InfoTracer.com is not a "consumer reporting agency" and does not supply "consumer reports" as those terms are defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA"). By clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and acknowledge and agree not to use any information gathered through InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including, but not limited to, evaluating eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or tenancy.
InfoTracer.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), and does not assemble or evaluate information for the purpose of supplying consumer reports.
You understand that license plate and VIN searches are only available for a purpose authorized by the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA). The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes.
This website contains information collected from public and private resources. InfoTracer.com cannot confirm that information provided below is accurate or complete. Please use information provided by InfoTracer.com responsibly.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree," Infotracer.com will conduct only a preliminary people search of the information you provide and that a search of any records will only be conducted and made available after you register for an account or purchase a report.
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) is the government agency responsible for driving records. It acts like a DMV in other states. They provide them to individuals who want a copy of their own and companies and government agencies who need to run a background check or need the information for other purposes on a subject other than themselves.
The New Mexico MVD takes driver privacy very seriously, and therefore anyone wanting records must comply with strict Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. They provide an online portal for individuals to get a 3-year copy (certified or non-certified) and a different tool for businesses and government agencies who need bulk reports.
These records contain personally identifiable information (PII) that may include the driver's name, address, social security number, date of birth, physical description, driver's license number, and even medical information for CDL license holders. The records also show accident history, traffic violations, license status, revocations, suspensions, and points.
The state of New Mexico has an online portal specifically for New Mexico drivers who want a copy of their own report. However, users can only get a report that goes back three years.
The NM MVD explains that when ordering online, the user will need:
Drivers can choose a certified copy or non-certified. Insurance companies and employers often require certified copies.
The state has set up another portal for businesses and government agencies where they can pay an annual subscription fee and set up, up to 10 users in the system. For companies that need more than 10 users, they can purchase additional licenses.
Companies who access the system are allowed to view:
To sign up, the entity must download the proper form. They have different ones for companies versus government agencies. Then mail the application in with payment to the MVD office located at:
New Mexico Interactive
Attention: Subscriber Services
4001 Office Court Dr, Suite 704
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87507
Businesses and government entities can sign up for $75/year for 10 users. Each 10-user subscription costs $75. Insurance providers may use these reports to set insurance rates.
Individuals can purchase a non-certified 3-year report for $6.63 and a certified copy for $9.99. The certified copy includes a letter of certification with an official stamp from the New Mexico MVD.
An NM resident must be at least 15 years old to apply for an instructional driving permit to begin learning to drive. They must be enrolled in or have completed a driver education course approved by the Traffic Safety Bureau. The class must include a DWI prevention and education component. They can only drive with a licensed driver (21 or older) and hold this permit for at least six months before applying for their New Mexico driver's license at age 16.
The requirements for this permit are:
Once the person turns 15 & 1/2, they are allowed to apply for their provisional license.
The requirements for a provisional license are:
After that, the driver can apply for their regular license by complying with the following list of requirements:
Some other driving laws in the state, according to AAA for New Mexico, are:
Violations of the child restraint law are standard offenses.
The state has two different types of reports. The one issued to individuals is a 3-year report, and the one issued to businesses and government agencies is a complete driving history. The MVD can supply them in either a certified or non-certified version.
The individual report will have personal information such as name, address, phone number, social security number, driver's license number, and physical description. It will also show accident history, moving violations, license status and class, license revocations, suspensions, and points. The report will only go back three years. The user may request it in certified or non-certified versions.
The complete driving history report will have personal information such as name, address, phone number, social security number, driver's license number, and physical description. It will also show accident history, moving violations, license status and class, license revocations, suspensions, and points. The report will be a complete report going back to when the driver first received a license. The user may request it in certified or non-certified versions.
Criminal driving offenses in the state are very serious and may result in hefty fines, a license suspension, jail or prison time, and other penalties. Some examples of criminal driving offense in the state are:
Commercial drivers may face even harsher penalties.
On the other hand, civil driving offenses are much less serious and usually result in the officer giving the driver a warning or a ticket which they must pay. Some examples of civil driving offenses are:
The New Mexico Department of Transportation (DOT) compiles and analyzes crash data so they can create programs to improve roadway and highway safety and save lives. Some interesting crash statistics from their latest report (2019) are:
Top Contributing Factors to Crashes
Top Contributing Factors to Fatalities:
On Average in NW in 2019:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Businesses, employers, insurance companies, and government agencies with a valid reason can get a copy of your driving history report. Some may have to fill out a confidential records release form.
Yes. The state has set up an easy system for drivers to get a copy of their own report, either certified or non-certified.
When requesting a copy, you will need a credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover) to pay the driving record fee, your date of birth, and the last 4 digits of your social security number, along with your driver's license number.
Yes. The state does use a demerit point system to keep track of moving and non-moving violations and driving infractions. If you earn 12 points in 12 months, you will lose your license for an entire year.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.