InfoTracer.com is not a "consumer reporting agency" and does not supply "consumer reports" as those terms are defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA"). By clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and acknowledge and agree not to use any information gathered through InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including, but not limited to, evaluating eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or tenancy.
InfoTracer.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), and does not assemble or evaluate information for the purpose of supplying consumer reports.
You understand that license plate and VIN searches are only available for a purpose authorized by the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA). The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes.
This website contains information collected from public and private resources. InfoTracer.com cannot confirm that information provided below is accurate or complete. Please use information provided by InfoTracer.com responsibly.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree," Infotracer.com will conduct only a preliminary people search of the information you provide and that a search of any records will only be conducted and made available after you register for an account or purchase a report.
The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (Massachusetts RMV) acts like a Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in other states. It is the government agency that manages driving records and supplies them upon request to individuals and companies.
The state offers a couple of types of driving reports, including an “unattested public driving record” and a “true and attested public driving record.” Each has a specific purpose, and the requestor must pay fees when ordering. Third parties can request records, but they must comply with all Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. This agency also supplies crash reports for accidents.
Driving reports contain personally identifiable information (PII); therefore, anyone ordering them must prove they are eligible. The type of information contained will be the driver’s name, address, social security number, driver’s license number, date of birth, and medical information (for CDL). Their license status, accidents, revocations, suspensions, driving offenses, and the number of violations will also show up in the reports. Too many violations may result in their auto insurance provider adding surcharges to their premiums.
The state of Massachusetts offers two different ways to get copies of a motor vehicle history report. First, they have an online system where an individual or company can obtain a record. When requesting online, the person will need:
Another way to get a copy is through the mail. The requestor can download the application form and mail it in with payment to:
Registry of Motor Vehicles
Attn: Court Records Department
P.O. Box 55896
Boston, MA 02205
Requesting by mail takes two weeks and the requestor can pay with a money order.
Anyone requesting a record for anyone other than themselves must get a notarized permission form from the subject of the record.
The cost for an unattested public driving report is $8. The price for a true and attested public driving report is $20. According to the MA Registry of Motor Vehicles:
Teens 16 years or older may apply for a learner’s permit to begin driving. They must take an approved driver’s education class and verify their identity. After they pass a written examination, they are eligible to begin supervised driving. They must also pay a $30 fee and pass a vision test.
They may keep the learner’s permit for two years and follow the rules below:
If a young person operating on a permit or junior license is caught using a mobile phone while driving, the punishment is:
If they are caught texting (reading or writing), the punishment is:
If they are caught texting or using a mobile phone that results in an injury, the punishment is:
Speeding is a serious crime in Massachusetts, and if someone is caught driving above the speed limit, they will have to pay a $75 fine at the minimum. If they drive more than 10 mph over the speed limit, they will be fined $10 for each mile over. Speeding violations also carry a $50 surcharge.
Some additional laws, according to Mass.gov, include:
MA has only two types of driver records, and they each have a specific purpose, as stated below.
According to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles: “An Unattested Public Driving Record This record is primarily used for personal or informational purposes. This type of Public Driving Record can be accessed at the end of this transaction. The cost of the Public Driving Record is $8.00.”
According to the MA Registry of Motor Vehicles: The True and Attested Public Driving Record “is primarily used for official and court purposes as it is stamped with the signature of the Registrar. The RMV will mail this record, along with an explanatory cover letter, only to the record holder at the address that is on file in RMV records. The cost is $20.00. This type could be used for background checks. These are also considered certified driving records.
Criminal driving offenses are serious violations and punishable by jail or prison time, steep fines, and even sometimes court-ordered rehabilitation programs. Often these crimes result in the loss of a Massachusetts driver license.
Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state include:
Civil infractions are far less serious and usually result in either a warning or a fine. The fines typically range from $35-$175 and must be paid within 20 days. If not paid on time, the subject may have to pay a huge late fee. Some examples of civil driving offenses in the state are:
The state of Massachusetts takes safe driving seriously, and to improve road conditions and laws, the state collects and analyzes crash data on a regular basis. Some interesting crash statistics for Massachusetts include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Only qualified individuals can get a copy of your Massachusetts driving record. According to Mass.Gov, the Registry of Motor Vehicles:
“If a third party is interested in obtaining a Registry record that contains personal information about another person, the requester must certify that they are eligible to view the record. Eligibility details and required identification can be found in the Request for Personal Information in the RMV Records form.
The requester must complete the request form and obtain a notarized signature of the person whose personal information is being requested. If a federal, state, or local agency wants access to an RMV record, the agency must either obtain a subpoena or follow the protocols outlined above.”
Yes, the state has a way for you to order online or through the mail using the downloadable form.
When ordering a report, you will need the following information:
No, the state of Massachusetts does not use a point system, but they keep track of how many accidents and violations you incur. However, some insurance companies do use a surcharge points system that affects rates.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.