Mississippi Public Driving Records
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the government agency in charge of driving records. They act like a Department of Motor Vehicles (Mississippi DMV) in other states. They have an online portal where individuals can get copies of their own reports, but they also offer an alternative for third parties to get copies of someone else's. These types of reports may used by an insurance company.
The state offers only one type of report called a Motor Vehicle Record Summary. Only authorized individuals and companies can get a copy of someone else's report. They must have a signed authorization form when ordering.
Mississippi driver records contain personally identifiable information (PII) and therefore must comply with Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. The personal information shown will be the driver's full name, date of birth, social security number, driver's license number, and often medical information. Some other details will include car accidents, driving offenses, traffic violations, tickets, endorsements, restrictions, driver's license status, revocations, suspensions, and additional information.
How to Request a State Driving History Report
Individuals can easily request a copy of their report by visiting the state's online portal. All the requestor has to do is simply fill in the blanks with information from their driver's license, and they can instantly see their entire motor vehicle history. They can also print it. The copy will remain available for only 24 hours, then it expires. At the time of ordering, the requestor must pay online using Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express, debit, or credit card. Individuals can also order a copy through the mail and pay with a cashier's check.
If a company/employer or other individual needs a copy of someone else's report, they can get it through the mail. However, they also need a signed authorization form from the subject of the report before ordering. When ordering for someone else, the requestor must provide a legal reason for needing the information and company with all DPPA laws.
Forms can be returned to the offices at:
Overnight Mail Delivery Only
1900 E. Woodrow Wilson
Jackson, MS 39205
Additionally, requestors can visit the three locations below to obtain a copy in person:
2200A Hwy 35 North
Batesville, MS 38606
Jackson, Hinds County
1900 E. Woodrow Wilson Dr.
Jackson, MS 39216
Hattiesburg CDL Building
35 JM Tatum Industrial Dr.
Hattiesburg, MS 39401
They do honor bulk records requests if needed.
Mississippi Motor Vehicle Records Cost
The cost for a driving record in the state of Mississippi is $11. This is a non-refundable fee, and even if the search yields no results, the requestor will not receive a refund. Requestors can pay with a credit or debit card.
If ordered online, the cost will be $14.31.
Driving Laws in the State
Mississippi allows anyone 15 or older to apply for a learner's permit to begin learning to drive. They must keep this permit for 12 months before applying to get an intermediate license. The person must also be 16 before applying. The intermediate license allows a young driver to drive without supervision, but they must use it for six months without any accidents or infractions before applying for their full license.
Some other common driving laws in the state include:
- Drivers must renew their driver's license every four years
- The maximum speed limit in MS is 70 mph
- Unlike most states, Mississippi does not increase the penalty for moving violations within an active work zone
- The legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%. Most states impose increased mandatory penalties for driving above a specific BAC. In Mississippi, driving with a BAC above 0.00% will trigger automatic enhanced minimum penalties
- Cellphones and other handheld devices are banned while driving in most states. In Mississippi, handheld devices such as phones and mp3 player are are not banned. Handheld device bans prohibit talking on the phone without a hands-free system
- Texting while driving is not banned in Mississippi. In Mississippi, distracted driving is listed as a category on police crash report forms
- Mississippi requires seatbelt use. Seatbelt enforcement is considered primary, meaning you can be pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt. The fine for a seatbelt law violation in Mississippi is $25.00. Seatbelt use laws depend on the driving experience of the driver and which seat of the car a passenger is sitting in
- Child Passenger Restraints (Section 63-7-301) Every person transporting a child under the age of four (4) years in a passenger motor vehicle and operated on a public roadway, street, or highway within this state, shall provide for the protection of the child by properly using a child passenger restraint device or system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards. Every person transporting a child in a passenger motor vehicle operated on a public roadway, street, or highway within this state, shall provide for the protection of the child by properly using a belt-positioning booster seat system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards if the child is at least four (4) years of age, but less than seven (7) years of age and measures less than four (4) feet nine (9) inches in height or weighs less than sixty-five (65) pounds
- Impaired Driving (Section 63-11-30) It is unlawful for any person to drive or otherwise operate a vehicle within this state who (a) is under the influence of intoxicating liquor; (b) is under the influence of any other substance which has impaired such person's ability to operate a motor vehicle; (c) has an alcohol concentration of eight one-hundredths percent (.08%) or more for persons who are above the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages under state law, or two one-hundredths percent (.02%) or more for persons who are below the legal age to purchase alcoholic beverages under state law, in the person's blood based upon grams of alcohol per one hundred (100) milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per two hundred ten (210) liters of breath as shown by a chemical analysis of such person's breath, blood or urine administered as authorized by this chapter; (d) is under the influence of any drug or controlled substance, the possession of which is unlawful under the Mississippi Controlled Substances Law; or (e) has an alcohol concentration of four one-hundredths percent (.04%) or more in the person's blood, based upon grams of alcohol per one hundred (100) milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per two hundred ten (210) liters of breath as shown by a chemical analysis of such person's blood, breath or urine, administered as authorized by this chapter for persons operating a commercial motor vehicle
The state does not use a point system but does keep track of moving violations. Too many earned in a short period of time may result in the loss of license and other ramifications.
Different Types of Driving Reports in the State
The state has only one type of driving history report. They allow requestors to get copies online (individuals only), in person, or through the mail. All reports are considered certified copies.
Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) Summary (certified driving record)
The motor vehicle record summary will contain personal information such as the driver's name, birth date, social security number, home address, driver's license number, and driving history information such as accidents, civil and criminal driving offenses, parking tickets, license status, any revocations, suspensions, and the number of moving violations.
Criminal Driving Offenses
Criminal driving offenses in the state are very serious and dealt with through harsh punishments such as jail time, steep fines, and other court-ordered programs (like defensive driving or other safety driving courses).
Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
- Refusing to obey an officer
- Not wearing a seat belt
- Reckless driving
- Violating child safety seat laws
- Driving without car insurance
- Illegal modifications to the vehicle
- Driving an unregistered vehicle
- Throwing glass bottles, metal objects, or anything else out the window that causes injury to another person driving
- Vehicular manslaughter
These types of offenses may result in an increase in insurance premiums by your auto insurance company plus a possible license suspension.
Civil Driving Offenses
Civil driving offenses are much less serious and usually only result in a warning or a fine (ticket) that must be paid. Offenders can fight the ticket in court if they wish or just mail in the payment. Some examples of civil driving offenses are:
- Not stopping at a stop sign
- Running through a red light
- Parking in a no-parking zone
- Improper turn
- Failure to yield
- Going the wrong way down a one-way street
- Illegal U-turn
- Speeding (not excessively)
State Driving Records Statistics
Mississippi takes driver safety very seriously and keeps track of accidents and other issues. Some interesting driving statistics from the Mississippi Department of Transportation are:
- Statistically, 1 out of 2 people killed in motor vehicle crashes in Mississippi are not buckled up
- Teenage drivers and passengers are among those least likely to wear their seat belts
- Nationally, 90.1% of Americans wear their seat belts. In Mississippi, that number is only 77.9%. which puts us among some of the lowest seat belt use rates in the nation
- Nationally, seat belts saved 13,941 lives of people aged 5 and older in 2015. Child Restrains saved another 266 children ages 4 and younger during that time
- In Mississippi, seat belts saved 296 lives in 2015. If 100% of vehicle occupants buckled up, another 121 lives would have been saved
- In 2016, drunk driving fatalities represented 18% of total traffic deaths in Mississippi
- America has more drunk drivers than most countries have people
- Each year, more than 10,000 people die on our roadways due to drunk driving. That would equal 20 jumbo jets crashing each year
- In 2015, 3,477 people were killed nationally in crashes involving a distracted driver
- Text messaging creates a risk 23 times worse than driving while not distracted
- Drivers talking or texting can miss seeing up to 50% of their driving environment, a phenomenon known as "inattention blindness"
- Contrary to popular belief, the human brain cannot multitask. Instead of processing both cognitive tasks at once, the brain rapidly switches between the two activities
- Sending or receiving a text takes a driver's eyes from the road for an average of 4.6 seconds, the equivalent - at 55 MPH - of traveling the length of an entire football field, blind
- 660,000 drivers are using or manipulating electronic devices while driving at any given daylight moment in America
- For drivers 15-19 years old involved in fatal crashes, 21% were distracted by the use of cell phones
- Driving while using a cell phone reduces the amount of brain activity associated with driving by 37%
- There were 690 fatalities on Mississippi roadways in 2016
- There were approximately 40,200 fatalities nationally in 2015
- The economic cost to society for car crashes in the U.S. was $242 BILLION in 2010
- There were 96 motor vehicle fatalities PER DAY in the U.S. in 2015. Another 6,693 people were injured every day
- 1 out of 3 deaths among U.S. teens are the result of a motor vehicle crash
- Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for 15-20-year-olds in the U.S
- Car crashes are the number one killer of children 1 to 12 years old in the U.S
- In 2015, there were 1,886 drivers 15-20 years old who died in motor vehicle crashes. Another 195,000 young drivers were injured
Driving Records Search Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Who Can Get a Copy of Your Driving Record?
Anyone who can show a legal reason for doing so. However, they must comply with DPPA laws.
Can I Order a State Driver's License Records Online?
Yes. The state offers an online portal where individuals can easily view and print a copy of their own report within minutes.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Motor Vehicle Report (MVR)?
They will need their name, social security number, Mississippi driver's license number, and other information from their license.
Does the State Use a Points System?
No. Mississippi is one of the few states that does not use a points system. However, they do keep track of any moving violations.
At What Age Can You Get a Driving Permit?
At 15, you can apply for a learner's permit. Then at 16, you can get your intermediate license. At 16 & 1/2, you can apply for your full driver's license.
Helpful State Driving Record Links
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.