State driving records are governed by Arkansas code section 27-50-901 et. Seq. The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (ADFA), their version of an Arkansas DMV (department of motor vehicles) keeps track of all driver violations and license suspensions. The agency also maintains a list of all drug and alcohol convictions for CDL licensed drivers.
They provide records upon request. However, these records are subject to the federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) laws. Any public records main contain the person's name and civil and criminal charges, but they will not include personally identifiable information such as date of birth, driver's license number, social security number, or home address. License photographs will also not be included. Anyone with a signed consent form can request records, and the release will remain in effect for five years unless it is withdrawn by writing.
Full driving records will contain personal details about the driver and civil infractions like parking tickets, illegal U-turns, and failure to stop for busses, red lights, or stop signs. The records will also include more serious criminal charges such as DUIs, reckless driving, vehicular manslaughter, and leaving the scene of a crime (hit and run). The report may also show license status (active or suspended) and any derogatory points on the driver's license.
The Arkansas Revenue Office oversees all driving reports, and they offer three different types: Insurance Record, Commercial Record, and History Record. Each contains different information for a different period of time.
The state has four ways someone can request a copy of their own or someone else's record (with proper authorization). They can order one online using the MYDMV system. They can download the application form and order one through the mail or visit any Revenue Office or the records counter in Little Rock. When requesting, the individual or company must submit the application along with a fee of either $8.50 or $10, depending on the report requested.
Employers in the state are invited to sign up to use the Commercial Driver Alcohol and Drug Testing Database online, where they can review drug tests required by CDL drivers.
The state offers three different types of driving reports, and each comes with different information. The insurance report costs $8.50, the commercial report for employers costs $10, and the history record costs $8.50. When requesting a copy, the person can select mail, email, or fax to have the record sent to them.
Someone needing an insurance record can get one by mail, online, or in person. A business interested in reviewing a commercial report can obtain one online, through the mail, or in person. Anyone looking for a complete history report can only get those by visiting the Driving Records counter in person.
Anyone 14 years or older can apply for a learner's permit in the state to be an Arkansas driver. They will have to have parent's or guardian's permission, pay the $20 fee, and provide a birth certificate, proof of school enrollment with a GPA of at least 2.0, and documentation saying they are a legal U.S. citizen.
One of the most common driving laws broken in the state is for speeding. Typical speed limits include:
The punishment for speeding is a $100 fine and up to 10 days in jail. A second offense could result in a $200 fine and 20 days in jail. A third offense carries a minimum of six months in jail. The state takes speeding very seriously. Anyone driving more than 15 mph over the speed limit could end up spending a month in jail and paying a $500 fine.
Arkansas has an "Administrative Point System" for drivers. The Department of Finance and Administration keeps track of all license points, and they range from 2-8 points depending on the offense. When a driver reaches 10 points, they will receive a warning letter. At a total of 14 points, an automatic court hearing is scheduled. The judge could decide on probation or license suspension. If the driver does not appear in court, their license is automatically suspended.
The state has a long list of violations and resulting points. Some examples are:
Speeding in a school zone will result in higher points per amount over.
The punishments for DUIs are as follows:
The state has three types of driver records, one for insurance companies, another for commercial purposes and employment, and another for individuals that includes their entire driving history. Each has different information, and they have different fees. Anyone with a signed authorization form can request a copy of a person's record.
An insurance record will show all traffic violations for the previous 3-year period. This report may be used to qualify for car insurance; this is how they set insurance rates. Other agencies may request a copy of this type. It will not include any personally identifiable information unless the subject has provided permission. It will not include medical details.
A commercial report is commonly used for CDL licensing or employment purposes. It may include offenses and information that is older than three years. If being used for a CDL license, it may consist of medical information and any restrictions.
A history record contains information that goes back to when the driver first got their license. It will include everything from criminal charges, civil violations, and even minor citations plus the status of the person's license and any suspensions and points.
There is also a special portal where trucking companies and other employers can sign up to obtain access to the CDL Alcohol and Drug Testing Database to review results on a regular basis.
Criminal driving offenses in the state are more serious than civil infractions. They usually entail endangering someone else, the driver, or showing a disregard for rules or other's safety. Some examples of criminal driving offenses in AR are:
Civil driving offenses are those where law enforcement may only ticket the offender or, if they are lucky, provide a citation (warning) without any fine. Some examples of civil driving offenses in the state are:
The state has some really strict driving laws, which has helped cut down on texting and driving and DUIs. However, the state has one of the highest rates of car accidents in the country. Some statistics show that:
The most common driving laws broken in the state are:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving reports.
The most common violation is speeding, and for the last period counted, the state saw 19,154 incidents. The next most common is driving without a valid license, and 8,135 people committed that crime.
The state takes a hard line against driving violations, but they offer an easy way for you to pay the fee to get your license reinstated, after having your driving privileges suspended. They have a section on the MYDMV website where you can pay a license suspension fee and wait for it to be processed to get your license back. You may also have to take a defensive driving course.
You can visit the Records Counter in person to request a copy of your Arkansas driving record, or you can request one through the mail by sending a signed release from the subject, your company name, address, telephone number, the contact person to:
1900 W. 7th St. Room 1130
Little Rock, AR 72203
Below are some helpful state driving record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.