Missouri's Department of Revenue (MDOR) is the state agency in charge of Missouri driving records. It acts like a Department of Motor Vehicles (Missouri DMV) in other states. The MDOR provides records upon request to individuals and companies.
The Department of Revenue only allows people or agencies who are exempt under federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws to obtain reports with personal information. The state has only one type of report, but it will either contain personal information or not, depending on who requests it.
Records with personal information will have the driver's full name, address, date of birth, social security number, driver's license number, sex, height, weight, eye color, photographs, phone number, and medical or disability information. Other information that is not personal will include endorsements, restrictions, car accidents, license suspensions, revocations, license status, driving offenses, traffic violations, and more.
Those who wish to request a copy of an individual's driving record that does not contain personal information can visit any Missouri license office (driver licensing division) in person. They can also order a copy by fax or through the mail using the downloadable application and paying the fee. Their main office is located in Jefferson City.
Anyone needing a copy of a driving record that does contain personal information must comply with DPPA laws. If the person or individual is not exempt, they must have the subject sign a consent form first. They may also request records in person at a licensing office or by mail or fax. When requesting through the mail, they can download the form and return it to the mailing address at the top. They will need to include the Missouri driver's license number for the subject of the report.
Companies who make frequent requests can apply for a security access code for dialing for records. Businesses can do this by following the instructions from the DOR:
"If you request driver records frequently, you may want to establish an account with the Driver License Bureau and obtain records through the Dialing for Records process. This allows you to dial the bureau's Interactive
Telephone Driver Record System via a touch-tone telephone. Driver records will be mailed to you the following day by first class mail or faxed to a fax machine within 24 hours of the request. To establish an account, please contact our Record Center at (573) 526-2407.
To request driver records with the personal information of the record holder, you must apply for and use a security access code assigned to you (see Requesting a Security Access Code)."
The basic cost for any driving record in the state is $2.82. If the requestor orders by fax, they will also have to pay a $0.50 per page fee. The fee can be paid by debit or credit card when visiting in person.
Someone 15 years or older can apply for a driving permit to begin learning to drive. A driver must wait until the age of 16 before applying for their license. Between the time they get the permit and their license, these drivers must comply with strict supervision rules and restrictions. At 16, they can drive with an intermediate license that also carries restrictions. At age 18, the driver can apply for their full license and drive without restrictions.
The driving permit instructions include:
The instructions for an intermediate license reads:
The intermediate license restrictions include:
Once someone satisfies all the requirements of the intermediate license, they can then apply for their full license.
Driver must carry insurance in the state to drive legally on the road. The mandatory insurance requirements are:
Driving without insurance is a Class D misdemeanor and will carry the following punishments:
The penalties for commercial drivers (CDL) may be harsher.
The state offers only one type of driving report for individuals and companies. However, they do offer one version with personally identifiable information (PII) and one without.
The driving history report with personal information will contain the subject's full name, address, date of birth, phone number, medical information/disability details, driver's license number, and social security number. Both the reports with PII and without will also contain accidents, civil and criminal driving offenses, moving violations, license status, revocations, suspensions, license points, and other details. These records are often used for background checks or insurance.
Criminal driving offenses are serious crimes that usually result in harsh punishments like steep fines, imprisonment, the loss of a driver's license, and sometimes court-ordered programs like rehab or a safe driving course. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
The state uses a point system for violations. If someone earns 4 points in 12 months, they will get a letter from the Department of Revenue warning them. If they earn 8 points in 18 months, the driver will lose their license as stipulated below:
Additionally, the DOR will revoke someone's license for an entire year for earning:
After reinstated, the point total will drop to 4. Each year they remain violation-free, the state will reduce those points by:
These types of violations usually end up with an increase in insurance rates by the person's auto insurance provider.
Civil driving offenses are much less serious and usually only result in a ticket (fine) or warning from the officer. Some examples of civil driving offenses in the state are:
The state of Missouri keeps track of all safety and crash statistics for drivers. Some interesting facts include:
For fatal crashes, the following weather conditions were present:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Only someone who is exempt (according to DPPA laws) such as law enforcement, a government agency, insurance agent, legal person, vehicle safety employee, private investigator, and others with a legal reason to get them. Otherwise, the requestor must have a signed consent form from the driver license record holder before asking to see the record.
No. The state does not have a way for companies or individuals to request records online. However, they have a dial-in option for businesses, and everyone else can get them in person at a licensing office, or by fax, or mail.
When requesting records, you will need the name, date of birth, and driver's license number of the person whose record you are requesting.
Yes. Their point system is very strict and with only 4 points, you will get a warning letter. After that, you may lose your license for up to a year or more then have to go through a process to get it back.
According to the DOR, you must take the following four steps to get your license reinstated after a revocation/suspension:
You can email firstname.lastname@example.org for questions about reinstatement.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.