Arizona public driving records are governed by the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (or DPPA), 18 USC 2721-2725 as adopted in Arizona law, Title 28, Chapter 2, Article 5. Only someone with "permissible use" can request a copy of yours.
Public driving records include your name, date of birth, criminal and civil driving infractions, parking tickets, citations, and points on your license, as well as your license status, any revocations, and suspensions. Private driving records will include your entire driving history with your driver license number, photograph, social security number, name, address, and medical information.
The Arizona Department of Transportation handles motor vehicle record requests. They offer both a public version for employers and other authorized parties and a personal version for you, which will include everything. They can provide an uncertified 3-year record for $3 and a certified five-year record for $5.
The Arizona Motor Vehicle Division allows interested parties the ability to order a record online (if you qualify) and through the mail after using the printout form. Requestors can also drop off the form at any MVD or "authorized third-party offices."
They offer two types of reports: public for employers, government agencies, and other requestors who are not the subject of the record. The other type is for drivers, which is a full copy of their own history and will include personally identifiable information.
Someone looking for their own driving record could also use third-party, public records portals to order a full copy of their record, including civil and criminal offenses.
The Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicles Division has two versions of a motor vehicle record (MVR), a $3, uncertified three-year report, and a $5, certified five-year report. They also offer an "extended history" version, which is a longer version of the 5-year report.
If someone is interested in a motor vehicle report that does not include driver information, there are free online sources that will give you the car's make, model, trim level, specific mechanical features, the manufacturer, and even the color. The public must comply with DPPA laws for more information.
Someone must be at least 15 1/2 years old before they can apply for a driving permit in the state. They must supply two forms of ID, a social security number, and proof of residency when applying. They must also have parental or a guardian's permission.
Some other driving laws include:
The state has a strict points policy, and anyone earning 8 points in a 12-month period will have to attend Traffic Survival School (TSS), and their driving privileges may be suspended for 12 months. Some examples of point violations are:
In terms of speeding, the state has strict laws for that too. The maximum speed limits for certain areas are:
Drivers exceeding speed limits may face fines of $150-$500. Speeding violations are considered class 3 misdemeanors and may result in 30 days in county jail.
The state DOT offers a few different types of motor vehicle records. They offer two versions of the report, one that contains personally identifiable information and one that does not. Depending on the person requesting will dictate which they receive. The DOT has three available reports, a 3-year record (uncertified), a five-year history, or extended (certified), and a CDL report.
The 3-year uncertified record means that it can be used for an individual and unofficial purposes. However, most employers and other agencies will require a certified copy. With an uncertified version, the contents are not guaranteed and may be subject to errors. The 3-year report consists of three years' worth of violations, infractions, citations, and license status. It will include name, address, and may or may not include PII depending on who is requesting it. It will not include medical information.
A five-year record is similar to a 3-year except that it shows the previous five years. If the requestor orders an extended history, it will show the full driving history going back to the beginning. The five-year report will have a stamp of certification, meaning that it is up-to-date and complete. It may or may not contain PII depending on the requestor but will not include medical information.
A CDL report is used for CDL licensing and agencies needing verification that someone has passed their CDL test and has a valid license. It will show any violations, citations, and infractions, along with medical information.
The state is very tough on driving offenses and has strict criminal policies, which include the revocation of your driving privileges. Even after criminal sentencing is complete, driving privileges will not be restored until a full investigation is performed. Some examples of criminal offenses from the ADOT are:
The penalties for criminal driving offenses are steep fines, jail or prison time, and the suspension or revocation of your license.
According to the AZcourts.gov, some civil traffic violations include unlawful lane change, or running a red light." Typically, violations fall into two categories, moving violations (which are more serious) and parking violations, which might include getting a parking ticket, illegal modifications to your vehicle, and not having your license or registration when asked for them. Some other civil driving offenses include:
Some penalties that come with civil driving offenses are paying a fine, showing up in court, and taking a required defensive driving class.
Some interesting state driving statistics include:
The list below details the criminal causes of car accidents in the state:
The state has 5.4 million licensed drivers and 6.2 million registered vehicles.
Below are some frequently asked questions about state MV records.
The main difference between the 3-year, 5-year, and extended is simply the number of records the report will show. Those records will not contain any medical information and may or may not have personally identifiable information based on who requests it. The CDL record will contain the same as well as medical information.
Any conviction will stay on the person's record for five years from the date of conviction.
A suspension has a start and stop date. Once the end date arrives, you can pay a reinstatement fee and get your license back. A revocation means there is no end date, and it may be indefinite. There is a minimum of 1-3 years, but it does not end after that period of time. You must undergo an investigation before you can apply for reinstatement.
Get a copy of your driving report to see how many points are on your license and what infractions caused them.
Below are some helpful state MV record links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.