A person's driving history is referred to as a drivers license record (DLR). The Idaho Transportation Department (DOT) is the agency in charge of issuing these records to individuals, employers, and other entities. It is the state's version of a department of motor vehicles (Idaho DMV). They offer a couple of different options for obtaining records. The first is through the mail using their downloadable form. The other is using the online system.
The state offers a few different types of reports. The first is a 3-year report showing the driver's record over that period. The second is a full history report showing all records going back to when they first got their license. They also have non-certified records, certified or photo-only, which is a copy of the person's license usually used by law enforcement. They also offer CDL information if requested.
Typically, driving reports in the state will have the person's name, address, date of birth, Idaho driver's license number, license status, license expiration date, license issue date, and sometimes social security number on it. Idaho Code 49-203 protects personal information by only allowing certain people to access these records. Along with PII (personally identifiable information), these records will also contain civil and criminal driving violations, moving violations, traffic citations, license revocations and license suspensions, medical information, accidents, and any participation in driver service safety programs.
The state of Idaho makes it easy for employers, government agencies, law enforcement, and individuals to request a copy of their own driving reports. On the Idaho Department of Transportation website, they have a downloadable request form someone can use to order an Idaho motor vehicle report. They need to fill it out, provide a copy of their ID card, and send it in with their payment to Idaho Transportation Department PO Box 34 Boise, ID 83707.
They also have a website where someone can request a copy online by filling out the digital form. A copy of their identification card may be necessary to order. Employers needing multiple records can use another online tool for that. Businesses and other types of organizations can create a dashboard of drivers to monitor for any changes, such as CDL drivers who get into accidents or incur violations.
When requesting a driver report, the user must pay a fee. Each type carries a different cost. Those wishing to pay with MasterCard or Visa will pay more.
The DOT offers a few different types of reports. The first is a non-certified report (either 3-year or entire driving history) for $7. Each certified copy is $21. A photo-only copy costs $7.
When paying by credit card, the user will pay an additional 3% in service fees. Requestors can also pay by money order or personal check.
In Idaho, drivers can obtain a permit at the age of 14 & 1/2 and get a license at 15 (after 50 hours of supervised driving). They need an adult with them and a copy of their birth certificate when applying. However, young drivers are subject to strict rules such as no nighttime driving unless accompanied by someone at least 21 years old sitting in the front seat. Once they reach the age of 16, those restrictions are lifted.
The state has a points system for violations, and each traffic infraction is worth 1-4 points. If someone earns too many points in a short amount of time, the driver may lose their license. Some examples of driving laws and point allocations are:
The point penalties in the state consist of:
CDL drivers (commercial driver's license) may earn higher penalties for the same violations.
The state has three different types of driver reports available. The most common are listed below:
A 3-year non-certified or certified driving record will contain the driver's citations, license status, violations (both civil and criminal), and personal information. This report is available to insurance companies, individuals, employers, and other organizations. The certified copy is $21, and the non-certified costs $7.
The Entire Idaho Report is exactly the same as above and can be selected in a non-certified or certified version. However, the time frame will be the driver's entire driving history from when they first received their license. This report may work well for employers and CDL licensing.
The photo-only report is for law enforcement officials and not available to employers. This is a photocopy of the person's driver's license. A photo-only report will cost $7 each.
Criminal driving offenses are more severe violations in the state and may earn you steep fines, jail time, and other punishments. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in the state are:
Sometimes called infractions, civil driving offenses usually end up with just a ticket or citation (warning). Civil driving offenses are far less serious and may include things like:
According to the Idaho Transportation Department, some interesting driving statistics include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
Employers (with your permission), government officials, businesses, the courts, law enforcement, and you can get a copy of your own driving history report. Others can as well as long as they comply with DPPA laws.
Yes. The state has an online ordering system, but you could also order through the mail by downloading the form.
According to the Idaho DOT, "When your suspension, revocation, disqualification, etc., ends, you may get your license back by applying to ITD DMV in Boise and paying a reinstatement fee from $25 to $285 depending on the violation. For certain offenses, a receipt of court payment, proof of child support compliance, proof of school re-enrollment, and or proof of financial responsibility (insurance/SR 22 certificate) may also be required."
Companies and employers who require many reports can use the dashboard portal to sign up for an account and pay for bulk driving reports.
Yes, and each traffic violation will incur between 1-4 points which will remain on the driver's license until removed.
Once every three years, a driver may have 3 points removed from their license by taking a defensive driving course (approved by the state and passed). Criminal convictions will not be removed, just the points associated with them.
In addition, drivers can take an approved traffic education safety course (TSC) to remove additional points (1-4) from their license.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.