Public records include information about a driver and their drivers record. This may consist of parking tickets, citations for running through a stop sign or red light. The report may include more serious infractions or criminal offenses like reckless driving and points on your license.
The state offers two types of record requests, a 3-year record and a driver abstract. The 3-year record contained basic details of every item going back three years. However, the abstract is a complete driver history report with everything.
These records will include criminal offenses such as DUIs, reckless driving, driving without a license, vehicular homicide, fleeing the scene of a crime, and also evading police. Your driving history will also include minor infractions and citations for speeding, parking tickets, illegal U-turns, non-moving violations, car registration with a passed expiration date, traffic accidents, and other moving violations.
You can sign up with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency to search for and print out driving records online. You also have the option of visiting a local Department of Revenue office and request a copy. You will have to pay a fee for your record, but they accept cash, money orders, credit, and debit cards. You can also use third-party lookup search tools like InfoTracer to quickly and easily search for your records.
The state Department of Revenue acts as the state's department of motor vehicles (aka Alabama dmv) also has a public records portal called MVTRIP, where you can request a copy of your own records or check on an existing order. The entire system is online, and you can pay online, but you must answer some questions and qualify to use the system.
Driving reports may be ordered through the mail using the downloadable request form on the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency's (ALEA) website and paying a fee of $5.75 via credit card (you must call in to pay using the following number: 334.242.4241). You can also order a driving record by visiting a Driver License Reinstatement Office.
ALEA allows businesses to sign up for a subscription so they can pull multiple records on a regular basis. You must pay an annual fee of $75 for this service.
The cost of a 3-year record is $5.75. That report is basic and will give you an overview of your driving history. You can order one by printing out the application from and mailing it in or dropping it off. You can also get a driver abstract, which is a full driving history report, for $15. Those may only be obtained in person.
You can check vehicle history for free online using the NMVTIS system, which will supply you with basic vehicle information.
In the state of Alabama, a person 15 years or older can apply for a learner permit and then start practicing driving to get their official license. They also need to enroll in driver's education and eventually pay for insurance premiums to ensure their vehicle. The Alabama Department of Public Safety is in charge or policing the roadways and highways. The state has a strict point system with laws regarding speeding, reckless driving, and more serious infractions like DUIs and vehicular homicide. Each infraction is worth a number of points. Once you reach 12 points and go up, you will lose your license for a period of time. The list below shows the number of points and how much time you will lose.
The following is a list of offenses from ALEA and how many points they will earn you in the state.
After two years, the points for a traffic conviction will be removed, but the offense will stay on your record. To have points removed from your record, you must complete a safe driver program and pay license suspension fees. The state retains the right to approve or disapprove your reinstatement and points removal.
Anyone can get a copy of your driving record. Employers often do background checks before hiring, and your driving history may be included. There are a few different types of driving reports in the state.
Alabama offers a 3-year record, which shows the last three years of driving history. This type of record can only be requested by the individual named on the record. If someone requires this type of record for a background check, you can get one for them and submit it.
A driver abstract is a full history of your driving record going back until you first got your license. Again, only the individual named on the driver abstract can request a copy of this record in person.
A motor vehicle record, however, includes your driving history but also personal information about you. Authorized individuals such as private investigators and employers with an account can request these types of records.
The state has strict laws regarding criminal offenses, and the penalties for committing them will earn you a license suspension, prison time, and even fines. Some of the most common criminal driving offenses in the state are:
Along with the more serious criminal offenses, state law enforces various civil driving offenses as well. These are minor things such as speeding, parking tickets, and illegal U-Turns.
Some interesting state driving record statistics include:
Below are some frequently asked questions about state driving records.
The information contained on a complete driver record includes the following:
Adjudication withheld means that a person charged with a crime may be sentenced to probation or a court-ordered program, but they are not formally "charged" with the crime. The judge may ask the person to complete a driver education program or safe driving class and then provide the court with the certificate. In these cases, points will not be added to the driver's license by taking the class and satisfying the court. The charge will also not show as a conviction on your criminal record.
The federal and state Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) was designed to protect your personal information in motor vehicle and driving records. This limitation protects you from someone finding out your name, address, and phone number and contacting or harassing you illegally. The items protected by DPPA are your name, social security number, home address, telephone number, photograph, medical information, and driver's license number.
Disclaimer: The materials presented here are for informational purposes only. The information is taken from state and local resources, and is current as of the most recent site update. Changes made by state and local departments and agencies after our latest update may render some information and fees outdated, and may cause links to break and forms to be unavailable. Infotracer strongly encourages you to visit the relevant state and local resources to ensure you have the most recent information.