The Florida Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) is the government agency in the state that handles driving records and other vehicle/driver-related information. It is the state's version of a Florida DMV. They provide copies of motor vehicle records (mvr) upon request to individuals and companies. However, all driver records are protected by state and federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws.
These laws protect the driver's personal information like social security number, driver license or ID card number, name, and address. However, DPPA does not protect date of birth, driving violations, and driver status. Additionally, due to Florida Statute 119, the state will block address and date of birth for people in high-risk positions such as law enforcement, judges, tax collector, or other public officials.
The FLHSMV provides three types of records, a 3-year, 7-year, and a complete report. All three reports will contain the person's name, date of birth, guilty traffic violations, car crashes, license suspensions, revocations, cancellations, disqualification, and D6 suspensions. The complete report will also include all ID issuance, driver exams passed, and correspondence from the FLHSMV.
The Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is the state agency in charge of motor vehicle records. The agency makes it easy for someone to get a copy of their own driving record. They offer a way for someone to check the status of their driver's license by using an online tool called the "Online Driver License Check."
Individuals can also purchase a copy of a 3-year, 7-year, or complete motor vehicle report in person at any license service center, select court clerks, or a private vendor. They may also order by mail, by downloading the Driver License Request Form and mailing it in with the proper fee (either $8 or $10) to:
Bureau of Records
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 52
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0575
Anyone requesting a copy of someone else's report must also include a copy of the Driver License Record Request Form with the driver's name, date of birth, age, social security number, Florida driver's license number, and the address to send the requested copy. An example would be an auto insurance company when setting car insurance rates.
All checks and money orders should be made out to the Division of Motorist Services.
The Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles offer three different types of driver records. The 3-year driver history record costs $8, and the 7-year or complete driver history records (certified copy) costs $10.
Fees may be paid by check or money order.
You must be at least 15 years old to apply for a learner's permit to begin driving in the state. To apply for a license, you must be at least 16 years old and complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) and prove your identity. Some other driving laws in the state include:
The state uses a point system to show demerits on a driver's license, which may lead to license suspension, fines, and even the loss of insurance carriers to insure the vehicle. The person may also be ordered to take a driver improvement course. According to the FLHSMV, some point citations are:
Along with the chart above, license suspensions will be subject to:
The state of Florida has three different types of driver reports available. The most common are listed below:
The 3-year driver history record contains the person's name, date of birth, race, gender, height, weight, address, and license class, license status, ID issuances, exams passed, CDL information, guilty dispositions of traffic violations within the past three years, crashes that resulted in a violation, license suspensions, revocations, cancellations, and disqualifications of driving privileges, and D6 suspensions.
The seven-year driver history report will show everything from the 3-year report, but it will go back seven years instead of three. The 7-year record is also certified and can be used for official purposes such a credit report and background check.
A complete driver history record will contain all the items from both of the reports above, going back to when the individual was first issued a license. It also contained all correspondence with the department and correspondence "indicating adjudication withheld-clerk of the court (the person made school election when not eligible or made the election but did not complete the course)."
Criminal driving offenses in the state are those that result in fines and jail or prison time. Some may even be labeled misdemeanors or felonies and remain on the person's criminal record. Most infractions correspond to risking the safety of oneself or the public. Some common criminal offenses in the state are:
Even if the driver receives a lot of "minor" citations, they may be labeled a Habitual Traffic Offender, and that could result in criminal charges, fines, and even jail time.
Civil driving offenses are minor traffic violations, and an officer will usually let the person off with a warning or a traffic ticket which they must pay or fight in court. Some common civil traffic citations include:
Civil driving offenses will result in fines, but they may also show up as points on the driver's license. In some cases, they can take a traffic school course to remove some points or get their license back.
According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles agency for the year 2020, the following statistics occurred:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
You can easily get a copy of your Florida driving record by visiting a license center, court clerk, or private vendor that offers them. You can also get a copy of your driving record by mail after downloading the request form and paying the fee.
No, but you can check the status of your license online using a tool called the Driver License Check.
Yes, you can attend driving school to get points off your license, but you cannot use this method to remove points more than five times during your lifetime.
Personal information is protected by DPPA. Therefore, things like your social security number, driver license or ID card number, name, and address. Personal information covered by DPPA does not include the date of birth, driving violations, and driver status.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.