By uploading a photograph and selecting to conduct a face search, you understand that the photograph you uploaded will be collected and stored by InfoTracer and/or it’s processor(s) for the purpose of determining the identity within the photograph and to compare with facial images available from public sources and other resources. The photograph will not be disclosed by InfoTracer without your consent unless the disclosure if required by law or by a valid legal subpoena. The photograph will be permanently deleted from InfoTracer’s systems within a reasonable time after your search, not to exceed three years from the date of your search. A copy of InfoTracer’s Biometric Information and Security Policy for the use of photographs is included in our Privacy Notice.
InfoTracer.com is not a "consumer reporting agency" and does not supply "consumer reports" as those terms are defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA"). By clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and acknowledge and agree not to use any information gathered through InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including, but not limited to, evaluating eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or tenancy.
You acknowledge that you have the legal authority to provide this photograph for the above defined purpose and that your search does not violate our Terms of Service and Privacy Notice, or any applicable laws. Further, you consent to InfoTracer’s collection, use, and storage of the photograph for the above defined purpose.
InfoTracer.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), and does not assemble or evaluate information for the purpose of supplying consumer reports.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and agree not to use information provided by InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including to make determinations regarding an individual's eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or for tenant screening.
You understand that license plate and VIN searches are only available for a purpose authorized by the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA). The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes.
This website contains information collected from public and private resources. InfoTracer.com cannot confirm that information provided below is accurate or complete. Please use information provided by InfoTracer.com responsibly.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree," Infotracer.com will conduct only a preliminary people search of the information you provide and that a search of any records will only be conducted and made available after you register for an account or purchase a report.
The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (Maine BMV), a division of the Secretary of State, is the government agency responsible for driving reports for the state, and they provide them upon request. The state strictly complies with the federal Drivers Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA) laws. The BMV works just like a Maine DMV in other states.
The BMV offers a 3-year record and a 10-year record for individuals and companies. These reports may be certified or non-certified. Certified copies cost a bit extra. The state allows people to order these reports online or obtain them through the mail. They can be used for background checks or insurance companies as well as law enforcement and other purposes.
The information contained will include personally identifiable information (PII) such as name, address, social security number, birth date, and driver's license number. If this information falls into the wrong hands, it could be used for identity theft or fraud. The reports will also include accidents, infractions, moving violations, points, license status, and any license revocations and suspensions.
The state makes it easy for users to obtain a copy of their driving history report. They have online services where a user can request a copy as long as they have the following information:
They offer both a 3-year and a 10-year report. Each costs money, and for a certified driving record, the user must pay more.
Checks must be made payable to the Secretary of State.
Requestors may also order copies by mailing a written request to:
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Driver License Services Division
29 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0029
The BMV can also fax copies to a user upon request. For questions or to request copies over the phone, call the BMV at 207-624-9000, ext., 52116.
A 3-year driving history report costs $50. The 10-year version is $10.00. Certification costs an extra $1, and faxed copies cost an additional $2. Payment may be made with credit card or money order (if by mail).
The state also offers conviction, accident reports, and suspensions/revocation details for an additional $5 upon request.
When moving to the state, drivers have 30 days to register their vehicle and switch their current address on their license over to the state. Anyone 15 years of age with parental permission may apply for a learner's permit. They can then begin driving with an adult in the car (20 or older). The permit is good for two years, and the person must take a written exam before obtaining one. They must also complete a driver's education program. Once they turn 16 and have had no citations, moving violations, or other driving issues, they can apply for their Maine driver's license.
Driving is a privilege in the state and is subject to revocation or suspension if the driver incurs driving offenses. Some driving violations that will result in revocation are:
A few offenses that will result in suspension include:
Anyone committing the following crimes will lose their license for 90 days:
The state uses a point system for driving violations. Some point designations for driving infractions are:
The state of Maine offers two types of reports a 3-year and a 10-year. They can provide each one in a non-certified or certified version.
The three-year record will contain personal information as well as accidents, moving violations, infractions, citations, convictions, arrest reports, driver's license status, points, and revocations and suspensions. Some violations may not be included, but the user can contact the BMV for information on those. This report costs $5 and another $1 for certification.
The ten-year record will contain personal information as well as accidents, moving violations, infractions, citations, convictions, arrest reports, license status, points, and revocations and suspensions. Some violations may not be included, but the user can contact the BMV for information on those. This report costs $10 and another $1 for certification.
Criminal driving offenses in the state are serious violations that may result in jail time, steep fines, and other court-ordered punishments. Some examples would be:
Civil driving offenses are far less serious and usually involve either a warning or a ticket the driver will have to pay. Some common civil driving offenses in the state are:
The state suffers roughly 12,000 car crashes per year. Some other interesting driving facts for the state include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Requests must follow DPPA laws and have a valid reason for getting a copy of your driving record. The punishments for violating these laws are harsh. You can easily get a copy of your own report and furnish it to your employer or someone else who requests it.
Yes. You can order them through the online system, or you can order one by mail. With either method, you can obtain a 3-year or 10-year report.
When requesting a copy of your or someone else's driving history, you will need the person's license number or:
According to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, "The federal Drivers Privacy Protection Act of 1994 restricts access to personal information, including address and social security number (title 18, United States Code, chapter 123)."
Yes. You can use the system anytime, there are no restrictions, and it is never shut down.
Below are the license codes used:
Below are the restriction codes used by the state:
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.