Search Montana Public Driving Records

Start your FREE Scan

Montana Public Driving Records

The Montana Department of Justice (DOJ) is the government agency responsible for driving records. They supply them upon request to individuals as well as businesses that require them. Montana follows all state and federal Driver Privacy Protection Act laws and will only supply records that contain personal information to authorized entities. This agency acts like a Montana DMV (department of motor vehicles) in other states.

The DOJ offers two types of driver records. The first is a Montana-based basic driver record. The other is a Montana commercial driver record for those who possess a CDL license. Requestors can get copies online, in person at any Montana Motor Vehicle Division office, and through the mail.

Motor vehicle history reports contain personal information such as the driver's full name, address, date of birth, driver's license number, social security number, physical description, and medical information. The records also contain moving violations, traffic violations, license status, license points, driving convictions/accident history, driver license sanctions such as revocations and suspensions, and motor vehicle accident history. The reports will also show information pertaining to driving performance and actions taken by the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD). In other states, this is similar to a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

How to Request a State Driving History Report

Individuals can obtain copies of their own driving records quickly and easily. They can do so using the online portal called "Driver History Records Service." When ordering, they will need a valid credit card, a printer to print the record and their birthdate, and a driver's license number.

They may also order in person at any MVD office or by mail using the downloadable form.

Businesses can also get copies; however, if they need multiple copies, they may not be able to get them on the same day. These companies (such as trucking companies and insurance agents) can register to become regular users of the online system.

When ordering records by mail, the user must pay by check or money order (credit cards are not accepted). They can mail the payment and completed application to Motor Vehicle Division, P.O. Box 201430, Helena, MT 59620-1430. They must include a stamped, self-address envelope to return the results in. They must have the person's full name, driver's license number, and birthdate as well.

Someone ordering for anyone other than themselves must have the subject sign a release form which must accompany their application and payment.

Montana Motor Vehicle Records Cost

Individuals ordering online must pay a fee of $8.87 for each record requested. Anyone ordering in person at an MVD office or through the mail will pay only $4.12 per record.

If the requestor wants the results faxed to them, they can pay an additional $3.09 per record extra.

A certified copy costs $10.30 and cannot be faxed.

Driving Laws in the State

After completing a driver's education course, anyone who is 14 & 1/2 years old can apply for a learner license. Anyone wishing to apply for a learner or regular license must have parental or guardian permission if they are younger than 18 years old.

Someone whose license was suspended or revoked in another state cannot apply for one in Montana.

Anyone 18 or older can apply if they:

  • Are able to submit acceptable documentation to prove: 
  • Authorized Presence
  • Identity
  • Residency
  • Pass the required driver license tests
  • Turn in any other driver licenses
  • Pass the needed medical requirements for the type of driver license desired
  • Have not been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, alcoholic, or a habitual user of illegal drugs

If someone is younger than 18, they must:

  • Complete a state-approved traffic education program (online courses are not approved)
  • Have parental/guardian consent for licensure and accepting financial responsibility
  • Submit acceptable documentation to prove:
  • Authorized Presence
  • Identity
  • Residency

Some other driving laws per the Montana Department of Justice include:

  • Drivers must have a valid Montana driver license in possession at all times, and motorcycle endorsements are required to operate a motorcycle or motor scooter
  • New residents must apply to convert their valid license within 60 consecutive days (30 consecutive days for commercial). Written, vision, and a road test are required for your first license
  • A basic driver license (Class D) is valid for a maximum of four to eight years, typically expiring on the holder's birthday
  • For residents under 21 years old, the minimum age for a license is 16 years (15 years with driver education) and is valid until 21st birthday
  • It is mandatory to have and carry evidence of vehicle liability insurance on the vehicle being operated

The state has two different types of driver's licenses. A Class D license is the standard that most people have. Then they offer a commercial driver's license (CDL) for businesses and truckers.

Different Types of Driving Reports in the State

The state has only one type of driving record containing personally identifiable information (PII). Therefore, the state demands strict compliance with Driver Privacy Protection Act laws.

Driving History

The driving record will contain personal history information, licensing information, conviction/accident history, driver license sanctions, and motor vehicle accident history. It also covers the examination process; denial or issuance; revocation, suspension, or cancellation of a license; driver performance; and any other action taken in response to unsafe driver performance or other legal requirements. The DOJ stipulates it may also contain "changes in legislation, computer systems, data sources, court cases, and judicial rulings, all which affect the appearance and information included in your record."

Criminal Driving Offenses

Criminal driving offenses in the state are serious crimes that result in harsh punishments such as steep fines, jail or prison time, court-ordered programs, and the loss of your license. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in Montana include:

Reckless driving - 5 license points.

  • First offense. A first reckless driving conviction carries up to 90 days in jail and/or $25 to $300 in fines
  • Repeat offense. For a second or subsequent reckless driving violation, the motorist is looking at ten days to six months in jail and/or $50 to $500 in fines. And for a third conviction within a 12-month period, there's a one-year license suspension
  • Offenses involving death or injuries. A reckless driving offender who causes death or "serious bodily injury" to another person faces up to a year in jail and/or a maximum of $10,000 in fines

Careless driving - 4 license points.
Careless driving is considered a misdemeanor, but the punishments are still strict.

  • First offense. For a first careless driving violation, there's a $10 to $100 fine
  • Second offense. For a second careless driving conviction within a year, the driver is looking at fines of $25 to $200
  • Third offense. For a third or subsequent offense within a year, the driver is facing $50 to $500 in fines
  • Offenses involving death or injuries. A careless driving offender who causes death or "serious bodily injury" to another person faces up to six months in jail and/or a maximum of $5,000 in fines
  • Wet Reckless (DUI/DWI/OUI)
  • Vehicular manslaughter
  • Driving without insurance
  • Hit and run
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Avoiding a police officer
  • Driving without a license

Civil Driving Offenses

Civil driving offenses are far less severe and usually result in a warning or ticket by the officer. Some examples of civil driving offenses include:

  • Running a red light
  • Failure to yield
  • Parking in a no-parking zone
  • Failure to stop at a red light
  • Illegal modifications to the vehicle
  • Driving an unregistered vehicle

State Driving Records Statistics

According to the Montana Department of Transportation (DOT), some interesting state driving statistics are:

  • In 2019, the state saw 184 driving fatalities
  • 66 of those deaths were alcohol related
  • 57 of them were speed related
  • 130 involved a roadway departure
  • 66 of them were not using seat belts
  • 28 were in passenger cars
  • 20 were in pickup trucks
  • 14 were driving SUVs
  • Yellowstone County had the highest number of car accident-related fatalities

Additional crash-related facts for 2018 are:

  • There were 913 fewer fatalities in 2018 than in 2017 in the following (but not limited to)
  • Passenger car occupants (702 fewer fatalities, 5.2% decrease)
  • Van occupants (98 fewer fatalities, 8.3% decrease)
  • SUV occupants (76 fewer fatalities, 1.6% decrease)
  • Pickup truck occupants (82 fewer fatalities, 1.9% decrease)
  • Motorcyclists (244 fewer fatalities, 4.7% decrease)
  • Alcohol-impaired-driving fatalities (397 fewer fatalities, 3.6% decrease)
  • Speeding-related fatalities (569 fewer fatalities, 5.7% decrease)
  • Fatalities in single-vehicle crashes (654 fewer fatalities, 3.2% decrease)
  • Fatalities in multiple-vehicle crashes (259 fewer fatalities, 1.5% decrease)
  • Passenger vehicle occupants killed in rollover crashes (681 fewer fatalities, 9.5% decrease)
  • Fatalities increased in 2018 compared to 2017 in these categories
  • Large-truck occupants (7 more fatalities, 0.8% increase)
  • Pedestrians (208 more fatalities, 3.4% increase)
  • Pedalcyclists (51 more fatalities, 6.3% increase)
  • Vehicle miles traveled (VMT) based on early traffic volume trends (TVT) increased by 0.3 percent from 2017 to 2018
  • The fatality rate per 100 million VMT decreased by 3.4 percent from 1.17 in 2017 to 1.13 in 2018
  • The number of passenger vehicle occupant fatalities decreased by 966, a 4.1-percent decrease. Passenger vehicles include passenger cars and light trucks
  • Large-truck occupant fatalities increased by 7, a 0.8-percent increase. The 2018 number of large-truck occupant fatalities is the highest since 1988 (911 fatalities)
  • Pedestrian fatalities increased by 208, a 3.4-percent increase. The 2018 number of pedestrian fatalities is the highest since 1990 (6,482 fatalities)
  • Pedalcyclist fatalities increased by 51, a 6.3-percent increase. The 2018 number of pedalcyclist fatalities is the highest since 1990 (859 fatalities)

Driving Records Search Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.

Who Can Get a Copy of Your Driving Record?

Only people with valid legal reasons can get a copy of your report. Otherwise, they must have a signed consent form from you to order a copy of yours. The state of Montana restricts the use of a driving record with the following stipulations:

  • While convictions older than three years may not affect your insurance rates, convictions for a second or subsequent DUI will affect your record for five years between the date of the prior offense and the most recent offense
  • Conviction points remain on a driving record for three years from the conviction date. While the points are removed after three years, the convictions become a permanent part of a driving record
  • Completing a defensive driving class does not remove points from a driving record
  • If Montana drivers are convicted of a driving offense in another state, those convictions appear on their Montana driving records
  • If a driver with an out-of-state license is convicted of a driving offense in Montana, the conviction record is sent to the state in which the driver is licensed
  • All of the information on your motor vehicle record remains part of your permanent driving record
  • From year to year and from state to state, your driving record stays with you

Can I Order a State Driver's License Records Online?

Yes. The state has a special Driver History Records Service where you can easily order copies online. This service is meant for individuals only. Those needing a lot of copies will have to register for a different type of account.

What Information Do I Need to Get a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)?

When ordering, you need your name and address, date of birth, and driver's license information.

Does the State Use a Points System?

Yes, and if you incur too many points on your license, you will lose the privilege to drive for a long time.

Helpful State Driving Record Links

Below are some helpful state driving record links.

Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.