Louisiana Public Driving Records
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (Louisiana OMV) is the government agency in charge of requests for official driving records. It acts as a department of motor vehicles (Louisiana DMV) in other states. They have set up an online system for individuals to print or view a copy of their driving history.
The LOMV has only one official type of driving record. They also take Driver Privacy Protection Act laws very seriously, and they have a disclaimer and a warning on their website about the misuse of personal information. All records obtained through this agency will contain personally identifiable information (PII), which in the wrong hands could lead to identity theft.
The records contain basic personal information such as name, address, social security number, date of birth, and driver's license number. They also have accident reports, along with the person's driver's license status, revocations, suspensions, CDL status, and offenses, including civil and criminal (tickets/accidents/violations).
How to Request a Louisiana Driving History Report
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles makes it easy for individuals and companies to order copies of a Louisiana driving report. They have a portal set up online for this very purpose.
After the user purchases their online driving record, they have 30 days to print or view it until it expires and is no longer available. According to the LOMV, the information will include:
- Accident Statement - Accident involvement indicated does not mean the individual was at fault or given a citation
- Personal Status - Indicates the status of an individual's personal driving privileges
- CDL Status - Indicates the status of an individual's commercial driving privileges if he/she has a commercial driver's license
- Offenses on Record - Includes all online data such as tickets/accidents
To obtain a record, the user will need the following:
- Driver's license number
- Date of birth
- License class
They take payment in the form of VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. They also accept debit cards but do not take money orders.
Louisiana Motor Vehicle Records Cost
The cost for any driving record within the state is $16, payable online. There is also an additional $2 fee "for electronic commerce in accordance with Louisiana Revised Statute 49:316.1 ."
Driving Laws in the State
Like many other states, Louisiana has a multi-stage licensing process that begins when the driver turns 15. At age 15, the person may then apply for a learner's permit. They must take 30 hours of in-classroom instruction and log 8 hours of driving time before moving on. The next step is an intermediate license which a driver can apply for when they turn 16. They must have held a learner's permit for 180 days and logged 50 hours of supervised driving. They must also have a parent's or guardian's permission. Young drivers cannot drive at night, only during the daytime. Once they turn 17, they can apply for their full license.
According to the Louisiana Highway Safety Commission, some other common driving laws in the state include:
- Cell Phones – New drivers (R.S. 32:300.6) - limits those driving with a Class "E" learner's permit or an intermediate license to use of a "hands-free" cell phone. This is a moving violation but is a secondary offense and may not be the sole reason for the stop. True emergencies are excepted. First offense fine max is $175; subsequent violations – up to $500. If using the hands-on phone and driving when a crash occurs, the above fines may be doubled.
- Cell Phones – Minors (R.S. 32:300.7) - Those driver's under 17 may not lawfully use any wireless communications device to send or receive a call or send or read a text while driving. Certain emergencies are excepted. This is a primary offense and a moving violation. Max fine is $100 for first offense; $200 for subsequent offenses, and double if a crash is involved.
- Texting while driving (R.S. 32:300.5) - No person shall operate any motor vehicle upon any public road or highway of this state while using a wireless telecommunications device to write, send, or read a text-based communication. It is a moving violation and a primary offense. The first violation is punishable by a $175 fine. Each subsequent violation is punishable by a $500 fine. Navigation with a global positioning system and use during emergencies are allowed.
- Alcohol Under 21 (R.S. 14:93.10) (R.S. 14:93.11) (R.S. 14:93.12) - It is illegal for persons under the age of 21 to buy, consume, or have an alcoholic beverage in their possession.
- Provider (R.S. 14:93.13) - It is illegal for any person, other than a parent, spouse, or legal guardian, to purchase alcohol beverages on behalf of a person under 21 years of age.
- Contributing (R.S. 14:92) - Intentional, enticing, aiding, soliciting, or permitting, by anyone over the age of 17, of any child under the age of 17, with no exception for emancipation, marriage, or otherwise, to visit any place where alcohol is the principal commodity sold or given away.
- Child Endangerment (R.S. 14:98(J)) - If a child 12 years or younger is a passenger in a vehicle where the driver is charged with DWI, the minimum mandatory sentence for 1st -3rd DWI conviction shall not be suspended and for 4th DWI conviction at least two years of the sentence shall be imposed without benefit of suspension.
- Improper Supervision (R.S. 14:92.2) - A parent or legal custodian of a minor, through criminal negligence, the permitting of a minor to violate a local or municipal curfew ordinance or enter the premises known by the parent or custodian as a place of underage drinking.
- Open Container (R.S. 32:300) - It is illegal to drive or occupy a moving motor vehicle in possession of an alcoholic beverage open to consumption.
- BAC .08 (R.S. 14:98) - DWI for all drivers over the age of 21 is .08 BAC; under 21 the BAC limit is .02
- Driver's License Seizure (R.S. 32:414) - A DWI conviction will result in a 365 day suspension for the first offense; two years for the second offense, and three years for third and subsequent offenses.
- Refusal of chemical test and consequences (R.S. 32:666) (R.S. 32:667) - Third refusal of a chemical test for blood alcohol arising from DWI arrest is a crime under R.S. 14:98.2. A refusal of such a test by a driver in a fatal crash is illegal. The first refusal subjects the offender to a one-year driver's license suspension, with a two-year suspension for subsequent offenses.
- Ignition Interlock (R.S. 32:378.2) (R.S. 32:415.1A(1)(f)) (R.S. 32:667) - The restricted hardship driver's license is available to offenders suspended for a DWI conviction or for refusing or failing a chemical test subsequent to a DWI arrest. Second offense convictions must be suspended 45 days before eligibility for the interlock license occurs, and third offenders must wait a year before obtaining the interlock restricted license.
- Primary seatbelt (R.S. 32:295.1) - Vehicle 10,000 lbs. or less, all occupants must have seat belt when vehicle is in motion.
The state does not use a point system but does keep track of all moving violations. When a driver earns too many offenses, they will lose their license for a period of months or indefinitely. Drivers who have lost their license can apply for reinstatement.
Different Types of Driving Reports in the State
The state has only one type of driving report for individuals and companies. The LOMV has a portal set up where drivers can get copies easily.
Official Driving Record (Motor Vehicle Record: MVR)
The Louisiana official driving record contains accident data, personal license status, CDL status, and all offenses (civil and criminal). This includes things like tickets, citations, warnings, moving violations, traffic violations, non-moving violations, and convictions.
Criminal Driving Offenses
Criminal driving offenses in the state of Louisiana are very serious and carry harsh penalties like expensive fines, treatment or other rehab programs, and often jail or prison time. Some common criminal driving offenses in the state are:
- Reckless driving - may include excessive speeding, erratic lane changes, and other dangerous driving maneuvers. For a first offense, the driver will pay $200 and spend 90 days in jail. A second offense and the driver will face six days to 10 months in jail and a fine of up to $500. If a driver earns three or more reckless driving offenses in 24 months, they will lose their Louisiana driver's license for two years. The driver may also be unable to procure an insurance policy, or their rates may increase
- OWI/DUI/DWI - or wet reckless is operating while intoxicated. This, too, carries hefty fines and jail time
- Excessive speeding
- Driving without a license or a suspended or revoked license
- Careless driving
- Aggressive driving
- Unsafe lane changes
- Leaving the scene of an accident (hit and run)
- Evading a police officer
Civil Driving Offenses
Civil driving offenses are far less severe than criminal and usually only cost a fine. These may include moving or non-moving violations. Sometimes the driver will get off with just a warning. Some include:
- Running a red light
- Parking in a no-park zone
- Going the wrong way down a one-way street
- Broken taillight or other mechanical issues
- Failing to yield
- Not wearing a seatbelt
- Speeding (not excessively)
- Driving without a vehicle registration
- Driving without a license plate
State Driving Records Statistics
Some interesting driving record statistics in LA include:
For 2019 Louisiana had:
- 35.9% fewer fatalities in (Cars, Light Trucks, SUVs, and Vans
- 24.6% fewer serious and moderate injuries in (Cars, Light Trucks, SUVs, and Vans)
From 2018 to 2019, some stats include:
- 26.1% decrease in pedestrian fatalities
- 6.6% decrease in pedestrian injuries
- Injuries have trended upwards since 2006
The causes of most accidents are:
- Cell phone use while driving
- Aggressive driving
- Drinking and driving
Driving Records Search Frequently Asked Questions
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Who Can Get a Copy of Your Driving Record?
Anyone who can provide a legal reason for the driver record can obtain one. However, LA insists on strict adherence to Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. Their website shows a strict warning that the report will contain private information and must be used legally. Insurance companies and private investigators performing background checks can also get them legally.
Can I Order a State Driver's License Records Online?
Yes. The state has set up an online tool to use to order reports. They will remain available for viewing and printing for 30 days. They cost $16 each plus an online fee of $2.
What Information Do I Need to Get a Report?
You will need your name, address, driver's license number, date of birth, license class, a printer (to print the report), and valid credit card for payment.
What Laws Can I Refer to for DPPA?
"In accordance with the US Code, Title 18, #2721 through #2725 and Section 350 of Public Law 106-69 which amended the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act OLA File No. 1999-1126."
Is the System Available 24/7?
No. The service is available most times, but it is closed from 11:30 PM until 4:00 AM each day.
What is the Penalty for Violating DPPA Laws?
"A person who knowingly violates the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act shall be fined a minimum of $2500.00 in damages to the person whose record was improperly released."
Helpful State Driving Record Links
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.