Maryland Public Driving Records
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (Maryland MVA) is the state agency responsible for driving records and records requests. This is like a DMV in other states. They allow individuals and qualified companies like insurance providers and law enforcement to obtain a copy of someone's driving history report.
The state offers a few different types of records that a qualified individual can order. They have a 3-year history report, a complete driving history, and a vehicle registration report. These would most often be used by insurance or law enforcement. They offer certified or non-certified records.
Maryland takes protecting citizens' privacy very seriously and complies with all state and federal Driver Privacy Protect Act (DPPA) laws. Some driver records will contain personally identifiable information like the subject's social security number, Driver's License number, birthdate, home address, and physical description. CDL reports contain medical information. Other information contained in the reports will be car accidents, driving violations, criminal offenses, tickets, DUI/DWI/OWI, license status, revocations, suspensions, and other notations.
How to Request a State Driving History Report
Maryland's Motor Vehicle Administration allows three different ways for users to get copies of reports. They allow someone to order online using their portal, and the requestor can pay via credit card. They take American Express, Discover Card, MasterCard, Visa, or an electronic check. The report will be mailed to the Maryland driver's address on file with the MVA.
Additionally, someone can download the application form and bring it and the fee to any MVA branch office and obtain one that way.
Another way to get a driving record is to send the application in through the mail. When ordering through the mail, requestors must pay in the form of a check or money order made payable to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). They must also include their driver's license number on the check.
Businesses or other qualified organizations can order using a bulk reports request form.
Maryland Motor Vehicle Records Cost
Regardless of the type of report requested, certified reports cost $12.00 and non-certified records cost $9 in the state of Maryland. Requestors can order more than one type of report at a time. When ordering bulk reports, the cost remains the same.
Driving Laws in the State
Like many states, Maryland uses a graduated licensing process for new and inexperienced drivers. Someone must be 16 years and six months or older to apply for their permit to begin driving. New drivers using a permit are subject to strict driving laws such as no driving at night or alone with the supervision of a licensed driver 21 or older in the car with them.
The state uses a driver point system to keep track of all infractions (civil and criminal), and if the driver earns too many in a short period of time, they may lose their license. The MVA describes the punishment as:
- 3 to 4 points - The MVA will send you a warning letter
- 5 to 7 points - The MVA will require you to enroll in a Driver Improvement Program (DIP)
- 8 to 11 points - The MVA will send you a notice of suspension
- 12 or more points - The MVA will send you a notice of revocation
Some examples of point violations in the state are:
- Any moving violation not listed below and not contributing to an accident - 1 point
- Following another vehicle too closely - 2 points
- Speeding in excess of the posted speed limit by 10 miles an hour or more - 2 points
- Driving with an improper class of license - 2 points
- Failing to stop for a school vehicle with activated alternately flashing red lights - 3 points
- Any violation of ß 21-1111 (putting glass, injurious substances, or refuse on highway or bridge or in waters) of this article - 2 points
- Passing an emergency or police vehicle under the provisions of ß 21-405(d) of this article - 2 points
- A violation of ß 21-511(a) (the right of way to blind or deaf pedestrians) of this article - 2 points
- Failure to stop a vehicle for a steady red traffic signal in violation of ß 21-202 of this article or a nonfunctioning traffic control signal in violation of ß 21-209 of this article - 2 points
- Operating a limousine in violation of ß 21-1127(a) of this article - 2 points
- Use of a motor vehicle in violation of the Illegal Dumping and Litter Control Law under ß 10-110(f)(2)(i) of the Criminal Law Article - 2 points
- Use of a motor vehicle in violation of the Illegal Dumping and Litter Control Law under ß 10-110(f)(2)(ii) of the Criminal Law Article - 3 points
- Any moving violation contributing to an accident - 3 points
- Any violation of ß 16-303(h) or (i) of this title - 3 points
- Any violation, except violations committed on the John F. Kennedy Memorial Highway, of ß 21-1411 of this article - 3 points
- Speeding in excess of the posted speed limit by 30 miles an hour or more - 5 points
- Driving while not licensed - 5 points
- Failure to report an accident - 5 points
- Driving on a learner's permit unaccompanied - 5 points
- Any violation of ß 17-107 of this article (driving on a suspended registration and license for failure to have insurance) - 5 points
- Participating in a race or speed contest on a highway - 5 points
- Any violation of ß 16-304 or ß 16-305 of this title - 5 points
- Any violation of ß 22-404.5 (power booster system – device installed which allows nitrous oxide to combine with gasoline for the purpose of increasing engine power) of this article - 5 points
- Speeding in excess of a posted speed limit of 65 miles an hour by 20 miles an hour or more - 5 points
- Aggressive driving in violation of ß 21-901.2 of this article - 5 points
- Use of a motor vehicle in violation of the Illegal Dumping and Litter Control Law under ß 10-110(f)(2)(iii) of the Criminal Law Article - 5 points
- Reckless driving - 6 points
- Driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs, or driving within 12 hours
- after arrest under ß 21-902.1 of this article - 8 points
- Turning off lights of a vehicle to avoid identification - 8 points
- Failing to stop after accident resulting in damage to attended vehicle or property - 8 points
- Failing to stop after accident resulting in damage to unattended vehicle or property - 8 points
- Any violation of ß 16-815 or ß 16-816 of this title (driving vehicles not authorized by license or operating school vehicles) - 8 points
- Failing to stop after an accident resulting in bodily injury or death 12 points
- Any violation of ß 16-303 of this title (driving while privilege is cancelled, suspended refused or revoked) -12 points
- Any violation of ß 16-301(unlawful application for use of license or permit), ß 16-302 (duplication or reproduction of identification card or driver's license), ß 16-804 (an individual who drives a commercial license may not have more than one driver's license), or ß 16-808 (ineligible to drive a commercial motor vehicle) - 12 points
- Homicide, life-threatening injury under ß 3-211 of the Criminal Law Article, or assault committed by means of a vehicle - 12 points
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol, while under the influence of alcohol per se, or while impaired by an illegally used controlled dangerous substance - 12 points
- Any felony involving use of a vehicle - 12 points
- Fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer - 12 points
- The making of a false affidavit or statement under oath, or falsely certifying to the truth of any fact or information to the Administration under the Maryland Vehicle Law or under any law relating to the ownership or operation of motor vehicles - 12 points
- Any violation involving an unlawful taking or unauthorized use of a motor vehicle under ß 7-105 or ß 7-203 of the Criminal Law Article, or ß 14-102 of this article - 12 points
- A violation of ß 21-1124.3 of this article (text messaging or using cellphone that causes an accident that results in death or serious bodily injury - 12 points
Different Types of Driving Reports in the State
Maryland motor vehicle administration records include a 3-year and complete driving history. The MVA can provide certified copies if needed of non-certified.
3-Year Driving Record (certified driving record or non-certified)
The three-year driving record will include the past three years of accidents, traffic violations, tickets, points, criminal offenses, DUIs, license status, revocations, suspensions, and any court-ordered programs such as safe driver attendance. This report may contain personally identifiable information (PII) as well.
Complete Driving Record (certified or non-certified)
The complete Maryland driver record will include all information from when the person first obtained a Driver's License. The information contained will be the same as above, just for a longer time period. This report may contain personally identifiable information (PII) as well.
Vehicle Registration Report
Often used by insurance or law enforcement, another type of report available is a copy of the vehicle registration which will include vehicle details along with driver information.
Criminal Driving Offenses
Criminal driving offenses are serious and usually include steep fines and jail time along with other court-ordered punishments. It may also include a suspended license. Some examples of criminal driving offenses are:
- Reckless driving
- Excessive speeding
- Vehicular manslaughter
- Driving without a license
- Leaving the scene of an accident (hit and run)
- Evading a police officer
These types of offenses will earn high points and may also increase the driver's auto insurance rates. The driver may also incur a license suspension. There is a possibility of having these removed from their record by expungement down the road.
Civil Driving Offenses
Civil driving offenses are far less serious and normally result in a warning or a ticket to pay. Some examples of civil driving offenses in the state are:
- Speeding (not excessively)
- Running through a stop sign or red light
- Parking in a no-parking zone
- Not wearing a seat belt
- Failure to yield
- Broken taillight
- Illegal modifications to the vehicle
- Other traffic offenses
State Driving Records Statistics
The MVA keeps detailed crash and driving statistics for the state to improve driver safety and initiate programs to achieve that goal. Some interesting statistics include:
- The average number of fatal car crashes each year total 492
- On average, the state sees 33,391 injury crashes
- Property damage (only) crashes total 81,672 each year
- Baltimore has the highest number of crashes per year
- October is the month with the higher number of car crashes
- Friday is the day with the most crashes
- Most car crash drivers are between 25-34 years old
Driving Records Search Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Who Can Get a Copy of Your Driving Record?
The state closely follows all DPPA laws, and only those authorized to view your record can get a copy of yours. This includes law enforcement, insurance companies, attorneys, researchers, and others. You can also get a copy of yours anytime.
Can I Order a State Driver's License Records Online?
Yes. The state makes it easy to order online, in person at a MVA office, or through the mail using the downloadable form.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Report?
You will need your name, date of birth, license number, address, and other details.
Helpful State Driving Record Links
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.