The Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS office) is a Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety and the government agency in charge of driving records for individuals, companies, and law enforcement. They provide copies upon request to qualified individuals. In most states this is done by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
The state takes federal and state Driver Privacy Protection Act laws very seriously. They cite punishment according to United States Code, title 18 (USC, title 18) if anyone obtains driver records unlawfully. The state provides a few different options for getting records, and all of them begin with downloading the proper form (PS2502). If someone other than the individual listed in the report requests one, they must also fill out a PS2506 which is an authorization form from the subject.
Driver records in the state contain personal information such as name, address, social security number, birthdate, driver's license number, medical information, and other details. The reports also contain traffic accident data, driving offenses, traffic violations, license suspensions or revocations, and license status as well as additional information like traffic tickets, license plate number and other public information.
An individual or company must start the request process by downloading the proper form and filling it out. If someone other than the subject of the record makes the request, they must also download and fill out the authorization form.
They allow requestors to get records through the mail or by visiting their offices in person at:
Town Square Building
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 190
St. Paul, MN 55101-5190
They can also get records by email or phone. If ordering through the mail, the requestor must send a legible copy of their state-issued ID or driver's license.
When requesting records, the individual must pay a fee. They can request certified or non-certified records.
The cost for a non-certified driving record in Minnesota is $9 for an individual and $9.50 if not the subject of the record. The non-certified version will only go back five years.
A certified record costs an individual $10 and $10.50 if the requestor is not the subject of the record.
Car crashes are the second leading cause of death for teens in Minnesota (30+ each year). Therefore, the state has instituted a graduated license program.
Someone must be at least 15 years old to apply for a driving permit. Then they can drive supervised with other restrictions while taking driver education classes. Their parent or guardian must also attend a teen driver awareness program. After completing the class and passing a written and driving test, they can apply for their license.
Teen drivers are subject to the following restrictions:
For the first six months of licensure: Driving is prohibited from midnight – 5 a.m.
The nighttime limitation is lifted after the first six months of licensure.
Some other featured laws in the state from the DVS are:
Minnesota's seat belt law requires all motorists — drivers and passengers in any seat — to be buckled up and children in the correct child restraint. Law enforcement will stop and ticket unbelted drivers and passengers, including those in the back seat.
Children must ride in a booster seat after they have outgrown a forward-facing seat (typically age 4 and 40-60 pounds) until they are age eight or 4'9" tall — whichever comes first. It is recommended to keep a child in a booster based on their size rather than age. Boosters are seat lifts that help adult seat belts fit children properly.
It is illegal for drivers of all ages to compose, read, or send electronic messages or access the Internet on a wireless device when the vehicle is in motion or part of traffic. This includes being stopped in traffic or at a light.
All repeat DWI offenders — and first-time offenders arrested at twice the legal limit — will now encounter stronger DWI sanctions. These offenders must use ignition interlock or face at least one year without a driver's license.
The law does not apply to permanently affixed devices to the vehicle or global positioning or navigation systems.
Texting and web access statute — M.S. 169.475
For a comprehensive guide to the nation's traffic laws, reference DrivingLaws.AAA.com.
The state does not use a points system but does keep track of each moving violation. If too many are incurred in a short period of time, it may result in the revocation or suspension of the person's driver's license.
The state has only one type of driving history report. However, they do offer it in two flavors (certified or non-certified).
The non-certified driving history report will contain personal details about the driver, such as their name, address, social security number, date of birth, and driver's license number. It will also include accidents, civil and criminal driving offenses, revocations, suspensions, license, status, and CDL information. However, the report will only go back five years. These may be used for background checks and employment.
The certified driving history report will contain personal details about the driver, such as their name, address, social security number, date of birth, and driver's license number. It will also include accidents, civil and criminal driving offenses, revocations, suspensions, license, status, and CDL information. The report will include everything going back to when the person first got their license. The certified copy costs $1 more.
Criminal driving offenses are serious crimes and may be punishable by steep fines, jail or prison time, the loss of a driver's license, and sometimes other court-ordered programs. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
The punishments for commercial drivers may be worse. These types of actions could result in cancellation of your automobile insurance policy. Some insurance providers will not cover you with a criminal offense and others may increase your insurance rates.
Civil driving offenses are far less serious and usually punishable only by a fine. Some examples of civil driving offenses in the state are:
Minnesota takes driving safety seriously and therefore keeps close track of all accidents and incidents so they can respond with better roadway safety programs. Some interesting driving facts for 2019 are:
There were 364 deaths on Minnesota road in 2019 compared with 381 in 2018. The 2018 Crash Facts Summary is now available.
The 364 fatalities include:
Of the 364 fatalities:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Only authorized individuals and companies can get a copy of your driving record. On the application form, the requestor must indicate why they need the information. Typically, these reports are used by employers, private detectives, insurance companies, government agencies, and businesses that deal with driving or safety.
No, the state does not have an online program except for government agencies. They have a closed system that is not open to the public. The public must get copies through the mail, in person, by phone, or by email.
When ordering a copy for yourself, you will need your name, address, driver's license number, and date of birth. You must also pay the fee with a check or money order. You must also send in a copy of your Minnesota driver's license with your signature on the form notarized.
Anyone requesting a copy of your report must also fill out an authorization request and have you sign it.
Regardless of who orders the report, you must agree to the terms, which promise that you will comply with all DPPA laws. The Minnesota DMV requires compliance.
No. Minnesota is one of the few states that does not use a points system. However, they do keep track of moving violations, and if you incur too many in a short period of time, you may lose your license for a period of time or indefinitely.
When someone turns 15, they are eligible to apply for a driving permit to begin their journey towards their graduated driver's license. They must also have 30 hours of classroom study and supervised driving before applying. You must be 16 to apply for your real license.
The state takes a three-step approach to licensing, and each young person must follow each of the steps to achieve his or her full license. Each phase helps prepare the teen for different types of driving scenarios.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.