Nebraska Public Driving Records
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is the state agency responsible for driving records and requests. They provide them to individuals who want a copy of their own and employers, law enforcement, government agencies, and other companies who need copies of someone else's.
The Nebraska DMV offers these reports to individuals online to view the record instantly and print it. CDL information is not available online using this method. However, companies that need bulk reports can sign up to access another online portal or obtain them through mail or in person.
Because these records contain personal information, the state requires anyone requesting records to comply with the federal and state Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPL) laws. Some of the personal details contained within will be the driver's full name, address, date of birth, social security number, driver's license number, and sometimes medical information. These reports also contain car accidents, criminal driving offenses, moving violations, traffic citations, driver's license points, endorsements, restrictions, license status, and any revocations and suspensions.
How to Request a State Driving History Report
The state has a special online portal where Nebraska drivers can easily get a copy of their own driving records. The user can immediately view and print the record. Users can also get these records through the mail using the downloadable form or in person at any DMV office. Using the portal, requestors can pay with a credit card or electronic check.
Businesses that require multiple reports may sign up to use a special online service. Anyone needing CDL information must use this system.
When ordering by mail, the user must pay the fee by check or money order, and they can mail their completed application to:
Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles Driver and Vehicle Records Division 301 Centennial Mall South
PO Box 94789
Lincoln, NE 68509-4789
They must also send in a self-addressed, stamped envelope for the results.
NE Motor Vehicle Records Cost
The cost for a driving record is $7.50 per record. This fee jumped from $3 on July 1, 2021. Payment can be made by credit card, debit card, or electronic check when ordering online. If the requestor orders copies through the mail, they can pay with a money order or personal check.
Driving Laws in the State
Like many states, this state uses a graduated licensing program for new drivers. At the age of 14, someone can apply for a driving permit to begin learning to drive. This permit carries strict rules, and drivers must pass a driving and written exam along with a vision test before they can apply for the next step. At 16, they can apply for their Provisional Operator's Permit. At 18, the driver can then apply for their full license.
The Department of Motor Vehicles lists some other driving laws as:
- Any resident who operates a motor vehicle on the streets and highways of the state must have a license
- Any new resident with a valid license from another state must obtain a license within 30 days
- Licenses issued to individuals under 21 expire on the license holder's 21st birthday. Licenses issued to individuals 21 or older expire on the license holder's birthday in the fifth year after issuance. Individuals may apply for renewal 60 days prior to their 21st birthday. However, the license will not be valid until 10 days prior to the 21st birthday. Individuals 21 and over may renew 90 days prior to their birthday
- Individuals over 21 who are going to be out of the state during their regular renewal period may renew with driver licensing staff prior to the 90 day renewal period
- Applicants that are out of the state during their renewal period may renew prior to expiration or within one year after expiration of license by mail. Paperwork to complete this process may be requested by contacting the Department of Motor Vehicles at 402-471-3861
- The DMV sends renewal notice postcards to individuals 30 days prior to the expiration of their current operator's license or State ID Card and 60 days prior to the expiration of their commercial driver's license
- Prior to visiting a Driver Licensing Office, please complete a data form. Present it and your renewal notice postcard (if you received one) to Driver Licensing Staff
Some laws regarding permit holders include:
- Cell Phones – No use of any type of interactive wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle while in motion. Violation carries a $200 fine for the first offense and assessed points on license
- Seat Belts – All occupants riding with a permit holder, including the driver, must wear a seat belt. Violation carries a $25 fine
- Passengers – Holder of a School Permit (SCP) may only transport family members who reside with them to the school attended by the holder. A holder of a Provisional Operator's Permit (POP) is limited to one passenger younger than 19 who is not an immediate family member, for the first 6 months. Violation carries a one-point assessment on driving record
- Nighttime Driving – Holder of a POP shall not drive from midnight to 6 a.m. unless to or from school activities or work. Violation carries a one point assessment on driving record
- Alcohol – "Zero tolerance" (alcohol and other drugs) laws for drivers under the age of 21. First offense results in court impounding permit or license for 30 days. An under age 21 driver is subject to the same DWI laws as a person age 21 or over if the blood alcohol content is .08 (BAC) or greater
- Violation of any driving restrictions can result in a suspended or revoked license
- Individuals under 21 accumulating six or more points within one year are required to take a driver improvement course within three months
The state does use a points system, and some of the regulations state that:
- Convictions remain on the driving record for five (5) years
- Accumulating 12 points in a two (2) year time period (counting from the last date of violation) causes automatic revocation of the operator's license under the state Point System
Different Types of Driving Reports in the State
The state of Nebraska offers two types of reports a 5-year history and a complete report.
The first is a 5-year record showing accident history, civil and criminal driving offenses, license status, revocations, suspensions, and other driving notations. It only goes back five years.
Complete Driving History
The complete driving history will include all of the information from the 5-year report along with personal details like the driver's name, address, social security number, physical description, and driver's license number. This report will cover their entire driving history.
Criminal Driving Offenses
Criminal driving offenses in the state are severe incidents resulting in high fines, jail or prison time, the loss of a driver's license, and sometimes court-ordered programs like AA attendance, a defensive driving course, or community service. Some serious criminal driving offenses in the state are:
- Reckless driving is a very serious offense, and a first offense is a Class III misdemeanor earning the offender a $500 fine and three months in jail. A first offense of willful, reckless driving will also result in a 30-day to one-year loss of license. A second offense is a Class II misdemeanor resulting in a $1,000 fine along with the loss of license from 60 days to 2 years plus six months in jail. A third offense is a Class I misdemeanor and will result in a year in jail, a $1,000 fine, and a one-year license suspension
- Hit and run
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Evading an officer
- Driving without insurance
- Vehicular manslaughter
Insurance companies may increase driver rates if they incur any of these offenses.
Civil Driving Offenses
Civil driving offenses are much less serious and usually end up with just a warning or a traffic ticket the driver must pay. These issues can be fought in court, but most drivers just pay the fine. Some examples of civil driving offense are:
- Careless driving is considered a traffic infraction and may cost the offender a $100-$300 fine
- Not stopping at a red light
- Failure to yield
- Not stopping at a stop sign
- Parking in a no-parking zone
- Not wearing a seat belt
- Unregistered vehicle
- Illegal U-Turn
State DMV Driving Records Statistics
The state Department of Transportation (DOT) tracks all crash and driver-related data to improve roadway safety and save lives. Some interesting statistics from this organization are:
- The fatality rate on state roadways for 2019 was 1.16 persons killed per 100 million vehicle miles traveled, up slightly from the 2018 rate of 1.10
- Fatal crashes make up only a small portion of the total crashes in the state. Property damage only (PDO) crashes make up the majority. Figure 3 shows the percentage distribution of all crash types. In 2019, there were 212 fatal crashes, 1,154 serious injury crashes, 11,939 total injury crashes, and 24,555 property damage-only crashes. Fatal crashes made up 0.6% of all crashes, serious injury crashes made up 3.1%, and total injury and PDO crashes made up 32.5% and 66.9%, respectively
- For 2019, One crash occurred every 14 minutes. Forty-seven persons were injured each day. One person was killed every 35 hours
- The economic loss in terms of dollars was $5,058,849,940
- Number of Registered Vehicles in the state - 2,399,518
- Number of Licensed Drivers in the state - 1,470,810
- Number of Vehicles in Crashes - 67,321
- Number of Drivers in Crashes - 60,622
- All Crashes - 36,706
- Property Damage Only (PDO) - 24,555
- Injury Crashes - 11,939
- Persons Injured 17,198
- Fatal Crashes - 212
- Fatalities - 248
- Fewer fatal crashes occur under slick road surface conditions than under dry road conditions, since there are many more dry days than wet days. Crashes on wet roads decreased by 13% during 2019
- The number of injury crashes declined by 320, and the number of injuries decreased by 528. The largest increase was in property damage only crashes, which rose by 898
- The percent of fatal crashes that occur on the interstate and other state highways is larger than the percent of all crashes that occur on the interstate and other state highways. Crashes on interstate and other state highways tend to occur at higher speeds, accounting for their increased severity
- The highest three-hour time period for crashes in 2019 was from 3:00 - 6:00 p.m. when 24.6% of all crashes occurred. Fatal crashes were most prevalent in the afternoon or early evening, as 47.7% of them took place between noon and 9:00 p.m
- Friday was the highest day for both crashes (6,198) and fatal crashes (41) during 2019, Sunday had the fewest crashes but was second in fatal crashes (37)
- Traditionally, more fatal crashes occur on the weekends when more recreational driving takes place
Driver License Record Search Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Who Can Get a Copy of Your Nebraska Driving Record?
Anyone who can show a valid, legal reason for needing a copy of your driving record can obtain one. However, anyone requesting records must comply with all DPPA laws and have the driver's permission.
Can I Use the Online Systems to Make a Driving Record Request?
Yes. The state makes it easy to obtain records using their online portal. For businesses, who need a lot of them, they have a special subscription service.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)?
When ordering a copy of anyone's record (even your own), you will need the person's full name, address, date of birth, and their driver's license number. You may need to provide a copy of your ID as proof of identification.
Does the State Use a Points System?
Yes, the state does use a points system, and typically, points stay on your record for 5 years. If you earn 12 points in a 2-year period, the DMV will revoke your license. Insurance providers may increase your rates if you have too many driving points on your Nebraska Driver's License.
Helpful State Driving Record Links
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.