The State of Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles provides copies of Connecticut driving records upon request. Personal information contained within motor vehicle records is governed by section 14-10 of the state General Statutes and the federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA). Only the individual subject of the record, someone performing a background check like a licensed PI, an authorized party, or someone on the list allowed recipients may get copies.
The state offers a couple of different types of records, including a driver license file that includes endorsements, restrictions, and license class. They also provide a driving history report in either a CDL (for a commercial driver) format or a regular driver option which will show license revocations and traffic violations. Along with those, they can supply you with vehicle registration reports as well. For insurance companies, they offer a verification report showing that the licensed driver is insured which may help with auto insurance and insurance premiums.
Driving history reports will be the most comprehensive and contain the driver's name, address, date of birth, license number, plate number, and registration. It may also contain all their recent violations, sanctions, any license suspensions, and their driver's license status.
The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles handles all requests for driving history and other types of Connecticut driver records. They allow individuals and companies to obtain copies through the mail or in person. If you are ordering a copy for someone other than yourself, you can only do so through the mail. If you are requesting a copy in person, you must make an appointment. They do not offer any walk-in service.
The CT DMV provides a list of the only authorized agencies to issue these reports, and they include:
You can download the mail-in order form or bring it with you to the appointment. You must also pay the fee.
The motor vehicle agency's instructions for ordering through the mail state:
Mail completed form and documents to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
Copy Records Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
Obtaining a certified copy of your driving report is easy. However, you must follow the instructions above. If you order through the mail, you must also pay a $20 fee payable by check or money order.
If you make an appointment to get a copy in person, you will also have to pay the $20 fee. However, the Nutmeg State Financial Credit Union charges an additional $8 fee for the convenience. In-person, you may pay with cash, credit, or debit card.
Anyone 16 years or older may apply for a learner's permit before getting their driver's license. Connecticut has strict rules about driving while on a learner's permit, which includes:
For the entire time, a driver holds a learner's permit, he or she may not have any passengers except for either:
Additionally, learning permit holders may not drive after dark, everyone in the car must wear a seat belt, and no cell phone use is permitted. Drivers with a driver's license until they are 18 may not drive after dark.
Like many states, Connecticut has a points system, and these points accrue as drivers violate the laws. Some common points for violations include:
License points stay on the individual's record for 24 months. If they accrue too many points in a 12-month period, they could lose their license for a year or indefinitely.
The state of Connecticut has a few different types of driver reports available. The most common are listed below:
The driver license report is a report that will show the driver's license status, endorsements, any restrictions, and original issue date and status, not the license itself.
The driving history report will show the driver's full list of any violations, citations, parking tickets, license status, and sanctions. The report will show both civil and criminal driving charges. This report is considered a certified driving record.
The registration file report comes from the driver's registration. It will provide all the information on a regular car registration (car make, model, year, VIN, owner, and other details).
The insurance information report will validate that the driver has current insurance. This report may be requested by law enforcement or insurance companies when setting insurance rates.
Criminal driving offenses in Connecticut are the more severe crimes that will result in harsher punishment than civil crimes. One of the most common and dangerous is reckless driving. A first offense is a Class D misdemeanor where the offender will face 30 days in jail plus a $100-$300 fine. The CT DVM will also suspend the driver's license for 30-90 days.
A second offense of reckless driving turns into a Class A misdemeanor, and a conviction could equal a year in prison, plus a $600 fine and a license suspension of at least 90 days.
Someone operating under the influence of drugs or alcohol (OUI or DUI) may plea bargain down to a charge of "wet reckless." That may result in less jail time and smaller fines.
Some other criminal offenses may include evading a police officer, vehicular manslaughter, driving without a valid license, and other serious infractions.
Civil driving offenses are far less serious, and the sanctions are usually just a fine. Sometimes an officer may let the driver off with just a warning.
Some examples of civil driving offenses in Connecticut are:
For 2018, some glaring driving statistics for Connecticut include:
The most common reasons for Connecticut's car crashes, injuries, and fatalities are:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
The state of Connecticut makes it easy to get a copy of your Connecticut driving report. You can do so by appointment at the DMV or through the mail, just download a copy records request form (form j-23)and mail it in. You have to include a copy of your photo ID.
No, but you can schedule an appointment online with one of the four DMV offices that offer this service. Then you can show up in person and get a copy of your driving record.
It depends on the type of report you order. One has insurance information only (for insurance agencies), another is more about your license, and another includes driving history with infractions, crimes, etc.
Yes. Download the form on the DMV website, fill it out with a copy of your license, and mail it in with the fee.
According to state laws and federal DPPA laws, only specific people can get a copy of your motor vehicle records that contain personal information like your social security number, home address, and medical information. Employers, government agencies, and others with a signed consent form may also get a copy of your motor vehicle record.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.