Any person who obtains a driver's license in the state will have a record. The record contains all different types of information such as their current license status (active, suspended, etc.), criminal convictions such as DUIs and reckless driving, and car accidents. These records may also show a lot more information such as medical history, license actions (meaning a point system), or civil interactions such as parking tickets and citations.
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (Alaska DMV) oversees all driving-related records for the state. They offer three types of records: Full Individual Record, Insurance Record, and CDL Employment Record. Each has specific differences and may show more or less of the same information.
A typical driving history report will show various infractions from simple U-turns and non-moving violations (broken taillight, parking tickets, etc.) and more serious violations such as driving without a license, DUIs, and leaving the scene of an accident. Driving without valid registration or expired license plates will also show on the report.
Individuals can obtain a copy of their record in one of two ways. First, they can use the online system or visit their local DMV (Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles) office. With either method, the person will first have to fill out the Request for Driving Record (form 419f) provided by the state. The cost for any of the three reports is $10.
Users can mail in their payment and request form, order online using the automated system, or bring the form to any local DMV office to get a report while they wait. The state has a particular online tool where individuals enter their driver license number, social security number, first and last names, and date of birth to access their record. However, when using this service, the person must pay the fee via credit card.
Due to strict DPPA (driver privacy protection act) laws, requestors can only get a copy of their own record unless they have a signed consent form, then they can obtain a copy for someone else.
Anyone can also use a third-party service like InfoTracer to quickly and easily obtain copies of their entire driving history.
The cost for either of the three types of reports is $10. The price remains the same whether the individual orders it online, by mail, or in person.
A free online search for driving-related records will yield only vehicle records information, nothing about the driver. Free records may include the make, model, color, and trim level of the car. Other details may consist of engine type, brake and transmission systems, the manufacturer, and year. Paid reports will include much more information but are strictly regulated.
The state's driving laws can be quite different from what people are used to in other states. For example, during the winter, daytime headlight use is mandatory. Most speed limits in the state are lower than in other states. School zone limits are 20 mph, residential speed limits are 25 mph, and most highways have a maximum of 55-65 mph. Drivers can carry loaded firearms with them while driving. Seat belts are required at all times for all people inside the car. Drivers are not allowed to use any "visual screen device" while driving. Teens as young as 14 are able to get their learner's permit and begin driving. If you are 21 or older, you can possess and transport marijuana and smoking paraphernalia. However, you cannot be under the influence while driving. Blocking traffic is illegal in the state.
The state uses a point system, and the bigger the infraction, the higher the number of points. Infractions and crimes range from 2-10 points. With enough points, the driver will lose their license for a period of months or permanently. For example, some speeding tickets in the state will earn you:
If you earn 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months, you will lose your license. Offenders will receive a notification when they reach the halfway mark of losing their license. Drivers can take a defensive driving course or road safety class to get points removed.
The state has three different types of driving-related records, which include a Full Individual Record, an Insurance Record, and a CDL Employment Record. Each type includes slightly different information and is for specific purposes.
A full individual record shows the driver's current license status, along with any convictions, license actions, accidents (where they were determined to be at fault), and medical certification for CDL drivers.
The insurance record also shows the driver's current license status (revoked, suspended, canceled, or disqualified CMV). This report also shows the driver's 3-5 year history of convictions, license actions, and "at-fault" accidents. The report will not show any medical information and is typically used by insurance providers when deciding whether to insure a driver and set insurance rates.
The CDL Employment Record also shows the driver's current license status, full medical certification information, convictions, license, actions, and "at-fault" accidents. The information contained in this report follows DOT mandated regulations for CDL employment purposes.
Criminal driving offenses are typically those that endanger another person's safety. Some examples of criminal driving offenses within the state are:
In addition to criminal driving offenses, the state has many other traffic laws covering civil driving offenses, which may earn drivers a citation (warning) or a ticket, points, and license suspension. Some of those include:
For the last year reported, the state experienced 79 fatalities in 75 automobile crashes. It's a decrease of 6% from the previous year. Additionally, as reported by the Alaska Highway Safety Office, the number of alcohol-related car accident deaths dropped by 54%.
Some additional state driving statistics include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving reports.
The state offers three different types of records. The Individual Driving Record is for individuals who want a copy of their own. It includes all the regular personal information, name, address, phone number, date of birth, height, hair color, weight, eye color, gender, and where they were born. It may also include licensing class, license restrictions, organ donor specifications, and the driver's home and mailing address. The second type is for insurance companies and will consist of many of the same items along with civil and criminal offenses going back 3-5 years but no medical data. The third is for drivers going through CDL licensing and will include medical information as deemed necessary by the Department of Transportation (DOT). All three will consist of violations and points.
The state Department of Administration, Division of Motor Vehicles accepts Visa, MasterCard, personal checks, or money orders. They have to be made out to the State of Alaska or Division of Motor Vehicles.
According to the federal and state Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), strict laws are enforced to protect drivers against strangers looking up their name, social security number, or home address. These laws protect personal identity but also personal safety. If someone needs to locate a person by their vehicle, they can contact local police and have them look up the driver and contact them.
Below are some helpful state driving-related links.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.