Wyoming gun laws govern the sale, use, possession, and transfer of firearms in the state. Wyoming is a “Shall Issue” state. The Office of the Attorney General of Wyoming issues concealed carry permits for residents only. Military personnel posted in Wyoming can get permits. Open carry is legal throughout the state with or without a permit. In 2012, Wyoming became an “Unrestricted” carry state, meaning you can conceal or open carry without a permit. They offer reciprocity with other states so gun owners can cross state lines with their firearms. The Wyoming Attorney General through the local Sheriffs office issue permits for reciprocity. Permits usually take about 90 days to obtain. The state preempts gun laws and does not allow counties to override them with their own. Wyoming has no rules regarding magazine capacity and assault-style weapons. Non-residents can open or concealed carry but only with a license. NFA weapons are not restricted in Wyoming.
Wyoming’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
States form reciprocity agreements to make it easier for gun owners to travel from state to state with their weapons. These thirty-six states honor a Wyoming gun permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.
Wyoming allows these thirty-five state gun permits
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.
Wyoming concealed carry permits are for reciprocity only because the state operates on an “Unrestricted” policy for open and concealed carry. You can legally carry in state parks, wildlife preserves, your vehicle and rest areas with or without a permit. You cannot carry in any police facilities, jails, prisons, schools, government buildings, legislature meetings, courtrooms, bars, churches, colleges, any athletic events, and all federal “off limits” areas. The Wyoming Attorney General through the local Sheriffs office issues permits. They cost $64 and last for five years. You must pay your fee with a money order or cashier’s check. They do not take any personal checks. You do not have to notify any officers when you are carrying. You do however have to honor “no weapons” signs. You may carry in restaurants that serve alcohol unless they have a “no guns” sign. Residents can carry a loaded firearm in their car, but non-residents must have a permit to do so.
To apply for a concealed carry permit, you must be 21 years old or older and must have been a resident of Wyoming for at least six months. You must take a firearms safety course, and you cannot have any physical disability that prevents you from using a gun. You cannot be legally incompetent, and you cannot be addicted to drugs or alcohol. You cannot have been in a mental institution either. You must comply with all federal regulations and cannot have any convictions for felonies.
Wyoming is not a “point of contact” state, and they do not require a background check when purchasing a firearm. However, licensed gun dealers do need to follow federal regulations and contact the FBI to run a background check using NCIS on anyone buying a gun in Wyoming. Anyone with a concealed carry permit is exempt from this law. Private sales of firearms are also not subject to a background check before purchase. Dealers cannot sell to anyone that the state deems unfit to own a gun or whose license has been revoked.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Concealed handgun permit||$64.00||$45.00 before expiration date|
$55.00 after expiration date
|State parks||Any facility used primarily for law enforcement operations|
|State and national forests||Any detention facility, prison or jail|
|Road side rest areas||Any courtroom|
|Vehicle||Any meeting of a governmental entity|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Any meeting of the legislature or a committee thereof|
|Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms|
|Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt beverages for consumption on the premises|
|Any place for public worship|
|Any elementary or secondary school facility|
|Any college or university facility|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||9:00 am - 5:00 pm|
|Address:||Division of Criminal Investigation|
208 S. College Dr.
|City:||Cheyenne, WY 82002|
525 Grand Ave.,Ste 101 Laramie, WY 82070
415 Murphy St, P.O. Box 69 Basin, WY 82410
600 W Boxelder Rd Gillette, WY 82718
4th & Pine street, PO Box 190 Medicine Bow, WY 82329
107 North 5th Street Suite 239 Douglas, WY 82633
309 Cleveland Street P.O. Box 339 Sundance, WY 82729
460 Railroad Lander, WY 82520
2120 East B St Torrington, WY 82240