The state of Colorado maintains public driving reports that they call motor vehicle records. Anyone who has ever had a driver's license will have a report. The motor vehicle record (MVR) will include minor infractions like speeding tickets and parking violations as well as criminal charges like DUIs and reckless driving. The Colorado Department of Revenue is like a Colorado division of motor vehicles (or Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles - DMV).
The state offers a 7-year record, a full driving history, and an accident report. The 7-year record is the most common, and it cannot be limited to less than seven years. Employers and others looking for a copy of someone else's report must have consent by the driver first.
Each motor vehicle record will contain the driver's name, date of birth, license number, registration data, and phone number. The full report may also include the driver's social security number, home address, medical information, and other personal details. These items are protected by the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) and will not be supplied to anyone without proper consent. Typically, employers or attorneys are the only ones who request records for other people.
The Colorado DMV fields requests for motor vehicle records. They do have a website where users can request a copy of their own, or an attorney or private investigator can request a copy of someone else's.
People can also request a copy by mail by sending in the following information:
Subjects can also visit any full-service driver's license office to obtain a non-certified copy for themselves. They can download the proper form and bring it with them to save time. There is an office in Denver.
Certified and non-certified copies are available online and by mail. The requestor must also pay the appropriate fees and designate what type of report they want.
The state offers reports in various formats and to individuals and employers as well as private investigators and attorneys. They accept payment in the following forms:
The cost for a non-certified copy of your driving record is $9, and the cost for a certified record (available by mail or at the Lakewood office only) is $10.
Anyone 16 years or older may apply for a driver's license. They must be a resident of the state for at least 90 days before applying. Anyone under the age of 18 is not allowed to drive while using a cell phone regardless of texting or talking. Some other state driving laws consist of:
Speeding is a serious offense in the state, and according to the table below, offenders will face fines and possibly jail time depending on how fast they were going. License revocations may also be a penalty.
Some other common roadway offenses are:
Anyone earning 12 or more points in 12 months will lose their license. Anyone earning 18 points in a twenty-four-month period will also lose their driver's license.
Motor vehicle reports are provided in accordance with state and federal laws such as the Fair Credit Reporting Act and DPPA. The state offers both certified and non-certified driving records. They have a 7-year report, which is the most common, a full report which covers everything, and an accident report.
The seven-year report includes all activity on a Colorado driver's record, including minor things like a ticket for failing to stop at a stoplight and speeding. It also includes major items like points on your license, suspensions, DUIs, and other criminal driving infractions. It shows only the last seven years.
The full motor vehicle report will show all activity going back until you first got your license. It may also include protected information like social security numbers, driver's license numbers, addresses, and medical information.
The accident report will show police details about any accidents that your vehicle has been involved in. These may be requested by insurance companies.
Criminal driving offenses in the state are much more serious and could end up as felonies. They include things like DUIs, reckless driving, speeding more than 25 mph over the speed limit, and vehicular homicide. Driving without a valid license, driving without insurance, and not stopping for an officer are other criminal driving offenses. Most will earn the offender a steep fine and may also result in jail time. Speeding in a construction or school zone may also be charged as a criminal offense and cost fines and 90 days in jail with a possible license suspension.
Those criminal driving offenses that are felonies are:
Habitual offenders who commit the following crimes more than once may lose their license indefinitely:
Some of the most common civil driving offenses in the state are failing to obey a traffic signal, speeding, and carelessly changing lanes. The least serious offenses are Class B offenses, and they may also include things like:
According to the state Department of Transportation (DOT), motor vehicle crashes are the number one cause of death in the state. Some other interesting driving record statistics from the DOT include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
The Colorado Department of Revenue is the government agency in charge of motor vehicle records and issuing reports. They make it easy for individuals to obtain a copy of their own report online, through the mail, and in-person at a full-service license office. The instructions for doing so are here.
When you order online, you can download a copy of your report from there, or you can order a non-certified or certified copy to be mailed to you. Anyone ordering a copy for someone else must have a signed consent form from the subject of the report.
The 7-year report will include all civil and criminal infractions that have occurred on your motor vehicle record in the past seven years, as well as the status of your license and any points you have incurred. The full report will include everything going back to when you first got your license.
Yes. The state makes it easy to order by mail. You download the order form, fill it out and send it to the Colorado Department of Revenue office with your payment for the fee. You must designate which type of report you want.
Any copy you order for yourself will include your address. Only authorized parties can obtain a copy of your records, and they must comply with DPPA laws. Personally identifiable information (PII) is protected by these laws.
Only you or someone you provide authorization to, for example, an employer. Others like law enforcement, a private investigator, or an attorney may also get a copy.
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.