individual's license may be suspended if they accumulate as many as 12 points within a three-year period
- Eight points within three years following the reinstatement of a license can result in an additional suspension
- When a driving privilege is reinstated, all previous points on an individual's record are canceled
Helpful State Driving Record Links
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.