InfoTracer.com is not a "consumer reporting agency" and does not supply "consumer reports" as those terms are defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA"). By clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and acknowledge and agree not to use any information gathered through InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including, but not limited to, evaluating eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or tenancy.
InfoTracer.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), and does not assemble or evaluate information for the purpose of supplying consumer reports.
You understand that license plate and VIN searches are only available for a purpose authorized by the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA). The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes.
This website contains information collected from public and private resources. InfoTracer.com cannot confirm that information provided below is accurate or complete. Please use information provided by InfoTracer.com responsibly.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree," Infotracer.com will conduct only a preliminary people search of the information you provide and that a search of any records will only be conducted and made available after you register for an account or purchase a report.
The Michigan Office of Secretary of State (SOS) is the government agency that provides copies of driving records to those who request them. In most states the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does this. Some information contained in these records is public record, and some are confidential. The state follows all federal and state Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws.
The SOS allows requestors to obtain copies of driving records through the state's online portal set up for this very purpose. People can also request records in person at an official government office or through the mail. The requestor can get a certified copy or non-certified. If ordering a record for someone other than the subject listed, the requestor will need to provide a valid, legal reason for needing the information.
Driving records in Michigan contain the driver's name, address, social security number, birth date, and medical information. They will also have the driver's license number, license status, any revocations, suspensions, accidents, criminal driving offenses, civil infractions, and other traffic violations. They also contain CDL information, if applicable.
The state offers a few ways for someone to get copies of a driving history. The first way to get a copy of someone else's report is to use the online system and click the "Record Sales Services" menu option. The user will need to create an account if they don't already possess one.
Records for someone else can also be obtained by visiting any Record Sales Unit at the State Secondary Complex, Secretary of State Building, 7064 Crowner Drive, Dimondale. Requestors must have a completed BDVR-154 or BDVR-153 form and a fee of $11. The price can be paid by money order or check. They can get a certified copy for an additional $1. Requests can take up to 7-10 days.
Someone requesting a copy of their own record can also use the online system and go to the "More Services" hyperlink under the Driver's License and ID section.
Individuals can also get a copy of their own driving record by visiting a branch office and showing their driver's license. All offices accept cash, checks, money orders, Discover, MasterCard, or VISA debit and credit cards. They will need to pay an additional processing fee when paying by credit card.
The state also allows someone to request through the mail. They must first download the order form, fill it out and return it with payment to:
Michigan Department of State
Record Sales Unit or Record Lookup Unit
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918-1502
Companies and others looking for copies of another person's report can buy one online or in-person for $11. If they want it certified, they can pay another $1. However, they must set up an account to use the bulk processing service online.
Individuals can get a copy of their own reports by paying a $12 fee online or in person. If paying by credit card, they may also have to pay an additional processing fee.
Someone must be 14 years and eight months old to apply for a Michigan driver's permit. They must pass Graduated Driver Licensing, which consists of two segments of driver training. They must also pass a written and road test. There are a lot of other stipulations during the graduated licensing period before a resident can earn their full license at age 17.
You cannot obtain a driver's license in the state if you have never been issued one in another state or country and you have two or more convictions for moving violations on your driving record within three years of the date that you apply for a license.
The state uses a point system to keep track of driving offenses, accidents, and even minor infractions. If the driver earns six or more one-point violations or 12 or more in a two-year period, they will lose their license. Some examples of driving offenses and their point designations are:
Two Point Violations:
Four Point Violations:
Some Six Point Offenses (considered very serious) Include:
A driver's license may be suspended or revoked if the following is true:
The state has only one type of motor vehicle record in the state. However, they offer a certified version for an additional $1 and a non-certified version for $11. They can be obtained through the mail, online, or in person.
A Michigan Driving Report (MDR) includes the driver's name, driver's license number, date of birth, demographic information (sex, eye color, height, & weight), residence and mailing addresses, and credential information broken out by license type (operator, commercial learner's permit, temporary instruction permit, etc.).
It may also include any medical restrictions and endorsements, Transportation Security Administration (TSA) background checks, self-certification information, and medical certification information. The report will also show the license status along with convictions, Failure to Appear in court (FAC) issues, Failures to Comply with Judgment (FCJ), Traffic Crashes, 625G Permits, etc. The report also includes any license suspensions, revocations, and restrictions.
Criminal driving offenses are serious and usually carry a prison or jail term, steep fines, the loss of a driver's license, and sometimes court-ordered programs for punishment.
Reckless driving is considered a criminal driving offense in Michigan. For example, a first offense is considered a misdemeanor and is punishable by 93 days in jail and/or a maximum $500 fine. If someone is hurt by reckless driving, the punishment jumps to five years in prison and/or $1,000 to $5,000 in fines. If someone is killed, the punishment becomes 15 years in prison and/or $2,500 to $10,000 in fines.
Some other examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
Criminal driving offenses may also result in an insurance company rate hike.
Civil driving offenses in the state are far less serious, usually resulting in only paying a fine or ticket. Some examples include:
According to the Michigan Secretary of State, some interesting driving statistics include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Anyone with an account that has been approved by the Secretary of State can get a copy. Individuals can get a copy of their own records at any time with a completed form and payment. You can get certified driving records or non-certified.
Yes, and you can also get one in person or through the mail using the downloadable application form.
When ordering for someone other than yourself, you will need their name, birth date, and driver's license number and license plate number. You also must prove that you are eligible to receive the information. If ordering for yourself, you need only your driver's license.
Yes. The state uses a point system and assigns more points to more severe crimes. If you amass too many points in a short amount of time, your license may be revoked, and then you will have to go through a process to get it back, which may be lengthy and costly.
You should apply for a Michigan license as soon as you have established residency.
You will need to bring the following documents to a Secretary of State office.
Although you can start learning to drive when you are almost 15 years old, you cannot get your full license until age 17. You must go through three steps, and each step has specific requirements like education, tests you must pass, and supervised driving time. There are also stipulations you must follow. Each level brings you closer to your actual license.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.