By uploading a photograph and selecting to conduct a face search, you understand that the photograph you uploaded will be collected and stored by InfoTracer and/or it’s processor(s) for the purpose of determining the identity within the photograph and to compare with facial images available from public sources and other resources. The photograph will not be disclosed by InfoTracer without your consent unless the disclosure if required by law or by a valid legal subpoena. The photograph will be permanently deleted from InfoTracer’s systems within a reasonable time after your search, not to exceed three years from the date of your search. A copy of InfoTracer’s Biometric Information and Security Policy for the use of photographs is included in our Privacy Notice.
InfoTracer.com is not a "consumer reporting agency" and does not supply "consumer reports" as those terms are defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA"). By clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and acknowledge and agree not to use any information gathered through InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including, but not limited to, evaluating eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or tenancy.
You acknowledge that you have the legal authority to provide this photograph for the above defined purpose and that your search does not violate our Terms of Service and Privacy Notice, or any applicable laws. Further, you consent to InfoTracer’s collection, use, and storage of the photograph for the above defined purpose.
InfoTracer.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), and does not assemble or evaluate information for the purpose of supplying consumer reports.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and agree not to use information provided by InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including to make determinations regarding an individual's eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or for tenant screening.
You understand that license plate and VIN searches are only available for a purpose authorized by the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA). The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes.
This website contains information collected from public and private resources. InfoTracer.com cannot confirm that information provided below is accurate or complete. Please use information provided by InfoTracer.com responsibly.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree," Infotracer.com will conduct only a preliminary people search of the information you provide and that a search of any records will only be conducted and made available after you register for an account or purchase a report.
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KTC), Division of Driver Licensing is the state agency in charge of driver records. They act as the department of motor vehicles (Kentucky DMV) like in other states. The agency issues copies of driver records to individuals and companies upon request.
However, they require that anyone requesting copies comply with federal and state Driver Privacy Protection Act laws. The KTC offers three types of reports and allows users to get a copy via three methods, in person, by mail, and also online using their online system. They provide 3-year and 5-year histories as well as clearance letters for employers and background check purposes.
Anyone can request a three-year report as it contains no personally identifiable information (PII) and could not be used for identity theft. However, the full driving history report includes things like name, home address, social security number, gender, date of birth, physical description, and medical info. It also contains a list of all licenses issued to the person, accidents, driver status, any traffic violations, DUIs, convictions, driver's license status, revocations, suspensions, administrative entries pursuant to driving privileges, CDL information, and more.
The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (on drive.ky.gov) offers users a variety of ways to get different reports. They have set up an online portal where visitors can easily request a 3-year report which contains no personal information. Individuals and companies can request a complete history report (which goes back five years) and has all the information, and they can also get clearance letters.
To request a three-year report which is available to the public, users can visit Kentucky Three-year Driving History Records. As soon as the user completes the order, the report will be emailed to them. They can access and print it for 14 days, then it will expire. They can pay online using American Express, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. They can also pay by debit card. When paying online the user will also pay a convenience fee.
Requestors can also request a report in person at any Driver Licensing Field Office. They can pay fees with a money order, debit, or credit card, but the offices do not accept cash or personal checks.
A full driving history report is also available through the mail from the Division of Driver Licensing in Frankfort. They only accept certified cashier's checks or money orders. Individuals must have their name, mailing address, social security number, driver's license number, and date of birth when ordering.
Clearance letters can also be obtained through the mail or in person at a Drivers Licensing Regional Office.
A three-year Driving History Records (DHR) costs $5.50 if purchased online. If the requestor visits in person or orders it by mail, the price is only $3.
Clearance letters also cost $3 each, but they cannot be purchased online. They must be obtained either by mail or in person at a licensing facility.
Kentucky uses a graduated licensing program for anyone under the age of 18. When someone is 16 years or older, they may apply for a driver's permit. They must comply with strict laws such as supervised driving; someone 21 or older must be in the car with them at all times, they must complete 60 hours of supervised driving before moving on, and they cannot drive after dark. A parent or guardian must approve their application. After 180 days with a learner's permit, the driver can apply for their intermediate license. They must pass a written and road test, and then they can only drive during daylight hours and with only one person in the car. After they turn 18, they can apply for their full license without any restrictions.
Kentucky has strict driving laws and uses a point system to keep track of violations. Too many violations in a short period of time may result in a license revocation or suspension, fines, and even jail time.
Some of the common offenses and points assigned are:
Kentucky offers three types of driving records for individuals and companies. Each has a specific purpose. The three-year report does not contain any PII and is available to the public. The five-year report does include personal details and can only be ordered by the individual and other entities (with a notarized permission slip from the individual listed).
The three-year driving history report is available to the general public, and it contains no personal information such as the driver's gender, date of birth, and social security number. It will also not have any accident data on it. The cost for this report is $3. The record will be emailed to the recipient, and they have 14 days to print it out, or it will expire.
The five-year or complete driving history record does contain personal information such as a home address, gender, date of birth, their Kentucky driver's license number, and social security number. It is not available to the general public, only the individual and qualified entities. The cost for this type of record is also $3 and it will include accident information. Companies can request up to 50 at a time.
Auto insurance companies often use a clearance letter as a certified copy of the driver's full driving history. They cannot be purchased online but can be obtained by mail and in person at a Driver Licensing Regional Office. This report costs $3 also.
Criminal driving offenses in the state are serious and may lead to prison time, steep fines, and the loss of a driver's license. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
If someone earns 12 points within a 2-year period, they will lose their license via a suspension.
Civil driving offenses in the state are far less serious and usually result in a ticket or fine. There is no obligation to show up in court, but someone could if they want to fight it.
Some examples of civil driving offense include:
Driving safety is very important to Kentucky and the state police. They have published a report of driving statistics and work hard to improve roadway safety to reduce the number of fatal car crashes.
Some driving statistics in Kentucky include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Kentucky follows strict Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws, and only authorized individuals and companies can get a copy of your driving record. Those may include insurance agents, anyone concerned with motor vehicle safety, private investigators, lawyers, law enforcement, and others listed on the form.
Yes. You can use the online system if you are looking for a non-PII (personally identifiable information) report and if you need a copy of your own. Clearance letters, however, cannot be obtained online.
According to the Kentucky Department of Transportation, "By law, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet is required to maintain driver history for five years. Points assessed are removed two years from the date of conviction, not the date of the citation. The violation will remain on the record for five years. Three-year records are also maintained for insurance companies to obtain."
Points earned in other states do not transfer to Kentucky. When you first move there, you start with a zero balance.
If you are convicted of too many violations, you may be ordered by the courts to attend traffic school or complete a driver safety course.
Underage drivers must have at least 180-days with no violations before applying for their full license. If they get a moving violation during the 180-days, the time resets, and they have to start over.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.