The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) is the agency responsible for motor vehicle records and driver abstracts. It is their version of a department of motor vehicles (Iowa DMV office) in other states. This agency supplies motor vehicle reports upon request.
The state has set up the myMVD website where individual users can request reports as well as perform other functions. They also allow requestors to get copies through the mail. The state has also set up a website for companies and other entities to obtain driver reports for other people. When requesting copies, the users must comply with the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (18 USC §§ 2721-2725) and Iowa Code section 321.11.
These records will contain moving violations, traffic accidents, traffic offenses like DUI/DWI, reckless driving, and even minor infractions like running a red light or parking in no parking zone. They will also have the user's license status, any revocations or suspensions, the driver's name, driver's license number, birth date, age, height, weight, hair and eye color, social security number, and sometimes medical information. The reports sometimes contain the license class, endorsements, and any restrictions.
The Iowa Department of Transportation is the agency to contact for driver records. They have a web portal for individuals can use to get a copy online. When requesting, the user must have their own driver's license number, date of birth, social security number, and vehicle information. Those requesting records for someone else must provide a lot more information, such as their own personal details and compliance proof of DPPA. A copy of their identification card will be necessary.
Employers and other agencies performing background checks can get copies using the online system set up for them.
Either can also request a copy by downloading the online form and sending it in by mail to:
Driver & Identification Services
Iowa Department of Transportation
PO Box 9204
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204
When ordering a certified copy by mail, the requestor must have a copy of the driver's license and pay the fee by check or money order.
All records from the Iowa Department of Transportation are certified, and the cost is the same for all records. The fee is $5.50 plus another $3, which covers a $1.50 online service fee and a $1.50 credit card processing fee.
According to the Iowa Department of Transportation, driving is a privilege in the state, and "There are six ways your driving privileges may be withdrawn: cancellation, suspension, revocation, barred, denial and disqualification (commercial license only - see Iowa's, CDL Manual)."
Iowa uses a graduated process for driver's licenses for persons under the age of 18. Drivers can apply for an instruction permit at age 14. They must hold this permit for 12 months, and they must have parental or guardian permission. They can only drive during the day and must have someone 21 or older in the car. The person must log 20 hours of supervised driving along with pass a written test and take a vision test. If they have had no accidents, they can then apply for an intermediate permit. Anyone with an intermediate permit must be 16 years or older and follow the same rules as with the instruction permit. They must remain accident and violation-free for at least 12 months before applying for their full license, which they can apply for at age 17.
Iowa uses a point system for violations, and each violation may earn between 1-4 points. Anyone who earns 3 points in a 12-month period will lose their license.
In Iowa, a person's license may be suspended with any of these violations:
Below are some unlawful uses of a driver's license in the state:
The following are crimes that the state will immediately revoke your license for:
Iowa offers only one type of driving record called a Certified Driving Record.
The report will contain a lot of personal information, including the driver's full name, address, social security number, driver's license number, medical information, CDL or other class distinctions, civil and criminal violations, parking tickets, DUIs, points on their license and the license status.
Criminal driving offenses are much more serious and usually carry steep fines and jail or prison time along with other court-ordered punishments. Some criminal driving offenses in the state include:
Anyone earning a criminal driving offense will face legal issues and have their car insurance rates increase.
Civil driving offenses are far less serious and may include non and moving violations. These offenses are usually handled with a warning or a ticket/fine.
Some moving violations include:
Some non-moving violations include:
For 2019 Iowa saw 336 fatal car crashes. Twenty-five percent of those involved alcohol, and 17% involved drug use. Some other driving statistics include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
According to the state's application form, anyone requesting driving records must follow all DPPA laws. Only legal representation, law enforcement, insurance companies, a towing company, toll facility, private investigator, or an employer with your permission can get a copy of your Iowa driving record. They will however need a copy of your driver's license information.
Yes. The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) has set up an online service so that individuals can easily get a copy of their own driving report. They also set up another portal just for people who need to get a copy of someone else's driver's record, like an auto insurance company or employer.
According to the Iowa Department of Transportation, after losing your driver's license due to a revocation or suspension, you must follow a strict process to get it back. The process may include "passing required tests and paying appropriate fees. If your driving privilege is taken away, you may have to show future proof of financial responsibility."
The state offers employers and other agencies like insurance providers a portal where they can fill out an online form and print and mail it in or order a copy of someone's driving record online.
Yes. The state does have a point system for traffic violations. Each civil and criminal offense will earn the driver points on their license. Too many points in a short amount of time (12 months), and the driver will lose their license.
Habitual offenders and OWI are two very serious offenses in the state of Iowa. A first offense OWI will earn you:
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.