Search Indiana Public Driving Records

Start your FREE Scan

Indiana Public Driving Records

The Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (Indiana BMV) is the government agency in charge of driver records. The agency is like a department of motor vehicles (DMV) in other states. They collect, store, and manage records and supply copies to those who need them.

The Bureau of Motor Vehicles offers a couple of different ways to get a report. They have an online tool where the user can view their report instantly, and it is free to use. They also offer an Official Driver Record (ODR) for the purposes of employment or verification with other agencies. These must be purchased but can be ordered online or through the mail.

According to the BMV, "The record shows current and resolved court-ordered license suspensions, citations, violations and other entries impacting your record - including reinstatement fees owed to the BMV." Each record will also have the person's name, date of birth, social security number, height, weight, and medical information. Only authorized individuals will receive those personal details. Some examples of offenses listed on the report will include DUIs, reckless driving, driving without a license, along with any license revocations.

How to Request an Indiana Driving Report

The Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles has an online portal where individuals and companies can request copies. For the individual, they can log in and view their driver record for free at any time, looking for points or other infractions. If an employer or other agency requires an official report, they can use the same portal to order one of those.

They also have kiosks around the state where people can request copies.

The BMV also has a downloadable form someone can use to order a copy of a motor vehicle history or driving record and even an insurance verification letter. When paying by mail you can use a check or money order. Online you must pay via credit card.

Indiana Driver Record Cost

Individuals can use the online system to view their own driver record for free. However, if they or someone else needs their driving history for an official purpose, they must order one. A regular driving report will cost $4, and a full driving history record will be $8. They also offer proof of insurance reports, and the requestor can request multiple things at one time.

However, when requesting, the person needs to supply their own contact information, the reason for the request (they must comply with strict DPPA laws), and the driver's name, license number, date of birth, the last four digits of their social security number, and their mailing address.

Driving Laws in the State

Residents must be 21 years or older to apply for a permanent driver's license in the state. Prior to 21, they may be issued a probationary license to begin driving. Teens, age 16 or older may apply for a probationary license after completing a driver education program.

Indiana assigns a point value for all moving violations, and offenders will earn points on their driving record as infractions pile up. When they get too many points on their license, they may lose their license for a few months or forever. Some common point violations per the BMV are:

  • Equipment violations (brakes) - 4
  • Bumper violation - 2
  • Not stopping at a red light - 4
  • Failure to yield - 4
  • Not slowing down or changing lanes when near a stopped emergency vehicle - 8
  • Improper passing - 4
  • Disregarding a stop sign at a railroad crossing - 6
  • Failure to comply with an officer - 6
  • Passing on a two-lane highway - 4
  • Driving the wrong way down a one-way street - 4
  • Tailgating - 6
  • Improper U-Turn - 4
  • Reckless driving - 6
  • Reckless driving with damage to property - 8
  • Reckless driving with bodily injury - 10
  • Aggressive driving - 8
  • Texting while driving 4
  • Passing a school bus - 8
  • Learner's permit violation - 4
  • Driving without a license - 8
  • Leaving the scene of an accident - 8
  • OWI/DUI/DWI - 8 (10 if bodily injury)
  • Criminal mischief with a vehicle - 8

Some speeding violations:

  • Excessive speed not indicated - 2
  • 1-15 MPH in excess of limit - 2
  • 16-25 MPH in excess of limit - 4
  • Over 25 MPH in excess of limit - 6

Anyone convicted of two or more driving violations in the state within a 12-month period is required to attend a BMV-approved Driver Safety Program (DSP).

According to the BMV, "An HTV (habitual offender) is any person who, within a 10-year period, accumulates two judgments resulting in injury or death. Below is a reference of some of the criminal offenses that will result in an HTV status being placed on your driving privileges. These include:

  • Reckless homicide resulting from operating a motor vehicle
  • Voluntary or involuntary manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle
  • A driver involved in an accident resulting in death or injury which fails to stop at the scene of the accident to provide information and assistance
  • Operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated, resulting in death
  • Operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or more resulting in death

An HTV is any person who, within a 10-year period, accumulates three judgments including:

  • Driving while intoxicated or with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or more
  • Reckless driving
  • Criminal recklessness as a felony involving the operation of a motor vehicle
  • Drag racing or engaging in a speed contest in violation of the law
  • Leaving the scene of an accident or failing to notify authorities of an accident when required
  • Resisting law enforcement under IC 35-44.1-3-1
  • Any felony under an Indiana motor vehicle statute or any felony in which the operation of a vehicle is an element of the offense
  • Operating a Class B motor-driven cycle in violation of IC 9-24-1-1(b)
  • Any of the offenses listed in Section A

Drivers who, within a 10-year period, accumulate three judgments from the above list will have their driving privileges suspended for 10 years.

Different Types of Driving Reports in the State

The state offers a few different types of driver records upon request.

Driver Record

The driver record will show the person's name, address, license status, suspensions or revocations, moving violations, traffic citations, and points on their license. It will also show their license class (CDL, etc.) and any endorsements and driving restrictions.

Driving History Record

The full driving history record will show all civil and criminal violations going back to when they first got their license. This is an official certified record and may be used by auto insurance companies, employers, law enforcement, and other agencies for official purposes. This report may include personal information and must comply with Driver Privacy Protection Laws (DPPA). It could be used in a background check.

Proof of Insurance

The state also offers a proof of insurance document they can send out to verify that the driver does have an active insurance policy in place.

Criminal Driving Offenses

Criminal driving offenses in Indian are serious affairs with heavy punishments such as steep fines, community service, jail or prison time, and other court-ordered program attendance. Some examples of criminal driving offenses include reckless driving, aggressive driving, operating while intoxicated (OWI), distracted driving (includes texting), DUI or drunk driving, as well as other charges.

Reckless driving is a very serious offense and may include:

  • Driving too fast or too slowly
  • Passing in an unsafe area or too quickly
  • Excessive speeding
  • Swerving in and out of lanes
  • Passing a school bus that is picking up or dropping off children

The punishment for a first offense of reckless driving could be 60-days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If there is property damage, that jail time could be double. If someone is injured, the offender will earn a Class A misdemeanor, pay up to $5,000, and could spend a year in jail.

Some other serious criminal driving offenses include:

  • Driving without a license or one that has been suspended, revoked, or expired
  • Driving without insurance
  • Vehicular manslaughter
  • DUI
  • Hit and run
  • Excessive speeding
  • Habitual offender
  • Evading an officer

Civil Driving Offenses

Civil offenses are much less severe and usually end up with the offender paying a fine. If they want to argue the point, they can show up in court and fight it. Often an officer may give the person a citation (warning) rather than a ticket.

Some examples of civil driving offenses are:

  • Parking in a no-park zone
  • Running a red light or stop sign
  • Failure to yield
  • Broken taillight
  • Speeding (not excessively)
  • Improper U-Turn

State Driving Records Statistics

Indiana average roughly 1,000 traffic-related deaths per year and more than 50,000 non-fatal injuries due to car crashes. The four main reasons for car crashes in the state are:

  • Alcohol and drugs - driving while impaired
  • Speeding - driving too slow or too fast
  • Distracted driving - texting or doing something else while driving and not paying attention to the road
  • Reckless or aggressive driving

Some other crash statistics from 2016 include:

  • Following too closely - 39,569
  • Failure to yield right of way - 35,752
  • Unsafe backing - 20,029
  • Unsafe lane movement - 10,213
  • Disregarding traffic signal or signs - 7,716

Driving Records Search Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.

Who Can Get a Copy of My Motor Vehicle Record?

According to the order form for a driving record, only people with a valid reason can get a copy of your driving record. This includes yourself, insurance providers, law enforcement, a legal guardian or lawyer, government agency, company in the normal course of business, toll company, private investigator, and others with authorization.

Can I Order a state MVR Online?

Yes. The state of Indiana has a nice portal where you can order a certified copy or view your non-certified information online.

When Do I have to Take a Defensive Driving Course?

Anyone who earns two or more traffic violations in a 12-month period will be ordered to complete a BMV-approved Driver Safety Program (DSP). You may lose your license until you do. Your insurance rates may also go up after some violations.

What if I Need a Report for Someone Other Than Myself?

As long as you can prove your need for the information based on DPPA laws, you can get a report for someone else. Those records will contain personally identifiable information (PII).

Does Indiana Use a Points System for Traffic Violations?

Yes, they do, and the points range from 2-10 for each traffic violation. Even some civil violations earn points on your license. It's important to get as few as possible, or you could lose your license.

What Information Will Show on the Report?

You may see your height, weight, hair, eye color, and other defining characteristics along with your full name, address, birthdate, driver's license number, and social security number. Other information includes CDL classifications, points, traffic offenses, traffic tickets, restrictions, suspensions, convictions, along with notes and remarks from the BMV. It will also show your license issue and expiration dates.

Helpful State Driving Record Links

Below are some helpful state driving record links.

Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.