The Georgia Department of Driver Services (the state's version of a DMV) is the state agency that handles all motor vehicle record requests. They maintain records and provide copies to individuals and organizations. However, if someone needs a copy for someone other than themselves, they need the driver's signature due to the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services offers three types of records, a 3-year and 7-year non-certified copy or a lifetime certified copy of their motor vehicle record (MVR). The certified copy is for insurance, employment, and other official purposes and will be stamped official by the DDS agency. Businesses that request these reports often can sign up for bulk pricing (more than 50 requests per year).
A typical motor vehicle report will show the person's name, address, license status, traffic violations, citations, DUIs, reported accidents, any license suspensions or revocations, and medical information. It may also include personal details (with an individual copy) such as the person's social security number, birth date, height, weight, hair and ‘eye color, and driver's license number.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) offers four ways for individuals and companies to get a copy of someone's driving record. First, they have created a mobile app where drivers can view the past two years of history for free. They can also request (certified or non-certified) copies sent to them for a fee.
Drivers can also create an online account and order copies of their driving records that way. Users can pay using Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover. They can also print out a payment coupon and mail in a check, cashier's check, or money order.
Individuals can also order by mail by downloading the application, completing it, and sending in their payment. When ordering by mail, they will need their full name, license number, date of birth, home address, and a stamped, self-addressed envelope. They must send all that with payment to:
Georgia Department of Driver Services
P.O. Box 80447
Conyers, Georgia 30013
The fourth way people can get a copy of their MVR is by visiting any Georgia DDS customer service center in person. There is one in Atlanta. They can download the form and fill it out before arriving. However, they must bring proper ID (for the licensee) and payment.
Georgia's Department of Driver Services offers three different types of reports, and they take electronic payments, credit cards, and paper checks. The cost for each is:
The driver must select either non-certified or certified copy when ordering.
Georgia's driving laws include infractions that earn a citation, a ticket, or even civil and criminal actions that are punishable by jail or prison time and steep fines. Some of the driving laws in Georgia include:
Georgia uses a point system for infractions, and those points go on the driver's motor vehicle report. The Georgia Department of Driver Services says, "A driver with 15 points in a 24-month period will have their license suspended. Licensed Georgia residents may request that the Department of Driver Services reduce the number of points assessed against their Georgia driver's license."
Some typical driving violations and their point associations include:
The state of Georgia has three different types of driver reports available. The most common are listed below:
Georgia offers a 3-year driving history record that shows all infractions, tickets, criminal and civil violations, as well as license suspensions, revocations, points, and personal demographic information for the past three years. Drivers can request a non-certified or certified copy of this record.
Georgia offers a 7-year driving history record that shows all infractions, tickets, criminal and civil violations, as well as license suspensions, revocations, points, and personal demographic information for the past seven years. Drivers can request a non-certified or certified copy of this record.
The lifetime driver history record will also contain the same information above but for a much longer period since the person first obtained a driver's license. Drivers can request a non-certified or certified copy of this record.
Criminal driving offenses in the state of Georgia carry steeper fines and sometimes jail or prison time. Some are considered felonies, and other misdemeanors. Some common criminal driving offenses in the state are reckless driving which is defined as "in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property." It may include speeding, changing lanes quickly, or tailgating. Reckless driving can cost the driver up to $1,000 and 12 months in jail. They will also have a misdemeanor on their criminal record.
Some other criminal driving offenses in Georgia include:
Someone driving with an expired registration, a hit-and-run accident, or racing on a highway will result in an automatic suspension of the driver's license. If someone gets a DUI or drives without insurance, they may lose their license.
If the driver injures someone due to reckless or negligent behavior, it may be considered a felony offense. If they kill the person, they could be sentenced from 3-15 years in prison.
Civil driving offenses in Georgia are less serious offenses that often involve non-moving violations. They typically carry only a warning or ticket (fine) that the driver has to pay. He or she can fight the matter in court. Some civil driving offenses include:
The Governor of Georgia posted some statistics on highway safety in the state, and they include:
The top reasons for traffic accidents in Georgia are:
One out of every six crashes involve a large truck, and rural counties have higher fatal crash averages.
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
The state of Georgia makes it very easy to get a copy of your driving report by using their custom mobile app, DDS 2 GO. You can order one using their online system, in person at any DDS customer service center, or through the mail by downloading the application and sending it in with your payment.
Yes, or you can use the DDS 2 GO mobile app to view the past two years for free or order a 3-year, 7-year, or lifetime report mailed to you.
Yes. When using their online services, you can view the report for 30 days then it will expire. A non-certified report is available for printing, but you cannot download it to your computer. A certified MVR cannot be viewed online, but it will be mailed to you with a seal on it. You must provide proper identification when ordering.
If you are an auto insurance company or employer who needs a lot of driving reports, you can sign up for a bulk plan (more than 50 per year) with discount pricing.
Points will not be added to your license under the following conditions:
You may request that up to 7 points be removed from your license every five years. Additionally, you must complete a certified Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course.
Once you complete the Driver Improvement (defensive driving) course:
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.