Search Delaware Public Driving Records

Start your FREE Scan

Delaware Public Driving Records

The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is the state agency in charge of providing driving records to individuals and companies. Their policies are strictly driven by state and federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws that protect certain information from exposure through public records.

The Delaware DMV offers three types of records: a 3-year record, a 5-year record, and a complete history of your driving record since you received your license. Anyone wishing to allow someone else such as an employer to get a copy of their driving record must fill out a Personal Information Release Form.

Individuals can request a copy of their own records, and others may request a copy of someone's driving record but only with an approved reason. The complete driving history will have the most information, including civil driving infractions, criminal charges, DUIs, parking tickets, citations, along with personal information such as the person's name, driver's license number, social security number, birth date, and possibly medical information for CDL reasons.

How to Request a Delaware Driving Record

The Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles handles all driving record requests and makes it very easy to get copies. For individuals, they can order online through the MyDMV system. When doing so, they must have a registered account. It is free to register. To register, the person needs a valid state ID or driver's license, their date of birth, and social security number.

Someone other than the individual can order a copy, but the subject must fill out a "Personal Information Release Form," and it must be submitted with the request. Requestors can choose from a three or 5-year report or a full history. The Personal Information Release Form must be notarized.

If ordering by mail, the requestor must include a stamped, self-addressed envelope and mail it with the paperwork and $25 fee to:

Division of Motor Vehicles
ATTN.: Driver License Administration
PO Box 698
Dover, DE 19903

CDL requests must be made in writing (through the mail) or in-person; they cannot be processed online.

Delaware Driving Record Cost

The cost for a 3-year, 5-year, or full history driving record is $25. The price remains the same whether the requestor orders it online, through the mail, or in person. If the Personal Information Request Form is also needed, there may be fees related to notarizing it.

Driving Laws in Delaware

Anyone wanting a driver's license in Delaware must be at least 16 years old and complete a certified Delaware Driver Education Course. They can then apply for a Level One Permit. They must hold it for at least six months and log 50 supervised driving hours before applying for their driver's license.

In an attempt to reduce the number of crashes, the DMV has created a Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program, which is basically a driver's license points program. When someone reaches a specific number of points (12 or more), the driver will lose their driving privileges for a number of months.

Some of the point violations in Delaware include:

  • Speeding 1–9 miles per hour (mph) over the posted limit - 2 points
  • Speeding 10–14 mph over the posted limit - 4 points
  • Speeding 15–19 mph over posted limit -5 points
  • Speeding 20 mph or more over the posted limit - 5 points
  • Reckless Driving - 6 points
  • Passing a Stopped School Bus - 6 points
  • Operation of a Vehicle Causing Death - 6 points
  • Aggressive Driving - 6 points
  • Disregarding Stop Sign or Red Light - 3 points
  • Other Moving Violations - 2 points

In some cases, the driver can get a 3-point credit by taking a defensive driving course and paying the fine. However, these three points will still show up for insurance reports and employment. They will only count against any future violations. This only applies to regular drivers; CDL/commercial drivers will keep the points.

Different Types of Driving Records in Delaware

The state of Delaware has a few different types of driver reports available. The most common are listed below:

3-Year Driver Report

The 3-year driver report will include all civil and criminal infractions, DUIs, points, license status, any license suspensions, and all other motor vehicle records (mvr) related to the individual's driver's license number over the past three years. Insurance providers may ask for a copy of this when evaluating you for automobile insurance. Employers may need one for a background check before offering you a position.

5-Year Driver Report

The 5-year report will mirror the 3-year report, except that it will go back further and cover the past five years.

Full Report

The full driving history report will include everything from the first date you received a driver's license. Depending on who is requesting the report, it may or may not contain personally identifiable information such as a social security number (SSN), driver's license number, home address, and medical details.

Criminal Driving Offenses

The state of Delaware breaks offenses into two categories non-incarcerable offenses and incarcerable, meaning the offense can land someone in jail or prison. Criminal driving offenses are subject to jail time. Some examples of serious offenses in Delaware that will end up with steep fines and jail or prison time are:

  • Driving with a Revoked or Suspended License
  • Excessive Speeding
  • Vehicular Manslaughter
  • Drunk Driving
  • Fraudulent Use of License
  • Distracted Driving
  • Driving Without Insurance
  • Reckless Driving
  • Hit & Run Accidents

Delaware takes reckless driving very seriously, and the first offense will earn someone $100-$300 in fines and 30 days in jail. Any subsequent offense will result in a $300-$1,000 fine and 30-60 days in jail. Plus, six points will be added to the driver's license. A DUI may be downgraded to "Wet Reckless" in some instances.

Another big driving issue in Delaware is "Careless or Inattentive Driving," which carries the penalty of $25-$75 in fines. A repeat offense will cost the person $50-$95 in fines and two points on their license.

Civil Driving Offenses

Civil driving offenses are less serious but still carry punishments. Sometimes the officer may only cite the person; other times, they will receive a ticket and have to either appear in court or mail in the fine. The Delaware Courts make it very easy to pay a civil driving offense ticket by mail, in person, online, by fax, phone, or using a kiosk. Some examples of civil driving offenses are:

  • Parking in a no-parking zone
  • Speeding less than 14 miles per hour over the speed limit
  • Driving the wrong way down a one-way street
  • Running through a red light or stop sign without stopping
  • Not yielding
  • Tailgating - following too close behind another car
  • Driving without registration or failing to have the car inspected
  • Mechanical violations (broken taillight)
  • Not wearing seatbelts
  • Illegal U-turn

State Driving Records Statistics

According to the Delaware State Police, there are roughly 714,426 licensed drivers in the state. There are 928,223 registered motor vehicles. Some other statistics are:

  • In 2017, there were 28,080 traffic crashes
  • That same year, there were 121 deaths due to traffic accidents and 8332 injuries
  • Traffic crashes cost the state $1.1 billion in damages
  • The majority of Delaware drivers are between the ages of 25-70
  • A traffic crash was reported every 19 minutes
  • Seven (6%) of the persons killed in Delaware in 2017 were minors (less than 21 years old)
  • One person was killed every 72 hours as a result of traffic crashes
  • One person was injured every 63 minutes in traffic crashes
  • For each person killed, there were 68 injured
  • One out of every 21 licensed drivers in Delaware was a driver in a traffic crash
  • Alcohol was involved in 37% of the fatal crashes
  • Of all the drivers killed in fatal crashes, over a third (38%) of them were under the influence of drugs and / or alcohol
  • The number of pedestrians killed in traffic crashes in 2017 was 35, up from 27 in 2016
  • For each pedestrian killed, there were eight injured
  • There were four bicyclists killed in traffic crashes in 2017. There were three bicycle fatalities in 2016
  • There were 107 bicyclists injured in 2017
  • Children under 15 years of age accounted for 20% of the bicyclists' injuries
  • There were 10 motorcyclists killed, of which 5 were wearing a helmet
  • Of the 9 motorcycle operators killed, 4 were under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
  • Of the 71 occupants killed in traffic crashes in 2017, only 32 were using occupant restraints
  • Of the 713 occupants killed in traffic crashes in the last ten years, only half (50%) were using occupant restraints

Driving Records Search Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.

How Can I Get a Copy of My Driving Report?

You can easily get a copy of your driving record by using the online system called MyDMV (dmv.de.gov). You can also order by mail using the form provided online. Anyone can visit a local DMV office to get a copy of the 3-year, 5-year, or full history motor vehicle report as well.

What is a MyDMV Account and Why Have One?

A MyDMV account is a registered account with the Delaware DMV that allows someone to log in and see their own reports, change their address easily, change emergency contacts, update their vehicle registration, and more as new services are added.

What Information Do I need When Requesting a Copy of My Driving Report?

You will need your full name, address, social security number, driver's license number, and birthdate. You may have to show a copy of your birth certificate to verify your identity. You also need a valid email address when signing up for a MyDMV account.

Can I Order a Motor Vehicle Report by Mail?

Yes, you can do so easily by printing out the Personal Information Release Form and filling out certain sections, paying the fee by check or money order, and sending it in to:

Division of Motor Vehicles
ATTN.: Driver License Administration
PO Box 698
Dover, DE 19903

Who Can Get a Copy of My Motor Vehicle Record?

You can easily get a copy of your own report (any of the three types) at any time. An employer, private investigator, researcher, insurance companies, law enforcement, and others may get a copy with your written permission. According to DPPA laws, others like a government agency may get a copy with a valid reason that qualifies under the law. Some people may get copies with personally identifiable information on them, and others may not, depending on the situation.

Helpful State Driving Record Links

Below are some helpful state driving record links.

Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.