The New Hampshire Department of Safety, Division of Motor Vehicles (New Hampshire DMV) is the government agency responsible for driving history record reports. They issue them to individuals, companies, and other entities in need of the information. However, anyone requesting records must comply with all Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws.
The Department of Motor Vehicles has a downloadable form on its website that requestors can use to get copies of driving records. They allow people to drop them off using their Dropbox Services or mail them in. When requesting records for someone other than themselves, users must include a Records Release Form with additional information along with their payment. Companies requesting records also must fill out and include a Certificate of Authority and Release of Motor Vehicle Records form.
Motor vehicle records include personal information such as the driver's name, address, date of birth, driver's license number, hair, eye color, weight, height, and other medical details. The records will also include license status, revocations, suspensions, citations, traffic violations, criminal offenses like DUIs, and accidents.
The State of NH, Department of Motor Vehicles, offers driving record history reports through the mail and through their dropbox system. The requestor must first download the records release form and fill it out. They have detailed instructions on how to fill out the form depending on who is requesting the records. The user can then drop it off with payment at a dropbox location, DMV office, or mail it in to:
NH Dept. of Safety
DMV - FR Records
23 Hazen Drive, Concord NH 03305
The same form used for driving records can also be used to get a copy of the registration, title search, accident reports, and other types of documents.
The state offers three different types of reports, and all three cost $15 each, regardless of whether or not the requestor needs a certified copy.
New Hampshire does not issue learning permits to New Hampshire drivers. However, anyone 15 &1/2 can start learning to drive as long as they have proof of age in the vehicle and drive supervised with an adult at least 25 years old. They cannot learn to drive on a commercial vehicle, though.
The driver must complete and pass a driver education class before applying for their driver's license at age 16. Anyone under 18 must have parental or guardian consent, and they must pass a written and driving exam before receiving their license.
Some other common NH driving laws consists of:
The state does use a demerit points system to keep track of serious offenses. If the driver earns too many in a short amount of time, they may lose their driver's license according to the schedule below:
Drivers Under the Age of 18 are Subject to these Suspensions:
Drivers Under the Age of 21 are Subject to these Suspensions:
Drivers 21 Years of Age or Older are Subject to these Suspensions:
The state of New Hampshire offers three types of driving history reports. They are an Insurance Driver Record Report, Certified Driver Record Report, and a Non-Certified Driver Record Report. All records contain the following:
The DMV does not release social security numbers.
According to the DMV, "This report has only violations and accidents. The report covers five (5) years on court convictions and three (3) years on crash involvement." This option may be used by insurance companies when they decide to insure motorists or set insurance rates.
According to the DMV, "This report has detailed information regarding past history including present and/or past suspensions/revocations, restorations, convictions, and crash involvement. The printed report is stamped with a raised seal and stamped with the Director's signature and the phrase "Certified - True & Correct." The report covers seven (7) years for court convictions, ten (10) years for DWI convictions, and five (5) years on crash involvement. Note: The retention periods are increased for Commercial Drivers."
According to the DMV, "This report has detailed information regarding past history including present and/or past suspensions/revocations, restorations, convictions, and crash involvement. The report covers seven (7) years for court convictions, ten (10) years for DWI convictions, and five (5) years on crash involvement. Note: The retention periods are increased for Commercial Drivers."
Criminal driving offenses in NH are serious and may result in hefty fines, jail time, a suspended license, and even court-ordered programs like drug/alcohol rehab or community service. Some other examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
Civil driving offenses are far less serious but still carry weight. They may result in fines and points on the driver's license. Some examples of civil driving offense are:
The state prioritizes safe roadways and highways and has created a plan to improve safety based on the statistics below:
"New Hampshire's goal is to reduce the number of roadway deaths by 50 percent by 2030 (from a baseline year of 2010), and to continue this program until there are ZERO roadway deaths."
The most common reasons for accidents in the state are:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
You can easily get a copy of your own record. Someone else can get a copy if you provide permission. Some examples might be financial institutions, insurance companies, government agencies, employers, and other authorized agents.
No. The state does not have an online portal where you or anyone else can get a copy of a driver report.
When requesting records, you will need to provide your information (name, address, phone) and the driver's full name, date of birth, last known address, driver's license number, license plate, or vehicle ID number.
Yes. The state uses a strict demerit points system, and too many earned in a short amount of time will result in a license suspension.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.